1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

500fsb 1:1 Ddr2 Club!!!

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by SonDa5, Apr 12, 2009.

  1. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    500mhz "BUS SPEED" 1:1 Ddr2 Club!!!

    Post your CPUZ links or screen shots along with any other impressive memory benchmark feats.
    Also please post the brand of DDR2 that you are using (e.g. PC28500 Corsair Dominator 2x2GB)


    Has to be DDR2 and must be a using a 1:1 memory ratio with the bus speed set to 500mhz.


    With 1:1 400:800 ratio the PC28500 Patriot Vipers were able to reach 5-5-5-12 low latency with my Q9550@4.25 GHZ.


    Verification:

    Wprime of 9.6 secondsSome CPUz, GPUz, and Wprime links to verify my score of 9.6 seconds.

    http://www.wprime.net/?q=fview&id=2619

    System specs verification with CPUZ and GPUZ.

    http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=545184

    http://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/fcwhx/

    Memtest86x pass


    [​IMG]





    MEMBERS


    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2009
  2. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    No offence but I don't understand how 500mhz 1:1 is impressive.

    Although considering the low clocks and loose timings, you seem to be getting good performance out of your memory there. Try 5-4-4-12, your ram should be capable of it at 2.0v-2.1v.

    IMO you're better off using a divider to clock the ram higher. Set the fsb strap to 333MHz, and set a 5:6 or 4:5 divider. Your ram's rated to 1066mhz, so 1100+ should be attainable :)
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2009
  3. Weer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,417 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    New York / Israel
    Are we back in 2006?

    Quad core, let alone i7 made 2Ghz FSB a thing of the past.
  4. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Listen guys.

    To be members of this club you have to be able to use a 1:1 memory to FSB ratio with a FSB of 500 mhz at least.

    If your machines can do this then great! Join in! :cool:

    This is an example of the wrong FSB settings.

    [​IMG]
  5. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    This is the actual "bus speed" that will determine if you qualify to be in this club.

    I'm not talking about the "Rated FSB".
  6. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344

    I'll try the 5-4-4-12 setting on the RAM.


    It's extremely difficult to get PC8500 ram to post with a 1:1 ratio at 500FSB let alone 1066mhz.

    That is what makes this challenge so difficult.

    If I used a FSB strap of 333mhz it would be way below the 500 "strap" standard that distinguishes this club.

    :cool:
  7. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,526 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,046
    I think you missed the point that he was trying to make.
    @ 500 FSB 1:1 isnt that much of a challenge. I have a Blood Iron, E6400 and a set of 667MHz ram that can accomplish this. The point was to start with a 333 strap but use a divider that allows even more MHz out of the ram.

    Your thoughts on the ram posting at 500 1:1 is the issue. It really has nothing to do with the ram. Its more in the NB and the FSB limitation of the CPU itself.

    I have heard instances where different dividers are more stable and produce better ram speed than 1:1 (play around with this). This in turn makes it less stressful on the NB an may allow you to actually push past 500.

    Said 667MHz ram actually posts at 1300MHz when I dont use a 1:1 divider.
  8. mrhuggles

    mrhuggles

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    i would like to see that, no matter what you do with dividers, the latency can go down but the bandwidth should never go above 1:1 ratio.

    well, provided your on something with that kind of a limitation, a64 and i7 don't have that.
  9. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,526 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,046
    Like to see what?
  10. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Sweet.

    Well you are welcome to join this club if your machine meets the standards. :rockout:


    It's not that I don't understand how memory ratios and bus speed and cpu multipliers work.

    This is all about DDR2 at effectve BUS SPEED@500mhz.

    Post your CPUZ image and verification link and you are in. :pimp:
  11. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,526 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,046
    Dont have a verification link, just a screenie of when I was running it for benches. Altho these clocks were used to compete in forum wars (Winter Wars) about 15 months or so ago. Ran all the benches they threw at us...Super Pi, Sciencemark, 05 and 06, as well as a few others.

    [​IMG]

    I will be back with the ram posting in a sec, I need to see if the post has all the info you want to look at.

    This explains my point with the ram running higher with a different strap and divider. I could never hit over 1042MHz 1:1 because my CPU stopped clocking at 521FSB. http://forums.techpowerup.com/showpost.php?p=821906&postcount=305
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2009
    SonDa5 says thanks.
  12. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    500 FSB right on the money. :rockout:

    Well done!!!

    Now that you are in this club you will have to teach the members how to tweak as well as you.

    Amazing 4-4-4-8 timings you have.


    I'm running 2x2GB sticks so it's a little hard for my sticks to fire up as fast as yours. I'm working on it though.

    Thanks for joining. :respect:
  13. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    My ram was running at 500/1:1 on my 4ghz screenie,but it will also do this too,only ay 6.6.6 and 3:4 thoguh.

    [​IMG]
  14. AltecV1

    AltecV1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,290 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    173
    Location:
    Republic of Estonia
    isnt 1,6 v littel much:twitch:
  15. crtecha

    crtecha New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,407 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    ipsay meechigan
    what up sunda5 nice work.
  16. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,526 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,046
    Not with windows open with an Ohio winter. I wouldnt run it there all the time, but it was safe enough to bench it for about 2-3 hours.
  17. crtecha

    crtecha New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,407 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    ipsay meechigan
    gotta love midwest winters. I've been known to sit in my parka with a hat in gloves to get the clock I want :roll:
  18. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344


    Not quite there. Once you get the 1:1 Ratio with 500 bus speed you are golden. :)
  19. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    I'm still not sure what the challenge is lol. I can get you a screenie of 550mhz+ 1:1 if you like! :D

    My point earlier was that you can achieve better performance by using a divider and clocking the ram higher. Also 'FSB strap' is not 'FSB'. It effects available memory dividers and performance.
  20. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Thanks. :toast:

    Tweaking the FSB is necessary when you have a CPU or MB that has few multipliers.
  21. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    I changed the title of the thread to make it more clear.


    All about the 500 BUS SPEED DDR2 with a 1:1 divider.
  22. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    There ya go,heres my 500 1:1 screenie.

    [​IMG]
    SonDa5 says thanks.
  23. exon1 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    99 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    1:1 here ^^
  24. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    :toast:

    Congrats.

    I'll update the members list in a few days.
    :rockout:
  25. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Here we go :D

    I got a much higher Write speed in everest than normal, the read and copy are about the same as 485mhz 4:5 (1165mhz ram) and the latency believe it or not is higher. Also memset says the performance level is 8, normally running a 4:5 divider i can get it down to 6 but it won't boot lower than 8 1:1.

    http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=546798

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    SonDa5 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page