1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

5870 Crossfire Question.

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Zubasa, Oct 8, 2009.

  1. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    The most important question is:
    Will my power supply hold up?
     
  2. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,791 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    Maybe. But you know, I wouldn't bet on it.
     
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,678 (13.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,074
    I will just say no. Also, ATi related stuff goes in the ATi subforum.
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2009
  4. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    probably but you will be pushing to its limit, so i would say no
     
  5. fredkruge New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Definately a nono.
     
  6. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Ah....
    It sucks that I can't sqeeze even 30W extra from this thing....
    So its down to those VGA booster crap....
     
  7. fredkruge New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Ehh, well... your not actually getting 600W. Most power supplies are ~82% efficiency so there goes a small chunk of that. And I dont think that power supply has enough amps per rail to supply crossfire 5870's
     
  8. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    82% efficiency and 82% of rated output is not the same dude.
    82% efficiency means that the power supply draws 731W from the wall outlet to output 600W.
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2009
  9. fredkruge New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Oh, didnt know that. thanks for the clarification. But I still think how many amps will affect whether or not you will be able to.
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2009
  10. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Hmmm.... 6770 Tri-fire may be.:banghead:
     
  11. Tweak-2-

    Tweak-2- New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    117 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    In a hidden area
    It might hold up,, but then again why worry about power consumption ,, 2 Hd 5850s ,, make a i7 965 @ 3.75ghz a bottel neck,, so 2 Hd 5870s might be worse ,, the 3d card can only render the data that the cpu is done encoding or decoding / if you must processing ,, i'v seen instances where the guys use 3 hd 5870s ,, and score a frame ,, 1 frame only ,, that’s nice since your paying 379$ for that frame ,, also remember that , textures , Polygons , shaders , lighting ect is hardware accelerated ,, were shadows are software accelerated ,, and CPU...
     
  12. Tweak-2-

    Tweak-2- New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    117 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    In a hidden area
    secondly,, its dangerous i would say but i tested System with GPU in FULL Stress = 358 Watts core i7 965 @ 3.75ghz ,, so if you take off the extra OC of the CPU and memory you might dipp 50 watts ,, thats still 308 watts ,, if your confident that your psu can hadel 616 watt full load , then you might be in luck ,, but psu life span will decrease @ 60 % because of the raised temps ,, also for 2x hd 5870s your going to need 4x6pin ,, and your 12V rails need about 40 ~ 50 amps ,, so 12V x 40 ~ 50 AMps is 540 ~ 600 watt raw 3d power ,, then you need the 125 watt for your phenom and the little bit for your ram put it all together 740 ~ 750 watt hope that helps
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page