1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

500 watt PSU enough for this quad core?

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by TylerZambori, Jan 22, 2009.

  1. TylerZambori New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    130 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    hi all,

    hre are the parts:

    intel q6600 quad core cpu
    gskill ddr2 800, 4 gb.
    GIGABYTE GA-EG41MF-S2H mobo
    (it has on board video)
    ASUS 20X DVD±R DVD Burner
    seagate 500gb hard drive


    Ok, the PSU is: Antec earthwatts 500w PSU.

    This is actually going to be used for netting and
    writing mostly. It's going to get a quad core cpu
    because I decided to upgrade mine, and want
    to put my old cpu and ram on this computer for
    my boyfriend. It will also serve as a backup
    computer in case I have problems with mine.

    It won't need a raid array or lots of extras,
    and will only have one hard drive.

    I assume this will work fine with the onboard
    video only, but what about if I add my old
    nvidia 8800gt video card? It has 512 mb of
    memory.

    Thanks for your thoughts in advance.
     
  2. Jakl

    Jakl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    515 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Home
    You can install your 8800GT and you will still have plenty of power.

    500w is Good enough
     
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,075 (12.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,514
    Earthwatts are very nice PSU's. Keeping everything (mostly) stock I don't see any problems with installing the video card in your system. :toast:
     
  4. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,610 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,940
    It is fine. The 8800GT only needs 22-24A on the +12V rail and your PSU's combined output of its two +12V rails is 408W or exactly 34A.

    It's basically like my own psu... only you've got two 17A +12V rails while I got one 16A and one 18A +12V rails.
     
  5. TylerZambori New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    130 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Thanks everyone! yes, everything will be stock,
    there won;t be any overclocking.

    Very good, thanks for your help.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page