1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

4890 highest core clock

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by razaron, Apr 4, 2009.

  1. yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,277 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    537
    if youre cpu is oced I'd take it abck to stock and run the test to see if that fixes it, if it's the same result you can always put the clock back on. If it fixes it, I'd slowly clock up untiol you get the error and then stay just below the point it happens.
    cowie says thanks.
  2. DV8tion

    DV8tion New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    205 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    The problem with slowly clocking the 4890 is that you will get artifacts and stability problems and lower clocks ...near as I can figure it has something to do with the power saving features of the card. I think [H]ardware came across it first ... not certain though.:toast:
  3. cowie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    127 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    new jersey usa
    well if you meant me:)
    thanks i tried all stock with gpu and cpu/ram.
    i can not update dx9 for some reason i think its a vista 64 thing really.
  4. Jacin New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Has this lived up to everyone's expectations when it comes to overclocking? Seems ATI could have easily released this at 900mhz without a worry but now at 850mhz it seems like a great overclocker. Not that that is a bad thing, but it seems to be a damn good value.
  5. DaveK

    DaveK

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,889 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    I'm tempted to get one as the 1GB 4890 is only €10 more than the 1GB 4870 Vapor-X, but the cooler on the 4890 sucks balls so I'm probably wont get one. Shame, this always happens, fan fucks it up.
  6. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    1005 core and 1190 memory Vantage Stable. can go higher on the core just been finding a sweet spot for the ram

    Oh, and i have an EK 4890 full coverage waterblock being shipped from the EK manufacturer right this minute wooo! :)

    [​IMG]
  7. yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,277 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    537
    hmm you may want to try xp like you said before then. obviously something isn't playing nicely with drivers.
  8. BooStFeD

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    79 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    USA, MD
    Mandelore what FC EK block did you order? Will any 4870 FC ref. block work with these 4890s? Need to throw my card into my water loop as soon as possible :D
  9. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    http://ekwaterblocks.com/shop/product_info.php?products_id=382

    no 4870 fc waterblock will fit, it has to be 4890 specific, however gpu blocks will fit no prob.

    [​IMG]

    I quite liked the look the mcw60-4870 from swiftech (if they got around to making a 4890 one quicker) would have rocked and looks well sexy, far better looking than the EK one i ordered. ill do a review or summit like the one i did for the DD-29XT fc waterblock for the 2900xt when it arrives
    [​IMG]
  10. cowie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    127 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    new jersey usa
    hey nice looking block

    well it was vista being cranky in other benches,i'll figure it out someday.
    too bad 05 on the i7 was looking good till dx error in gt3
    my xfx 790i with xp is fine... still have more in the card too
    [​IMG]
  11. Exeodus

    Exeodus

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    617 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    155
    Location:
    A suburb of Chicago, IL
    So far 990 core, 1115 memory. This is what CCC did on auto tune. I haven't turned it up any higher yet, but I do have the ASUS card :D

    [​IMG]
  12. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,531 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    353
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    dam hella nice guys. this is a great thread. i didn't know so many HD 4890's could be pushed this far. If enough TPU members get GTX 275's, they should start an OC thread for that card. i wanna see mandalore's HD 4890 in comparison with a GTX 275 oc'd.:rockout:
  13. purecain

    purecain

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    606 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    155
    any chance you could upload your bios for me...

    thanks in advance....
  14. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,411 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Sweet Clocks strange thing is I can get more FPS than the 4890...
  15. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,574 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,267
    Gotta Realize your board is a Non Ref, Wait until the Non Ref 4890s come about, also Drivers are Not Fine Tuned for the 4890 as they are for the 4870.
  16. Exeodus

    Exeodus

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    617 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    155
    Location:
    A suburb of Chicago, IL
    Can you do this with GPU-Z? If so I can do that tonight when I get home.
    purecain says thanks.
  17. purecain

    purecain

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    606 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    155
    i think rbe might be a better tool but which ever you choose, i'm sure the rv770 and rv790 bios file should be 128k......

    thanks buddy....:toast:

    please use atiwinflash to save your bios......
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2009
  18. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    I can hardly wait till my HD4890 (and the mobo replacement) arrives.
    Too bad it'll probably be around early next week. Watercooled and overvolted HD4890 action to be expected.
  19. Akrian

    Akrian

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    170 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Hello eveyone , I didn't want to creat a new thread, besides I will eventually go for OC so here's my questions :
    a) which 4890 better to get : Asus with voltage tweak or XFX xtreme ?
    b) what aftermarket cooling to get : Arctic Cooling Accelero Twin Turbo
    or
    Thermalright T-RAD^2
    I'm planning on going Crossifre 4890 + 4870x2 , so the question of blocking corssifre ports with cooling solutions ( I heard some vga coolers do that) is also here.
    =)
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2009
  20. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,411 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Ahhh kk... I was thinking... Wow ati have really f***ed up this time...
  21. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    So would 1ghz 1.35v run cool on the stock cooler? I'm talking 100% fan speed.
  22. Exeodus

    Exeodus

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    617 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    155
    Location:
    A suburb of Chicago, IL
    Here ya go.

    Attached Files:

  23. Akrian

    Akrian

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    170 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    So can anyone help me with advice =) ?
  24. Exeodus

    Exeodus

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    617 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    155
    Location:
    A suburb of Chicago, IL
    I am happy so far with the ASUS card, overclocks very well. Either card will be a good choice, but the XFX does have a better warranty.
  25. Akrian

    Akrian

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    170 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Yes, but there's no voltage tweak in XFX cards =(.
    And which aftermarket cooler would you reccomend of the two ?:ohwell:
    And yeah even though I never been a user of XFX before I hear that their warranty is awsome . And I don't rly like that much Asus warranty ( sending !@#$@! where to get your parts fixed ugh). But I really want to reach 970-1ghz =) on core ^_____^ and It's seems that voltage teak gives some advantage over other cards that do not have it , since you get more probability of achieveing higher clocks.
    P.S. sorry for my grammar - English isn't my first language =)
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2009

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page