1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

4890 problem... Meh!

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by RaPiDo987, Dec 10, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RaPiDo987

    RaPiDo987 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    583 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    Hey guys!

    Turned on my comp and the fan of my xfx 4890 boots at 100% and stays at full speed. Nothing shows up at boot up. I cleared cmos but it didn't help....

    What might be the problem?

    Thanks
  2. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,477 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,103
    Does CCC show the fan at max? If it does try shutting down, reseating the card(check the fan plug to make sure it's plugged in all the way), reboot and check CCC.

    Update drivers if necessary.

    Hope that helps.
  3. dieselcat18

    dieselcat18

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    443 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Deerfield Beach, FL
    Check your fan settings in CCC using ATi Overdrive....you should be able to adjust and set your fan speeds from there.....

    *+
  4. RaPiDo987

    RaPiDo987 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    583 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    Thanks for the reply...:toast:

    Unfortunately, it doesn't boot up to windows. My monitor does not detect any signal from the video card. I tried resetting the card and nothing helped..:( will check on the fan plug....
  5. RaPiDo987

    RaPiDo987 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    583 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    well, took off the video card and tried booting up without it and got nothing with my onboard video. I tried under volting before this happened, might that be the problem? drop the voltage to 1.00 and multi to x8. Meh, don't now whats wrong....:banghead:
  6. RaPiDo987

    RaPiDo987 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    583 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    False alarm

    LOL... I'm such an idiot.

    So I decided to retrace my steps to see if I did anything wrong. Keep in mind that I panic. The thought of dealing with XFX's RMA service gave me a headache :twitch: So, I came to find out that I had the CMOS jumpers wrong....

    Erocker->:slap:<-Me

    Can someone close this thread and make it disappeared?
  7. JTS

    JTS New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    144 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Too late. We've already seen it :roll:

    Simple mistakes are the best though because they are so easy to fix :D
  8. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,599 (13.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,988
    *Poof!

    I've done it myself man. :toast:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page