1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

5.25 Floppy Disk Drive & a 750i Mobo

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by TSX420J, Sep 23, 2010.

  1. TSX420J

    TSX420J

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    378 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    So my dad passed recently and when cleaning his office I found a whole lot of old 5.25 floppy's. One of the floppy's I found was a old disk that had a lot of games made for apple iic. I just ordered a 5.25 floppy drive from ebay and wanted to know if it would be compatible with my new 750i mobo. I really want to rip the image off the floppy and run it in a emulator. What do I need to do this other than the 5.25 drive?

    These games on here are so rare that I cannot find them on any emulation site so these would be a great contribution to the scene if I can recover them. I have been looking for these games for years and have not seen more than 2 or 3 of the games I remember playing.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!!
  2. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    It won't work. I promise. I have tried so hard with my 5.25" drives, and have had no luck. You need an older computer mobo that supports them. Sorry! Find an old 386 and use that!
  3. TSX420J

    TSX420J

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    378 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    I have a old gateway that has a mobo with pentium 100 will that work? Thank you for the speedy reply. Cheers :toast:
  4. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,790 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,489
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    An original Pentium-based system should do just fine at reading 5.25" floppies.
    TSX420J says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  5. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    That will work perfect! That old system just saved you right there! :)
    TSX420J says thanks.
  6. TSX420J

    TSX420J

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    378 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41


    Nice!! My friend and I were going to build a retro machine with it. Thanks :)
  7. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,734 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,597
    Sorry about your father. Good luck recovering your games.
    TSX420J says thanks.
  8. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,790 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,489
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    The BIOS from my 10yo Gateway Performance tower (Pentium III 1GHz/Intel 815) reports that it can handle 360K and 1.2MB 5.25" disks. Your older Gateway should handle them perfectly.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  9. TSX420J

    TSX420J

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    378 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Thanks :)
  10. TSX420J

    TSX420J

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    378 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Cool I have a P3 too, lol. I wonder if it'll work too. I just ordered a P100 off ebay to put in the
    mobo I have, but I still need a PSU and a HDD for the P100 but I think I have a 10gb and a 1gb IDE laying around. Thanks :)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page