1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

5850 Fan Speed in 3D Apps Problem

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Pineh, Jun 16, 2010.

  1. Pineh

    Pineh New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    49 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Hello, I'm new around here; I'm Pine. My problem: I set my fan speed to 55% manually in Afterburner, and I run Furmark. The fans get noticeably quieter and it's obvious they stop running at 55% once I start the Furmark stability test. The same thing happens with the Unigine Heaven benchmark program. I've tried closing background benchmark programs such as GPU-Z so only Furmark is open, didn't work. I tried manual settings in CCC, too. I tried to create 2 profiles in afterburner both with 55% fan speed both for 2D and 3D. Didn't work.
    Basically: My fans slow down when I start the Furmark stability test, the Unigine Heaven benchmark and enter CoD4 Servers. I suspect that my fans go to the "automatic" settings once I start up a 3D application. I can't overclock with fans at 20% (auto), or my card will asplode! So I need some help getting my fan to listen to me.

    Thanks guys :)
  2. Helper

    Helper New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    174 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Did you try with Rivatuner?
  3. Pineh

    Pineh New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    49 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Rivatuner doesn't support 5000 series ATi cards.
    Edit: Really need help over here
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2010
  4. Kofoed

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    187 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
    Hello Pineh :) And welcome to TPU.

    The far as I know the fan should control itself to keep the temperture safe. So as long it's not going above 80C I wouldn't worry too much about it.
    However, I understand that you want to control it manualy, have you tried to close afterburn while using the CCC fan control alone?

    EDIT: Please try and save your GPU Bios by using GPU-Z and attach it in a response :) In case the first try fail.
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2010
  5. Pineh

    Pineh New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    49 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Thanks for the reply.
    I tried CCC only and Afterburn only and both together, I've tried it all.
    I can't save my Sapphire Radeon HD 1GB 5850's bios, when attempted a popup states, "Unable to save Bios on this device".
    Still need help.
  6. Kofoed

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    187 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
    Damn, alright then on the techpowerup site you can download a program called Radeon bios editor. Do that and accquire the bios don't flash it, atleast not yet. :laugh:
  7. Pineh

    Pineh New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    49 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Yea I have RBE. I just didn't want to flash since it voids my warranty, as with any card...but I'll try to save my bios with RBE.
  8. Kofoed

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    187 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
    Hmn. I understand, If you still have a warranty you might think of that insted. It could be somekind of a bad controller I suppose. Not sure about it tho..
  9. Pineh

    Pineh New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    49 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Alright, here's the saved BIOS of my card.
    I couldn't attach it with the .rom extension or .7z, and I don't want to get winzip, so I've uploaded it to MediaFire, if it's alright.
    http://www.mediafire.com/?u2m4mealb2y
  10. Kofoed

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    187 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
    Sure it's fine. I didn't know it was free tho. Or you may be a user. Oh well.
    I had a look at the Bios and compared it to my own and everything is the same the far as I can see. have you tried to alt+tab out of a game and then turn up the fan speed, or using the catalyst profile?
    Other then that im not sure of what you could do by software. I suppose the fan connecter is connected right since the fan is active and everything..
    Again try and use the warrantly, I would probably do that.
    It just seems very odd why the fan would go back to auto when you start any game, I never had this problem with any of my ATI cards.
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2010
  11. Pineh

    Pineh New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    49 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I think it has something to do with profiles, with a 3D profile with auto fan kicking in upon starting games and benchmarks. I doubt it's a hardware problem, and I doubt they'd send me a new 5850 on claims of the fan controller being faulty, so I guess I'll reinstall windows and see what happens then.
  12. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,490 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,900
    If you are going to use Afterburner you need to make sure that ATi Overdrive is turned off. They don't play nice together. If you just need fan control, I would suggest uninstalling Afterburner and just use overdrive to control your fans.
  13. Pineh

    Pineh New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    49 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I'm wanting to overclock with Afterburner and control fans with it as well, but the fans turn down during 3D apps (and I don't have the profiles for 2D/3D mode on). After the fans went down with Afterburner during 3D apps, I tried settings fans manually with CCC to see if it will still turn down, and it still did. So I need both programs, but I've tried to use only CCC at stock clocks and only Afterburner at stock clocks. Nothing seems to work.
  14. Kofoed

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    187 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
    Yes, I also agree that it seems very wierd it should be anything with the card. Im just running low on ideas :rolleyes:
  15. Pineh

    Pineh New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    49 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Yea, I've asked around everywhere. Nobody's had any ideas, it's come down to reinstall/flash.
    If I reinstall, I'll still want afterburner to overclock, and I'll be back to square one.
    If I flash, no warranty.
  16. Kofoed

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    187 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
    yes but I don't see any good reason to flash the bios no more. The bios is 100% the same as mine, ofc not the clock values but fan values. Only thing you could do is to set the minium lowest fan speed on auto. But that won't make you able to control it by any other software as you want to.
  17. Pineh

    Pineh New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    49 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Anyway, I guess I won't overclock then. There's really nothing I can do except flash or try to reinstall which will probably do nothing.
    The auto fan speeds don't ramp up from 20% until about 80 degrees or so at which point it goes to 30%, and it won't go up from there. I've seen the GPU pass 90 with auto, the fans don't ramp up enough.
  18. Kofoed

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    187 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
    Hmn.. You could try to reinstall and use some older drivers if you choose to use the Catalyst Control Center. Also make sure to close all other programs that could conflict with CCC. Otherwise I doubt it will do anything.
  19. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,490 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,900
    Did you untick the box in Overdrive?
  20. Pineh

    Pineh New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    49 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Yea, I've tried afterburner without over drive. Heck, I've tried Afterburner after uninstalling my drivers and then using driver sweep in safe mode to completely scrub my system clean of my card's drivers and reinstalled the newest drivers with overdrive not even enabled; still nothing.
    I doubt older drivers will help since I've done the above.
    thanks for the help guys, I think I'll reinstall, as it's my only option.
  21. Kofoed

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    187 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
    Please report hows it going after a reinstall.
  22. Pineh

    Pineh New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    49 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I'll be reinstalling in a couple days; Should I just install CCC and try manual fan setting from there, or go ahead and install afterburner too?
  23. Kofoed

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    187 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
    I would try CCC alone first. Just in case they are having conflict.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page