1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

5870 X fire to 7950

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by theoneandonlymrk, Feb 24, 2013.

  1. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,412 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    As the title says really , is it worth it
    I would want to fit a full cover water block at some point so im after good combo recommendations of card and block pls.
     
    More than 25k PPD
  2. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,588 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    528
    Location:
    Australia
    Short answer no

    Long answer noooooooooooooooooooooooo
     
  3. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,618 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    yeesss!
    less heat, less power usage and 3gb of vram compared to 1 per card, no more cross fire microstuttering (if you can see it that is) and more oc headroom.
     
  4. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,073 (2.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    I have dual 5850's and if you can't play all your games like you want, then sure, upgrade but if your doing okay as it is, just wait.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,412 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    I was doing ok untill farcry 3 and I prefer ultra I think crisis 3 might be the second game to overpower my gfxs due to vram but can one 7950 cut it and due to the variety of cards and water blocks id like some suggestions as atm im thinking xfx dd 7950 but what water block? Fits it?
     
    More than 25k PPD
  6. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,761 (5.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,293
    I got one and can get a stable oc 1100/1575 1200v temps same as when stock. my cpu/board lets me down in farcry3/crisis 3 but it still handles max serttings 50+ fps
     
    theoneandonlymrk says thanks.
  7. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,761 (5.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,293
  8. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,412 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    More than 25k PPD
  9. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,761 (5.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,293
    I have an asus apparently the vapour chamber on xfx or something was faulty?! I love my card for what its worth its decent and yea the five games ;)
     
  10. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,412 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    Did you get the five with the asus and is it a reference pcb design sorry last ? :)
     
    More than 25k PPD
  11. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,761 (5.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,293
    well if ya apply at the same time to different bundles on separate pc's on amd and yea.. im just waiting for bioshock codes and release or something!

    tbh im not sure if its a reference pcb, its got asus written all over it and looks different to others, even has vrm temp displays, voltages etc on hwinfo. someone else may know or google it
     
    theoneandonlymrk says thanks.
  12. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,412 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    Google time. Ta mate
     
    More than 25k PPD
  13. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,073 (2.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    When you ad a water block, I don't see the cost justifiable. I like pretty cases, clean interiors and water blocks sitting everywhere but the blocks are half the cost of the cards which then deems the $300 video card $450.

    You could get 3 x 7950's for that price....

    Im sure my opinion of watercooling the GPU won't effect the decision but if it was me, I would skip the water blocks and just get dual 7950s
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,412 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    Its expensive I agree but oncw you add higher clocks in they last longer too, my two 5xxx have never been beyond sixty degrees and still work fine despite folding at 1ghz for two years and when they retire main rig duties will fold in a hpc hopefully prior to the Cc starting cash permitting.
    All im saying is different strokes have you tried sitting in the same room as a pc when s flat out 24/7 water cooled is quiter then
    I don't sell on and I don't upgrade often
     
    More than 25k PPD
  15. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,073 (2.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Valid point. :)
     
    theoneandonlymrk says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,761 (5.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,293
    if you want to see if a 7950 is worth it, theres a few kicking about on the crisis 3 thread with their thoughts! I haven't seen mine hit 99% gpu usage in game tho :wtf:
     
    theoneandonlymrk says thanks.
  17. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,588 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    528
    Location:
    Australia
    I honestly think two 5870's will out perform a single 7950, yes there will be less heat and less power but your getting more performance so it makes sense, and this micro stutter stuff? ive run crossfire for years and never seen it. (4870X2's and 7870's)

    Its up to you i guess but i don't think its worth it unless you go two 7950's
     
    MT Alex says thanks.
  18. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,412 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    Ill have to see what concessions I have to make to play crysis 3 hmn I should have tried the beta I think 5 series are pretty stable I see no micro stuttering
     
    Melvis says thanks.
    More than 25k PPD
  19. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,073 (2.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Power wise your better off though:

    [​IMG]

    http://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages/radeon_hd_5870_crossfirex_test_review,3.html

     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,761 (5.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,293
    that's kind of contradictory...
    then mentions 700+ for crossfire... and then you need the rest of the system.....plus 100w surplus for oc etc.... anyways depends what youre after and if youre xfire ready or want to update as well as upgrade?!
     
  21. SK-1

    SK-1

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    3,205 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    331
    Location:
    In a Galaxy Far Far...you know the rest.
    I've been in the same conundrum... Still think the X2 5780's have another year left. I do like the idea of more vram but... I never play my mp games on ultra anyway... I want the frames.
     
  22. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,065 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    812
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    Yes, I would get a HD7950 & overclock the hell out of it, it will surpass a stock HD7970 with ease. You won't have to worry about VRAM limitations & crossfire support :toast:
     
  23. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,761 (5.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,293
    mine does 1200v with 1100/1575 and temps stay the same as stock!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page