1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

4850x2 -> Computer shuts off

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by offycakes, Mar 11, 2009.

  1. offycakes New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey there, I'm back again!

    I have my 4850x2 back and it is without boot artifacts!

    I installed the latest catalyst drivers (9.2) and started playing L4D for a bit. After about 15-20 minutes of playing L4D the computer shut itself off and began to boot back up.

    Next I tried running 3dMark Vantage. In 3dmark it completes the first graphics test and then my computer shuts off around the same point usually of the second test.

    The third thing I tried was playing crysis on max settings. Crysis will cause my computer to shut off and reboot at about 2minutes of starting the game.

    Given that Crysis caused my computer to crash the quickest, I used it for my test settings. I left all settings on Crysis on HIGH but ran the game at 1024x768 in windowed mode. In windowed mode I have open PC PROBE II as well as the temperature gauge for ATI's CCC control panel. The card temperatures don't seem to get much over 55C prior to computer rebooting and the voltages remain rather steady, the 12V rail flucuated between 11.78 and 11.87. On my last test of Crysis looking at voltages my computer shut off while the game was in the menu and I was messaging someone through steam.

    Is it possible that nvidia drivers from an old card are causing there to be problems?

    In an attempt to factor out overheating a put a large fan next to my computer to blow heat onto it with the panel off.

    My computer is;

    Asus P5k Deluxe
    730W power supply (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817152036)
    Sapphire 4850x2
    4gb OCZ Memory
    q6600
    80gb 1.5gb/s 15,000RPM WD Raptor

    I also set CPU clock speeds to default settings as well as disconnected everything (including all case fans) except for my primary hard drive.
  2. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,948 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    My guess would be the PSU. Raidmax really isn't know for making top quality powersupplies.
    offycakes says thanks.
  3. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,066 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    905
    Power
    overheating issues.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,126 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    power supply and overheating are the two.
  5. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    offycakes,

    Welcome back, and sorry to hear that you're having troubles.

    My guess would be the PSU. Do you have a friend's that you can borrow that is at least 750W or greater?

    Also, do me a favor and use this form to calculate your total computer wattage and report back to us on the figure it gives you.
    offycakes says thanks.
  6. offycakes New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Something incredibly amusing just happened. I just had my friend screenshot his GPU-Z (same card, different rig, x64 vista) and I noticed that his crossfire was disabled due to incompatability (using x86 vista here). I also noticed my card was slightly underclocked from his stock card. I overclocked my card to his cards settings and disabled crossfire and what do you know, it seems to be working perfectly fine now. WTF? lol.
  7. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Try reverting your drivers to the manufacturer's CD drivers.
  8. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Power Play has engaged more than likely and GPU2 has dropped to the powerplay settings (shutting down whole core on the HD4850X2)

    Just my 2 Cents.
  9. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,336 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,559
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα

    From what have read, if you are using a single 4850X2 card, you should not enable crossfire in CCC: only if you are crossfiring a second card.
    http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=262&threadid=109900
    http://www.overclock.net/ati/428549-do-you-enable-cf-4870x2-4850x2.html

    :)
  10. offycakes New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well it's an interesting solution to add to the books, thanks viper.

    Now my vista is corrupt and won't boot, lol. Guess I should have exerted more care as I jammed my HDD back into the cramped case.
  11. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,336 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,559
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    The goodluck fairy don't like you tonite.:)

    Try your vista disk and restore the boot sector if it is hosed.
  12. offycakes New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    As per your advice I attempted to restore the boot sector which failed an analysis due to some error that clearly was not relevant; however, it allowed me to restore to a point earlier tonight and it's up and working again!

    Now I can just hope games still run without the computer restarting. :)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page