1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

5850 Unlocked Bios !!!!!!!!

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by bloodmaster, Oct 14, 2009.

  1. bloodmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2009
  2. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,636 (6.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,157
    what about the shader cores...do they increase as well? can we get a GPU-z screenshot?
     
  3. kylzer

    kylzer New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    511 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    Nope.
     
  4. bloodmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Dont Use It - Unstable To Me Now
     
  5. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    I bet
     
  6. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,601 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    I think he means unlocked for overclocking but yea, cards with the same GPU can be reflashed with a card with the same GPU as long as the timings are correct and PCB are the same(sometimes that dosen't matter) but shaders shouldn't unlock .
     
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,821 (13.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,196
    They are still the same GPU, why wouldn't the shaders unlock? I mean, they will unlock but they won't be stable due to them being damaged. Either way it won't work. :ohwell:
     
    skylamer says thanks.
  8. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    they are hard locked and the cards are physically different
     
    erocker says thanks.
  9. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,975 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,798
    the shaders are hardlocked, you cant unlock them with a modded bios
     
    Kei, newfellow, WarEagleAU and 2 others say thanks.
  10. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,543 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    straight from the fridge.
     
  11. bloodmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    msi unlocked bios work fine so far with my 2 saphire 5850
     

    Attached Files:

  12. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,707 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    450
    Location:
    East TN
    9.11? lmao

    FAKE!!
     
  13. bloodmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
  14. Fornowagain New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    You sure about that?

    [​IMG]
     
  15. Corrosion

    Corrosion New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    821 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Maplewood, Mn
    Why is the bus width only 256 with the 5000 series?
     
  16. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,601 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    HD5850 and HD5870 are 256bit but its more like 512 compared to GDDR3
     
  17. r1rhyder New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    194 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    texas
    [​IMG]
     
  18. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,707 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    450
    Location:
    East TN
    9.11 is just a beta same as 9.10!
     
    skylamer says thanks.
  19. r1rhyder New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    194 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    texas
    But it's not a fake, beta true.
     
    skylamer says thanks.
  20. gareth170 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    39 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    does aero still work?
     
  21. bloodmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9

    Yes - works fine
     
  22. gareth170 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    39 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    ok, thanks
     
  23. ShRoOmAlIsTiC

    ShRoOmAlIsTiC

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    859 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    Location:
    Palm Desert, CA
    I just flash with the garret wu msi 5850 clock unlock bios, I can confirm it works. so for I got 840/1170 stable without increasing voltage strait threw CCC. Love this bios, really unlocks the potential of the 5850.
     
  24. xXxDieselxXx

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    33 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    How are the temps at 840/1170?
     
  25. ShRoOmAlIsTiC

    ShRoOmAlIsTiC

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    859 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    Location:
    Palm Desert, CA
    highest they got were 73c thats with the fan locked at 50%
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page