1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

4850 vs 250 gts

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by nikhilnim, Nov 15, 2009.

  1. nikhilnim New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    plzz give sm review on this topic i am going to purchase a new gpu i am confused between this two plzz tell me what pros and cons between these two thanks a lots or any other card suggestion between same i would like it
     
  2. IINexusII

    IINexusII

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    919 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    London, UK
  3. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,547 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    lmgtfy = win in a website.

    get your google-fu on brah!

    I can say Ive owned both (not a GTS250 but a card that largely was renamed into one) and they are both pretty even, and great bang for buck, with advantages either way, my pick would be the GTS250 for my own craaaazy reasons.

    oh, and welcome to TPU

    :toast:
     
  4. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,275 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    472
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    go for whatever is cheaper and what make you want,there both have advantages and disadvantages in different games.

    If you used nvidia and prefer there drivers then get the GTS250 or if you prefer ATI catalyst drivers then get the 4850.
     
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  5. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,418 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    ^^Just adding to your statement, I hope you don't mind ;)

    In addition to this, get one that makes mo sense to pair with your CrossfireX/SLI motherboard. Single slot? I would opt for a 4850 if doing more media, GTS250 if doing gaming since there drivers are more "tweakable" towards games. All in all it really does depend on your personal preference.
     
  6. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,925 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    404
    Location:
    Singapore
    +1

    go for the lower price. They're fairly equal from what the review sites say. Nvidia gets Physx and Badaboom encoding, Ati gets a tad better AA performance
     
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2009
  7. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,981 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    460
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Also got DX10.1 for that matter.
     
  8. nikhilnim New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    ahh u all me that if i wanna go AA i should go for ati if not i should go for nvidia
    i dnt wanna crossfire my motherboard dnt support it
    which card will give me good performance with single graphic card
    thanks a lot for ur reviews



    what is this
    either one will do.

    just like everyone said, folding=nvidia, visuality=ati.

    its a review on other forums what folding visuality
     
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2009
  9. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,777 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    same performance. it all depends on the game. ati games (source) wins 4850. nvidia games (crysis, nfs shift) wins gts 250.

    it all depends of this.

    A - if u have a crossfire mobo ---> 4850
    B - you have a sli mobo ---> gts 250
    C - you want physx ---> gts 250
    D - you want good drivers ---> gts 250
    E - you want the cheaper ---> 4850
     
  10. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,981 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    460
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Drivers isn't a problem for a single 4850, most of the problems are sorted out by now.
    About Crysis... The 4850 512MB still tops the GTS 250, it is simply better with AA.
    [​IMG]
     
  11. nikhilnim New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    my mobo dnt support crossfire but what is sli i dnt know if u dnt mind can u give me sm knowledge on that
    thanks guys:respect::respect::respect::respect::respect::respect::respect::respect::respect::respect::respect::respect:
     
  12. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,418 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    SLI is nVidia's competition for ATI's CrossfireX.
     
    nikhilnim says thanks.
  13. nikhilnim New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    ohh wow this forum is so fast i like this :cool::cool::cool:
    one more this 4850 has dx 10.1 support and shader model 4.1 will this really make a diffrence
     
  14. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,777 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    the only game i know that uses dx 10.1 is HAWX. so its more marketing than anything else
     
  15. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,981 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    460
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    At lease it will make a difference in DX11 games.
    DX11 is a super-set of DX10.1 whuch is an extension of DX10 anyways.
     
    LittleLizard says thanks.
  16. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,777 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    didnt know. thought that dx11 was a complete new dx due to the crapness of dx10
     
  17. nikhilnim New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    ohh marketing but in future we will require it for major game dnt u this so friend
    or is it like that dx 10.1 will run on dx 10 ?
     
  18. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,777 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    dx 10.1 is dx 10 with minor enhancments. you will be able to run any dx10 game on that card (as long as u use vista or 7)
     
    nikhilnim says thanks.
  19. nikhilnim New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    i have vista 64 bit
    do dx11 games run on dx10.1 or dx 10 in future ?
     
  20. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,981 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    460
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Yes they do, in fact DX11 games can run on DX10/10.1 hardware with the same .exe :toast:
    A good way to try is to run Unigine Heaven in DX11 mode, it will run with what ever that is avaliable.
     
  21. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,547 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    DX11 games will run on DX10.0 hardware even, just lacking certain DX11 specific features, like hardware tessellation if I'm correct.
     
    nikhilnim says thanks.
  22. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,981 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    460
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    More specificly, because DX11 contains all the features of DX10.1 and therefore DX10.
     
    wolf says thanks.
  23. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,777 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    just like crysis could ran on dx10 or 9, you can run 11 games on dx 10
     
    nikhilnim says thanks.
  24. nikhilnim New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    little thanks for that awesome review :toast:


    so guys what u thing if i pick randomly any one of them will it will be ok ?:confused:

    and plzz suggest me sm good manufacturers tooo
     
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2009
  25. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,981 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    460
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Nope, for a game to support DX9 and DX10 there needs to be two .exe, while for a game to support DX10+10.1+11 the developer only needs to write One .exe for the game thats all.
     
    LittleLizard says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page