1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

4850 red light

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Delta6326, Mar 3, 2009.

  1. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,827 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    Im at school right now, but is it bad every time i turn on my computer a red light flashes once on the back of my card its a Sapphire 4850 1gb can check my computer specs and in CCC it says my fan rpm is 1
     
  2. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    is anything stuck to the fan?
     
  3. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,827 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    not that i know of when i get home later i will check it out
     
  4. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,324 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    All my 4800 series cards had red lights on the back and they flash once at boot, just like you'll notice the caps/num lock on your keyboard do the samething. The fan at 1 rpm though, that I can't explain, is it spinning fine (if you look in at it)?
     
  5. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,449 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,491
    I have a sapphire 4850 and i notice the red light too. But i got a zalman on mine and the fan is always on high.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,906 (4.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,673
    Location:
    US
    The red light is nothing to worry about unless it stays on i do believe. Same thing on the 2900XT too it's just a test.

    However the fan at 1% sounds a little low. Check with GPU-Z if the fan speed is kicking in when temps get higher like in a game and what temps your getting.

    you should be able to adjust the fan speed in CCC.
     
    Delta6326 says thanks.
  7. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,827 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    yeah like the fan its self runs good but Gpu-Z and CCC say RPM is ether 0 or 1 but if you look at the Fan Speed part that has it in a % it shows up properly in Gpu-Z and i have the latest one
     
  8. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,827 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    Here is what it looks like I don't know if this is really a big issue. the fan seams run nice i can play crysis at 1920 x 1080 with everything at high and 4x atiali for hours and it never get over 63C for the main temp i get around 15-29fps

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  9. Error 404

    Error 404

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    South Australia
    Is the card working fine? Because if everything is working as it should except for the Fan Speed indicator, and you can see the fan spinning fine, it could be a software issue. Have you got the latest driver for your card?
     
    Delta6326 says thanks.
  10. EviLZeD

    EviLZeD New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    818 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    Its fine the sapphire 4830 i had did that too if it stays on then theres an issue i didnt seat the card properly once and it stayed on.
     
    Delta6326 says thanks.
  11. Kei

    Kei

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,122 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    618
    See the diagram I've attatched please.

    No worries all of that is normal with this card. The 0% that you're looking at isn't fan speed it's activity :p

    The fan speed is actually the one on the very bottom which correctly shows 45% just like you have it set to. Don't worry it's a common thing that people don't realize because of the way the icons and bars a listed so closely. It appears as though the fan speed should be listed in that box when infact it's at the bottom icon which is the icon for the fan. Notice the 2nd icon is a guage while the 3rd icon is blurred to show a simulated fan. :)

    All is well, the layout is just slightly confusing.

    Kei

    (the red light is just like was previously said and is simply a POST light to show problems if any so you don't have to guess)
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 3, 2009
    Delta6326 says thanks.
  12. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,827 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    yeah its working fine and i have the latest drivers for my card just wanted to make sure it wasn't going to break or anything I'm tight on the money right now
     
  13. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Its fine. Does your sapphire have that odd looking 2slot heatsink?
    The one that has the fan right in the center of the heatsink...
    If so, it won't have the RPM meter for it.
     
    Delta6326 says thanks.
  14. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,827 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    Oh, ok thanks for the info yeah mine has that heatsink Flyordie
     
  15. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Also the lights you see, its just the card doing its own "POST". If it stays on, then thats something to worry about.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page