1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

5970 a fast card ONLY in benchmarks?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by zanat0s, Mar 28, 2011.

  1. zanat0s New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    166 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Hi all,

    you can read my PC's configuration on the left but let me post it here again.

    1: CPU i965 OCed at 4.08 Ghz
    2: MOBO EVGA Classified V
    3: Ram DOminator GT 1866 Mhz
    4: Tagan 1100 WATT
    5: 2 ATI 5970(sapphire and Gigabyte
    6: 3 HDD 1 AGILITY EX 60 GB, 1 OLD SSD and one WD Green 450 GB

    The issue is that sometimes my HDD seem to be very slow but i can live with it. My biggest complaint is that the PC doesn't seem capable of running games flawlessly(like Dragon age at 2500 X1600 with big textures), or it doesn't give 100% of its power.

    I check the clocks of the ATI Xfire and they appear to be at 400Mhz(the main ones) and 157(they secondary ones). On top of that i CANNOT update the drivers to the latest version(any driver above 9 crashes my system/cards.
    When i run techpower's GPU check it says that one of my GPU's is not connected to the main power(which i think is mistaken since i have checked the connection and all is well according to other readings.

    I will format my system soon to get it running up again and release the clutter from the windows folder, afte ri finish dragon age(amazing game btw).

    I upgraded from GTX 295 to ATI 5970 and i have been severely disappointed(i have a dedicated gt220 running phyx- or so i think. I have OCed my CPU and upgraded my cards, but i personally have not seen a difference in 3d. Am i doing something wrong?

    I feel the 5970s suck together when it comes to performance. is there a way i can milk those babies? I do not want to upgrade to 6990 because of that reason, neither to go to 6970...

    You tips and advice will be more than well come.
     
  2. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Your post implies that you have a GT 220 as well? If so, uninstall the nvidia drivers and remove the card. Then see if things improve.
     
  3. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Your problem is that you are running Windows 7 74 bit pro which doesn't exist :laugh:

    Are you basically saying that the cards are using powerplay whilst gaming, if so there are fixes for that which I found out recently on my card.

    I'm sure somebody will chime in to help you out and I hope you get it sorted. :)
     
  4. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,606 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    260
    Location:
    London
    Get an HD 6990, your monitors are asking for it.
     
  5. zanat0s New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    166 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    @ Eastcoasthandle,

    you think the presence of the Hybrid Physx Mod is limiting my cards?

    I was severely disappointed not play Dragon age(a game of end of 2009) at 2500 X1600 (or even 1900 x 1200) without hiccups.

    it seems like the cards do not want to do heavy lifting(one of them is water cooled but still the temperature is running high)

    @LifeOnMars

    WIndosws 74 rock... by far the best system
     
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,276 (11.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,560
    5970 is a dual GPU card. you need crossfire profiles in your drivers before those cards work properly. Unless you're on the cat 11.4 preview drivers, you wont have crossfire in DA2 atm, and therefore only half the GPU power from that card.

    also, that physX card only works in about a dozen games. Thats a literal number, very few games support that.
     
  7. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    reinstall windows and dump the gt220. bet performance goes up. i always bet the huge driver conflict you are having goes away.
     
  8. zanat0s New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    166 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Dragon age supports it though :)

    though i will try to remove the gt 200(shall i remove it physically though?)

    any other advice how to beef up Xfire performances?

    I have dled the Xfire application profiles.
     
  9. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,172 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,047
    dude, he has two 5970 cards already, upgrading to a single 6990 won't help him.


    to OP: Personally, I think you have a driver issue that is causing your lack of performance. Try unistalling the GT220, run a program like driver sweeper to remove ALL (nvidia and ATI video drivers) and try to 5970 cards then(with new drivers). Also, try running both the 5970 cards individually and compare the performance of both single cards(there might be a issue with just one of the cards)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. zanat0s New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    166 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    do you guyz reccommend a good benchmark program(possibly free) to check my perfomance?

    the funny part is that according to windows 7, my 3d performance is 7,5(i would consider a 7.9 the standard), so definitely the performance is not what it should be
     
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,276 (11.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,560
    because its probably only testing the first GPU?


    find w1zzards review of a 5970 here on TPU, compare with any game or benchmark he used, so long as you have the same drivers as him or newer.
     
  12. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,172 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,047
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. zanat0s New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    166 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    random but interesting, sometimes the playback of H264 video(MKV) seems to be lagging....

    i hate Bad value for money. I was always a Nvidia fanboy but decided to switch the 5970s and still i have not said whoah(i said whoah fot the gtx 295, the 8800s and my first Nvidia the Geforce 2)
     
  14. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I agree, WEI sucks. Don't go by that. Remove the gt220 completely out of the system. As others have stated, complete driver reinstall is in order.
     
  15. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,172 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,047
    My single 5870 scores 7.8

    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Zana0s,

    Did you remove nvidia drivers and GT220 yet?
     
  17. zanat0s New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    166 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    i will do a nice format :)
     
  18. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,172 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,047
    I'm sorry your feeling that way, but let's not give up on the 5970 cards yet. I replaced a pair of GTX280 cards I was running in SLI with this single 5870, and couldn't be happier with it's performance.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,276 (11.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,560
    oh yeah, dont give up on the 5970 just yet, you just have to remember that you're running crossfire, so its not as simple as a single GPU.
     
  20. DannibusX

    DannibusX

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,528 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    979
    Location:
    United States
    My single ASUS 5970 crushes Dragon Age. There's definitely something wrong with your system, probably a driver conflict or some such.
     
  21. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,276 (11.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,560
    you on 11.4?
     
  22. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
  23. zanat0s New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    166 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    when i go home
    1:) remove GT 220,
    2:) change spacing of the ATI cards(right now on atop the other)
    3:) clean sweep drivers
    4:) download ATI drivers(which version you recommend)
    5:) come back to the topic and reply
     
  24. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,276 (11.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,560
    definitely use the catalyst 11.4 preview drivers, they're the latest atm and working well for everyone.
     
  25. DannibusX

    DannibusX

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,528 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    979
    Location:
    United States
    Currently, yes.

    I think the last time I played DA:O I was on 10.2 though, I can't really remember.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page