1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

4870 x2 overkill?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by reverze, Dec 15, 2008.

  1. reverze

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,368 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    131
    Well, i'm going to be building a new setup and wanted to get some opinions.. Going to have a nice new 24'' SAMSUNG monitor that will need to be powered.. so is a 4870 overkill? should I go for a single 4870 or just get the x2?
     
  2. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Overkill is a word that simply does not exist in my vocabulary. lol.

    On a more serious note, if you want to completely max out games like Crysis, FC2 and other similar titles, the X2 is the way to go on the ATI side. I have a 4850 that's OCed to 900/1100, and is faster than a 4870, and I still need a little more power on my 24" for some games.
     
  3. Jeffredo

    Jeffredo

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    858 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    137
    From all the reviews I've read and forums I've lurked the X2 4870 is either very good or a p.i.t.a.. Being the more cautious, budget minded gamer I would probably get a 4870 1GB. The price is amazing for the performance and I haven't read anything about them regarding stuttering (micro or regular). Since the release of Cat 8.12 they have really improved in performance.
     
  4. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    All depends on what games you're going to play! :p

    I have a relative who plays on a 24-in screen, and all he has is a 8600GTS. Of course, all he plays is WoW, so it plays fine.
     
  5. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,981 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    For 24"? Better safe than sorry. Get a high end card. You won't have a hard time with new titles.
     
  6. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    A 4870 is more than enough to run pretty much every game.
     
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,623 (12.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,444
    With 1920x1200 resolution, a 1GB 4870 would be enough. 512mb, not enough.
     
  8. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    24" with a 4870 x2 isn't overkill, no.
     
  9. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,624
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I don't understand what "overkill" means :D

    Get the X2. Just in case you ever want to upgrade to a 30" monitor that runs 2560x1600.
    I run all my games at 2560x1600 and the X2 does a fine job.
     
  10. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    To me overkill means more then needed. And yea, anything higher then 1920 x 1200, u'll need something 1.5GB+.
     
  11. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Again, a condition that simply does not exist. lol :D
     
  12. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    4870X2 to me, is not overkill. Its an enthusiast high end gamer card.
     
  13. Jaffakeik

    Jaffakeik

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,680 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    212
    Location:
    UK
    i got my monitor on 22'' and all games i play goes on max graphic without any slow mo or any other not enought video or other hardware power.like we say in Latvian 'iit kuo pa sviikstu'
     
  14. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,365 (2.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    914
    With that screen size, you will probably need at least the 4870 1GB. I would say to go for the x2 if you have the money.
     
  15. reverze

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,368 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    131
    Hmm what exact problems have people been having with it?

    Driver issues or?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page