1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

5850 no voltage control?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by 1Kurgan1, Apr 23, 2010.

  1. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,321 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Just picked up 2 of these.

    http://www.provantage.com/msi-r5850-pm2d1g-oc~7MST90X3.htm

    Pretty sure thats a reference design card, and it's an MSI, but looking in Afterburner and the voltage control shows no number and I can't move the slider. Any ideas here, hoping I'm not SOL, shouldn't though.
  2. burebista

    burebista

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    600 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    173
    Location:
    Romania
    Did you check those?

    [​IMG]

    Do you see voltages in GPU-Z or Everest?
    1Kurgan1 says thanks.
  3. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,321 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Bam, works, don't know why I didn't think to check, thats the first thing I did when I was OCing my friends 5770...
  4. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,233 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    430
    lucky reference bastard :)
  5. burebista

    burebista

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    600 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    173
    Location:
    Romania
    No problem, enjoy you little beasts. :)
  6. Marineborn

    Marineborn New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,144 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    sons a bitch, i do that weith my toxics and there like yeah thats nice, go blow yourself, i guess they locked it cause its already overclocked i dont feel like flashing them.
  7. arroyo

    arroyo

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    393 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    Location:
    Bydgoszcz, Poland
    Toxics doesn't have software voltage control. The best radeons are the reference ones.
    wolf says thanks.
  8. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,410 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,349
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Sadly, I don't think you would get anymore volts even if you did want to flash them, but hey, you have more than enuff horsepower in those 2 Xfired in any case (if there is such thing as more than enuff!).
  9. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,449 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    874
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    Gotta try my reference MSI card. It's clocked higher by default and voltages are unlocked in Afterburner. With fan set to 100% i'm expecting high clocks :D Gotta beat HD5870 ;)
  10. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,454 (10.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,003
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    yes those reference 5850s are very good! my visiontek has voltage control and will do 1000core and 1300mem @ 1.2v. didnt push it any higher
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Mr McC

    Mr McC

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,248 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    323
    That depends on your priorities. Noise is the most important factor for me, so I'm veering towards the options below (haven't decided between the 5850 and 5870 model yet):

    http://www.geeks3d.com/20100222/club-3d-announces-factory-overclocked-radeon-hd-5870-and-hd-5850/

    http://benchmarkreviews.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=blogcategory&id=15&Itemid=72

    They are essentially the same card with a different cooling cowl. I actually prefer the understated lines of the Club 3d model. In any event, you are right to point out the differences and consumers should be aware that many of the revison 2 models do not support voltage modifications before making their purchase, assuming that overclocking is a factor.
  12. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,410 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,349
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK

    You can have both if you want, thats voltage control and an excellent "custom" quiet cooler, take a look at the reference Asus HD5850 DirectCU cards, mine has arrived today complete with Smartdoctor the tweaking software allowing voltages upto 1.35V.

    Edit: If you want an overclocked card outta the box, you can get the Asus Top version which has the exact same cooler and voltage control.
  13. arroyo

    arroyo

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    393 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    Location:
    Bydgoszcz, Poland
    With all respect, you are wrong. It's not about ENUFF power, it's all about MOAR POWR.
  14. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,410 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,349
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    We all have differing priorities.... I like power with silence :) (or near silence).
  15. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,233 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    430
    Tatty and Arroyo : I can't read properly your posts be-chaos of your avatars, they need to evolute!!!! Mammaaaaa hahahaa
    arroyo and Tatty_One say thanks.
  16. Mr McC

    Mr McC

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,248 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    323
    I have been looking at this card and it is a potential purchase. In one of the reviews I read it stated that the fan ramps up when overclocked, can you confirm or deny this? Seems like a very nice card and, according to the photos I've seen, the pcb seems to be sturdier and of a higher build quality than those found on similar products from competitors. My current 4850 is produced by Club3d and it has served me well, but your Asus certainly is an option. What's your general opinion of it and what resolution are you using? I would really like a 5870, but the €100 price jump, at times more, doesn't seem justified by the corresponding leap in performance.
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2010
  17. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,410 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,349
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    I have only had the card in the PC for half an hour so I have not tweaked it yet, what i can say is that I just banged the GPU clocks up to 850 (random, no testing) and ran OCCT GPU test for 10 minutes, obviously the fan speed increased, was it loud? Damn no, I think it was at 55% and very quiet, my previous card until today was a Sapphire HD4890 Toxic (that had enhanced VaporX cooling)that I Ran 24/7 at 1000mhz without tweaks with auto fan and this thing seems as quiet but I spose every GPU is different so if you perhaps got one that ran a little hotter then maybe that might hit higher Fan speeds, at which some point it would become too audible, I just have not had chance to play yet, give me until tomorrow and I will gladly report back with something a little more tangible.

    Sorry, forgot to answer.... 1920 x 1200 and very solidly built.... smart doctor seems VERY good but not played much yet.
    Mr McC says thanks.
  18. Mr McC

    Mr McC

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,248 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    323
    Excellent, I game on my 1920x1080 37" TV, so your feedback will be very interesting to me. Enjoy the card!
  19. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,410 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,349
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Actually it may not be until Sunday, I forgot I am fishing tomorrow and sadly out tonight so I will just have to put my enthusiasm on hold for a little while!

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page