1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

4ghz Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by 3dsage, Apr 12, 2009.

  1. lucasweir

    lucasweir

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,257 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    USA
    i know that but like does one OC better or does the xeon just take more heat?
     
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,567 (11.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,836
    the xeons cherry picked. its going to have lower stock voltages and higher heat tolerance.

    Also, when looking on intels spec sheets the E8500 is C0, while the E8600 and this xeon are E0.
    the xeon was cheaper too :)
     
  3. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    hey binge, thats a killer run dude :rockout:
     
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,567 (11.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,836
    I'm in :)

    [​IMG]

    Not bothering with stability testing yet, i wanna see how high i can go first :)
     
  5. LagunaX

    LagunaX

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,072 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    303
    Another one of my rigs (not the one in my sig):
    [​IMG]
    This was on air with an old school Thermaltake Big Typhoon also - not a modern Xigmatek or TRUE...

    E8600 E0 Q820A405
    VCORE 1.32 actual (after droop on load)
    PLL 1.5v
    VTT 1.2v
    NB 1.25v
    CPU/NB GTL's .63/.67
     
  6. kyle2020 Guest

    Ill just add some additional info - my 4.05Ghz on the Q6600 was done with a Xigmatek HDT-S1283 - additional comments are that with tweaking she will hit 4.2, but im waiting 'till I go water again before I try to get some proper, stable runs with it. So possibility for 4.2 :)
     
  7. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    good job, I am building a Socket 775 build next and the E8600 is still a strong competitor for the build :toast:
     
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,567 (11.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,836
    Mussels | E3120 | 4.2GHz | TRUE 120

    Only got 1 hour stable, cause i wanted to do some gaming :)

    [​IMG]
     
    3dsage says thanks.
  9. crtecha

    crtecha New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,407 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    ipsay meechigan
    Good clocks did you change the font size in cpu-z?
     
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,567 (11.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,836
    no its just something that happened once i went 7... i cant make the Fing things smaller. GPU-Z has the same problem.
     
  11. Luke

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    216 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    here is what i did 5 Min ago
    Luke | PD 820 | 4.006 GHZ| IBM Stock Thing|
    [​IMG]
     
    3dsage says thanks.
  12. crtecha

    crtecha New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,407 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    ipsay meechigan

    Weird I had just finished up the drivers before I came into work soo I haven't seen cpu-z yet.

    Did you have any issues with CCC in windows7?
     
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,567 (11.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,836
    no issues at all. I think the GPU-Z bug is because windows defaulted to 125% font size (1080P related?) and for some reason, GPUZ and CPUZ arent realising i set it back to 100%


    Edit:
    Mussels | E3120 | 4.2GHz | TRUE 120 | 4 Hours OCCT
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 7, 2009
  14. viczulis

    viczulis New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    891 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Ohio
    here's mine. going to get some more out of it tonight.

    viczulis E8500 4.10 water CPU NB SB
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 8, 2009
  15. crtecha

    crtecha New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,407 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    ipsay meechigan
    good clock dude.


    How come you did just take a screen shot?
     
  16. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Thats what i'm wondering :confused:
     
  17. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,714 (6.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,234
    looks like he used a camera. PRT SCN button and mspaint / TPU Capture FTW!
     
  18. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
  19. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
  20. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    lol... Wish I had my E6400.. highest I got there was 3.6 but that was still at 1.45 volts... Damn vista wouldn't let me post after 3.6... to high on the fsb.. kept on saying it wasn't a real copy... last time I buy something from dell!
     
  21. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    :roll::roll:

    so you bought it from dell, then it said you need a real copy? wtf :roll:
     
  22. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Something like that it wasn't an authentic dell computer... no sh1t it wasn't... :roll: but it was a cheap vista oem... No way I'd do that again!
     
  23. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    :laugh::laugh:

    well glad you are past that already :p
     
  24. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Yeah, thank god to Athlonx2! Man, I loved that Blood Iron board!
     
  25. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    why tahnk god to him, did he by it from you or something?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page