1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

4850 Voltage change through BIOS

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by ignite, Jul 4, 2008.

  1. ignite New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Has anyone tried to up their volts in BIOS to 1.2v and seen if it actually changed the volts via multimeter?

    Also, does the volts affect the core only or core and memory? Right now my memory seems to be the weak link maxing out at 1050 (cores hits 700 easily).
  2. ignite New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well, I would rather not hardmod the card (also never have before). I don't want an extreme OC, but my card is at 1.084 now (According to GPU-Z BIOS Dump), so 1.2v would give some nice headroom.
  3. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,583 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,564
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Pencil modding is quite easy and reversable, probably the best method IMO...a bad BIOS flash can disable a card quicker than static electricity, and a bad solder job can cause some pretty sever issues, physical damage and irreversable damage if inexperienced.

    I've done all of the above to Motherboards and Video cards now, BIOS is probably #2 on the safe scale imo, people don't pay enough attention or use someone else's BIOS that is not correct for their card, etc, just searching this forum alone you will find at least 100 threads of bad flashes, I experienced this myself on a 1950Pro, I had to blind flash it back, which was successful fortunately for me!

    :toast:
  4. Urbklr

    Urbklr

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,346 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    The 1.2v works, I'm going to assume....I maxed at 710 with out it, and 730 with it...and the temps went up. Over on XS some guys tested with a MM and went from 1.15v to 1.21v:)

    It only works for GPU, you'll have to volt-mod the Memory to increase volts.
  5. ignite New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ahh, thought it would work for Mem too.

    If I flash the BIOS, I would just be editing the voltage settings in RBE, not taking someone elses BIOS. Is there a guide out how to pencil mod a 4850 yet (quite clueless on hardmodding).

    What are the chances of screwing up a card via pencil mod, and what supplies are needed (just a normal lead pencil)?
  6. Kaleid New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    117 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Could you direct to a the bios?
  7. Urbklr

    Urbklr

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,346 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    I just pencil modded, and it is pretty easy. Make sure you have a MM, and use W1zz's guide.

    1.85K - 1.21v
    1.55K - 1.24v
    1.25K - 1.28v
    1.15K - 1.30v
    0.98K - 1.35v

    Those are my readings, make sure you have good cooling. You can get 1.21v in the bios.
    tigger says thanks.
  8. ignite New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So BIOS softmodding actually does change the voltage (core only correct? Not memory?)?

    Thanks!

    I was going to edit my BIOS though RBE (after dumping it through GPU-Z).
  9. ViciousXUSMC New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    117 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Same for me (same question, and same thing I plan to do)

    As for temps I have 2 of these in Xfire and with the fan at 50% they stay pretty cool high 50's low 60's idle and maybe 70's load (have not tested load much yet because I need to find a program to log temps while I play a game or something)

    I assume the jump from ~1.1v to 1.2v is not so big that I need to worry about upgrading cooling but maybe just increase the fan speed to 70% or so to compensate. (and I think around 75% is when going any faster does just about nothing)

    As for my OC I am stable at 675/1000 with no changes, 700core crashes me out of games and I have not tried much more on the memory yet.
  10. ignite New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I heard 1.2v should be fine with stock cooling.

    I am also considering just getting a multimeter and try to pencil mod the card. Although I have to figure out how to read the volts and where, since I never tried it before :)
  11. Urbklr

    Urbklr

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,346 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    1.2v worked fine for me:)...And I had my card at 730/1075 on that voltage with the stock cooler;)
  12. ViciousXUSMC New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    117 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Did you notice how many degrees it went up or any real fps gains?
  13. Urbklr

    Urbklr

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,346 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    It didn't increase temps much:)...and there was a good gain, the gain seems to lessen when I go over 725 thou:(

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page