1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

4850 VRM Temps?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by knightlag, Jul 17, 2008.

  1. knightlag New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Are these temps safe for the VRM on a 4850? I have a DuOrb Installed at the moment, didn't do the hacksaw thing with my stock cooler, though.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Specs:
    E4500, P5L VM-1394, 4850 , 2.0 GB G.Skill DDR2 667 RAM, and I forgot the make/model of my PSU
     
  2. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,219 (3.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,220
    how do you know the VRM temperature? the 3 gpu temperatures are different on-die locations
     
    knightlag says thanks.
  3. Andy_007 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    187 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Auckland,New Zealand
    I have been told that GPU Temp #2 is VRM.
     
  4. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,219 (3.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,220
    nope not true ..

    there are 3 sensors on the die (silicon), they are positioned in different strategic location, like shader core or memory controller. i dont know the exact locations and also don't know which number corresponds to which location. i do know for sure that all three are on the die, so inside of the gpu.
     
    knightlag says thanks.
  5. wolf2009 Guest

    you better believe what wiz tell you, its his software and he knows best .
     
  6. Andy_007 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    187 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Auckland,New Zealand
    Thats interesting since someone over at XtremeSystems replaced his cooler but didnt put any heatsinks on the VRM's and Temp#2 was getting over 100 degrees and all the other temps where in the 40's.
     
  7. knightlag New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I had always assumed that #2 was the VRM temp. Now I feel silly. :p
    Thanks for pointing that out, W1zzard. :respect:
     
  8. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,219 (3.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,220
    must be some coincidence .. can you link me to that thread? over 100° isnt that uncommon with the stock heatsink

    edit: nm xs is down
     
  9. Andy_007 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    187 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Auckland,New Zealand
    XtremeSystems is currently down but once it is back online i will try to find it for you. It just seems strange that GPU temp, GPU temp #1 and #3 are usually all around the same and GPU#2 is usually much different, My 4850 runs 54/52/66/51 under load at 100% fan stock cooler.
     
  10. jmke The Madshrimp

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    ^bump, I'm also interested in knowing where the locations are of the 3 temp diodes, is #2 VRM or not?
     
  11. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    The 4870 and 4850 are two cards that use different forms of electronics for filtering. The 4870 uses digital phases, while the 4850 uses mosfets, inductors, capacitor phases. I doubt the 4850 has temp sensors on its "VRM" area; since when did mosfets have temperature diodes intergrated? There are only pins for input out put ground, etcetera, unlike VRMs which have a mini "socket" type thing.

    The MOSFETs imho > Digital phases since they don't need that much cooling.

    The digital phases, absolutely need a heatsink installed as they would die without them.

    They are talking about the 4870...
     
  12. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    639
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Yeah there was a big debate on which temperature was the VRM.
    Funny thing is someone disagreed with W1zz and what the program he made was reading the temperatire from.

    I think your temperatures are right.

    The idle of temperature 2 would not have gone down as much as it did if it wasn't being cooled.
    My idle temperatures are nearly twice what your are on the stock cooler.

    1:-79
    2:-84
    3:-80

    But this is the way the HD4850 series are with stock cooling.
    If AMD saw this as a problem they would not have released the card.
    My HD4850 is still running like a champ and is by far the best card I have owned.
     
  13. nanohead New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    122 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Yeah, but........ something is going on with that other temp for sure. I have water cooled 4850s, and temp 1 and 3 are always cool (28-38 depending on load and room temp), but the other one is like 65-80.

    I have nothing cooling the power modulation portion of the card, just water blocks on the GPUs and memory. I had some enzotech sinks on them, but they fell off (a true PITA)

    I'm not sure what that other temp is for either. It is possible that it has a calibration problem like the main CPU temp on the Gigabyte MA78G 780G series boards, where CPU temp is always like 85-100C, but core temp is always like 25-35. This is clearly a faulty measurement (I have several of these boards in my family's machines, and they all say this)

    I'm gonna rig up some heatsink mechanism for the power section, as there is no way I'm hacksawing the stock heatsinks.

    It would be nice to understand the mystery of that other temp though. WiZZard, I'd be willing to test or probe. Ya got any debug code :rockout:
     
  14. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,219 (3.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,220
    no mystery .. reseat your waterblock, it is not making good contact with one of the edges of the core. is your waterblock even designed in a way to cool the whole die? or just the center of the die?
     
  15. nafets New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    611 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    133
    Regardless of the electronics and circuitry used between the HD4850 and HD4870, they both use the same RV770 GPU core. So whatever temperatures Gpu-Z is polling, they are going to come from the same place for both cards. It's already been established what temperatures 1, 2, and 3 are (Display IO, Memory IO, and Shader Core). If you're seeing a large discrepancy between the temperatures, chances are very good that the VGA heatsink/waterblock isn't making proper level contact with the GPU core. This problem has been seen numerous times now, here on the TPU forums...

    PS: I may be horribly wrong about everything I just said, but it's my educated opinion...
     
  16. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,219 (3.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,220
    nope you are exactly right
     
  17. SpookyWillow New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    378 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    UK
    as people have said, the 4850 does not have a VRM temp diode. the 4870 on the otherhand does and that temp can be monitored with one of the latest beta versions of everest.
     
  18. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,219 (3.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,220
    gpuz 0.2.7 can read those vrm temps too
     
  19. SpookyWillow New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    378 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    UK
    dont have a 4870 so i never noticed, only what i read elsewhere :p
     
  20. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    MOSFETs have better temperature tolerances compared to 4870's VRMs... therefore higher temperatures are less likelier to cause damage. Atm waiting for Gigabyte to release a non VRM 4870, because VRMs SUCK. May someone enlighten me why they have to use them?
     
  21. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Really? All I see is GPU Temperature, GPU Temp.(DISPIO), GPU Temp(MEMIO) and GPU Temp.(SHADERCORE) and VDDC Slave #1-3 Temperature. Which is which? :S
     
  22. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,219 (3.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,220
    everest vrm temp is one of the three slaves i guess
     
  23. kfahn New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Just so that everyone knows, I was having this issue of getting temps around 45 degrees C for gpu temp 1, and 100+ for 2 and 3 on my 4850, and after reading this thread, I decided to look again at the way that the sink was seated on my gpu. It turns out that the lower .5cm was exposed below the die. I am using the Accellero Twin Turbo, and after looking at it, it turns out that you can adjust the alignment of the sink, so I lowered it to cover the whole area surrounding the die, and it lowered my temperatures from the high 100's to maximum of 70.

    If anyone is interested in getting the Twin turbo, I can recommend it, my temperatures under furmark went from 64/95 to 38/58 with the card at 700/1145 overclock. None of the other gpu temperatures ever go over 80 degrees under load. The fans area at 60%, which is completely inaudible.
     
  24. jmke The Madshrimp

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
  25. kfahn New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    That is quite interesting, and I was completely unaware of it. That aside though, Furmark still manages to stress my GPY by about 5 degrees more than ATI tool has ever been able to, so I think that I will stick with it. Any word on a newer version of Furmark that might sidestep this "upgrade"?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page