1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

5850 Bios wrong flash

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by MSI650ti, Nov 5, 2013.

  1. MSI650ti New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    5 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    My old card is a Diamond ATI 5850 1GB. About 5-6 months ago I flashed the bios, So I could up the clock speed. Later on I decided to flash it back to stock clock speed. So I preceded to re-flash it. I was supposed to use the Diamond.HD5850.1024.091007.rom bios to flash my card with. But I was being stupid, and I was half asleep, and I did not pay close attention like I should have, And I accidentally flashed it using the Diamond.HD5850.1024.090916.rom bios. So naturally after I rebooted my computer I saw nothing but dark. I had no other card or onboard so I had to buy a used card to tied me over. A computer store in town sold me a used PNY-9800 GTX+. A decent card, it did ok until I got a new MSI 650Ti. I would however like to flash my 5850 back to life for backup. I have hooked it up with my current gpu, and windows does detect it. so I would say the 5850 is fine she just needs her bios back. How would I do this? Because I do not want to kill my 9800GTX+ or the new 650Ti. And when I hook the 5850 in slot 0 (or the top slot) (I have just 2 Slots) and have the 9800GTX+ or 650Ti in the bottom I get no display (yes the monitor cable is hooked in the working card) . I just don't want to flash all cards at once. Any help would be appreciated thanks.

    Oh and if this helps my Mother Board is a MSI P55-GD65.
  2. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    I think you need the dead card in 2nd slot, and -f force flash the proper bios.
  3. MSI650ti New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    5 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    my bad

    my bad I should have added this in,, That when I do have the 5850 in the 2nd slot ATIFlash reads it as card 0 even though it is in the second slot. Thats what I meant by being afraid of all cards being flashed. It would be nice if there was a Crossfire/SLI to select or de-select on ATIFlash to command it to flash only one or all cards. I just never dealt with Nvidia cards before. I always used ATI before.
  4. MSI650ti New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    5 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    So should I just give up and donate the 5850 then?
  5. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2013
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,003 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,396
    if you have an nvidia card in the primary slot (to get a picture on screen), wont ATIflash just you know.. not flash it?


    ive never tried it, but i'd assume since that tool cant flash nvidia cards, that it cant 'accidentally' flash one either.
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2013
  7. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    It's a 5850 he is trying to fix.
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,003 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,396
    yes, but if his spare is an nvidia card, wont ATIflash simply not detect the nvidia card and work without needing to specify it as card 2?
    Law-II says thanks.
  9. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    I get ya now, sorry :banghead:

    I think you might be right though.
  10. MSI650ti New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    5 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I got it back finally after mustering the courage. I use my old spare 9800GTX+ in the main slot and the 5850 in the bottom. It did ignore the Nvidia card and it flashed it back to normal. I also put the new 650Ti back in its box because I noticed a improvement in games having my 5850 back. You would think the 650Ti would be better right? Cause when I used passmark the 650Ti scored a bit higher. Is passmark unreliable? Because I have improved FPS in all my games. It even plays COD Ghosts better. I don't get it.
    Mussels says thanks.
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,003 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,396

    video cards cheat in benchmarks. synthetic benchmarks dont always match up with reality. (case in point i went from two 5870's to a single 7970. look it up and its a 10% improvement - in reality i'm getting a 30-80% improvement at higher settings)
    remixedcat says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page