1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

4pins Fan on 3pins connector?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by puma99dk|, Oct 29, 2010.

  1. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,157 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    659
    i have been wondering about this question bcs i have been thinking about for awhile to buy some Arctic-Cooling F12 PWN fans, 4 for my case and 2 for my CPU cooler but they got 4pins connector so can i use a connector to connect the two fans on to my motherboard for the CPU fan connector?

    [​IMG]
    dna1x says thanks.
  2. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,309 (7.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,842
    the 4th wire is for RPM sensing, so you will loose the PWM feature of the fan, but it will work at whatever voltage is running through the adapters. That one you posted looks like its straight 12V.
  3. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,157 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    659
    i dunno found it on Caseking.de bcs it could be nice to have two fans connected to my cooler so see what my load temps will be on my Q6600 cpu.

    It's this connector: 3-Pin Y-Kabel
  4. dr emulator (madmax)

    dr emulator (madmax)

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,241 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    the uk that's all you need to know ;)
    i'm not sure but you might have to be carefull you don't overload the socket

    why do i say this ?

    well the other day i bought 2 yate loons and they both draw 500 ma which if you combine them both together on the same wire would be an amp and i'm sure the mosfet controllers on motherboards aren't meant to be loaded that much not really sure:eek:
    just a consideration ;)

    theirs a page here about fan pinouts :toast:
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2010
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  5. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,157 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    659
    so the best option will be, to connect one of the fans to the motherboard and the other to my fan controller instead?

    i got this Scythe Kaze Master ACE KM02 Back Fan controller in my CM690-II Advanced case:

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2010
  6. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    With the Arctic Cooling F series fan's you can connect upto 5 of them together and also allow it to use only one header on your board for them all as they actually link like a daisy chain, I'm currently using 5 of them on my case - all connected together through the daisy chain link to the chassis fan header on my board, despite the fact you would usually overload your board if you was to do this the F series fans have a PST (Patent Sharing Technology) which allow them to function and power normally under this setup.

    If you only have 2 fan headers on your board but only 1 4pin header then I would suggest connecting them to the one with the 4pin header so you get the PWM feature as these fan's are pretty noisy when at full speed, or the fan controller would work fine. but I try avoid these as it mean's more wires to hide.

    If you have two 4 pin headers then just connect all 5 to the chassis header and keep your CPU fans as they are, which brings me to this question: how are your CPU fans connected to the board? via the same header?
  7. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,486 (6.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,727
    I thought the 4th wire was for PWM control, the 3rd wire is for RPM sensing.

    Either way, if you remove the 4th wire it just forces the fan to run at full speed all the time. Though it can still be controlled by lowering the voltage.:toast:
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  8. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,157 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    659
    so it's save enough to connect two fans in that cable on the motherboard?

    i got a Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P Rev. 1.1
  9. mm67

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    140 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    Location:
    Finland
  10. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,486 (6.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,727
    You can check with Gigabyte about what the maximum amperage each fan header is capable of supply. As long as it is more than what the two fans will pull, you can do that. Most motherboard fan headers are rated for 1-1.5A, so you should be fine.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  11. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    You mean your CPU fan's into the daisy chain link? that might be possible, do take into consideration of the speed differences between the CPU fan's and the F12's as they may effect power/performance/speed and/or cause a problem also Arctic cooling don't recommend linking more than 5 fans in one link, I used to use 4 F12's and then my CPU fan on the end of that link as they all ran at the same rated speeds.
  12. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,157 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    659
    oki, so you will say it's safe to do? ^^;

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page