1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

5400 RPM HDDs in Raid 0

Discussion in 'Storage' started by camoxiong, Jan 25, 2012.

  1. camoxiong

    camoxiong

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    655 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    I have a question about 5400 RPM HDDs in Raid 0, can it do?
     
  2. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,587 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    I wouldn't be in a hurry to do RAID with Green drives(I assume that's what they are if they are 5400 RPM.)

    We've had a bunch of issues with those kinds of HDDS dropping out of RAID arrays, etc.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    271
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Is it just me ? Why put slow drives in an array ?
     
  4. camoxiong

    camoxiong

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    655 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    It's not WD Green Drives, it's 2 Maxtor 80gb drives. IDK if these 2 are 5400 or 7200 rpm.
     
  5. camoxiong

    camoxiong

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    655 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    it's for my friend's build
     
  6. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,822 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,444
    You can raid 0 5400 rpm drives no problem. Just DONT do it with Green or LP drives, they park their heads to much.
     
    camoxiong says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. camoxiong

    camoxiong

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    655 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    Ok, thanks. It's 2 Maxtor 80gb drives.
     
  8. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    1- IDE or Sata?
    Either way they should be 7200 rpm , i never seen Maxtor 80GB that were 5400 rpm unless it's laptop HDD?

    2- which board are you using?

    3- Which OS?

    Tell you from experience Raid0 is not really worth it (IDE/Sata 1 & 2) the only difference you'll notice is in big files transfer (1GB+) or benchmarks anything else you wont feel a thing.... better go SSD ;)
     
  9. BlackOmega

    BlackOmega

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    624 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Because you could take one slow ass drive and pair it with another slow ass drive and make one semi-quick drive. I'd be willing to bet in a RAID 0 array it would almost double the throughput.
     
  10. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,580 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    You "slowness" is not from throughput but from latency and seek times. This will not improve with those drives under RAID 0. I personally would not recommend it. A modern cheap 2.5" drive will be faster, quieter, and more reliable than those old dinosaurs, even under RAID 0.

    In fact things might get worse. What is your RAID system? Hardware (true) or software (driver)? And what CPU/chipset are you running. If you are interested in old 80GB drives, I might be tempted to think the PC itself isnt going to be the best either... And running driver based RAID could give you all kinds of headaches you haven't anticipated yet.
     
  11. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    About that old 80GB dinosaur...

    Here some of my old benchmarks with my 4x80GB (WD) HDD's Sata in raid0... on my old AM2 board

    Single
    [​IMG]

    x2
    [​IMG]

    x3
    [​IMG]

    x4
    [​IMG]

    So yeah! even those old dinosaur 80Gb can still be fast but as in every day use like surfing the net , gaming & playing music/video it makes no differences that you can notice not even loading windows which may save you about 10 sec. which is nothing really

    It makes a good difference only if you deal with big, big files/data or in Benchmarks

    Was it worth the price of 4x80GB in those days? , simple answer is No! unless you were/are doing some heavy video editing or going after benchmarks record...;)
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 26, 2012
    camoxiong and Completely Bonkers say thanks.
  12. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,580 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    Nice. I do love objective data. What RAID subsystem was that?

    But we should not give camoxiong false hopes. You had Caviar drives. He has regular Maxtor 80GBs.

    Just to throw some data back... here is my system:
    WD10EADS-00L5B1
    [​IMG]
    RAMdisk gigabyte iRAM
    [​IMG]
    RAMdrive
    [​IMG]
     
    camoxiong says thanks.
  13. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,584 (10.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,091
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    camoxiong and JrRacinFan say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,418 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    637
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Was going to get six :/
     
    brandonwh64 says thanks.
  15. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,584 (10.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,091
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    DAMN! These were posted yesterday but seems to be hoarded up!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,418 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    637
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Oh well... I'll just need to pay better attention to the deals section in the future :)
     
  17. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,584 (10.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,091
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    it was in the WCG threads not the hot deal threads.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. camoxiong

    camoxiong

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    655 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    It's a 3.5 HDD, going to use it on a FM1 Motherboard. Windows 7
     
  19. camoxiong

    camoxiong

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    655 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    hey, thanks. im going to buy 4 of these and put it on raid instead of my HDD's
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page