1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

5970 flash with ares 5970

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by lnd2288, Feb 9, 2011.

  1. lnd2288

    lnd2288 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    142 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    MIAMI FL
    . My question is i have a powercolor 5970 runs great i wanted to know how can you flash asus ares bios into my regular 5970.
  2. Loosenut

    Loosenut

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    847 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc. Canada
    Not sure but aren't the two dies on the 5970 5850's and the two dies on the ARES 5970 5870's?

    If so, I wouldn't try it.
  3. lnd2288

    lnd2288 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    142 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    MIAMI FL
    Yeah. But ppl tend to say almost everywhere that the 5970 has a down clocked version of 5870 into the 5970. Meaning two 5850.
  4. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,824 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,933
    The HD5970 is two downclocked HD5870 cores, not two HD5850 cores.

    Either way, I wouldn't flash an Ares BIOS to a standard HD5970. There are far too many physical differences between a Ares and a standard HD5970. If you are sure you card can handle the clock speeds of the Ares and be stable, then you can just modify your current BIOS to match the Ares clocks, but definitely don't flash an Ares BIOS onto a standard HD5970.
    lnd2288 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  5. lnd2288

    lnd2288 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    142 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    MIAMI FL
    I want to get the best out of the 5970 to achieve a very good core and memory clock. Ive seen the flash bios method but haven't really put a lot of attention to it. Don't want to mess up my gpu.
  6. m4gicfour

    m4gicfour

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    845 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    309
    Download RBE from this site and familiarise yourself with it.

    Do your overclocking with software until you find a good, stable overclock.

    Then, you can modify your original BIOS with RBE and make the changes permanent. (Just make sure to save a copy of the unmodified original, as it's always reccommended to edit a stock BIOS and not one thats been edited before. Not to mention you'll need the stock BIOS if you have any problems.)


    If you have any doubts, ASK before you flash anything. There are tons of people here who can help you, even if you do unfortunately bork the card with a bad BIOS it can usually be recovered as long as you have a backup card to use (but why do that, if asking first could have saved you the trouble :) )
  7. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,824 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,933
    I'd recommend doing it all via software. You should be able to set voltages and clock speeds all via software. You aren't going to get anything more out of flashing the BIOS unless you start messing around with realy in depth stuff, and a novice shouldn't be attempting that(most experts shouldn't even be doing it:laugh:). Plus, if you do it all via software, you won't have an issue if you ever have to RMA the card.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  8. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,596 (13.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,986
    No. The Ares is a very different card.
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2011
  9. m4gicfour

    m4gicfour

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    845 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    309

    meh. To each their own. I had to use RBE to fix the fan bug on my old 4850, and it's been running better than stock ever since. Also tweaked the 5850 I bought from Audituner, and it's working beautifully.

    The only way to go from novice to expert is to learn how, but discretion is a must.

    (and yes, again, don't flash an ARES bios.)
  10. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    If you don't want to screw up your card, then don't overclock it, and definitely don't flash it. You can't have your cake and eat it too. A 5970 should be plenty for almost anything you're doing, unless you're doing benchmarking, in which case you need to spend a lot of time researching and getting comfortable with the possibility of killing hardware.

    Also, the Ares is a completely non-standard card. The last thing I would do is flash it with that BIOS.
  11. Grnfinger

    Grnfinger New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    639 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    213
    Location:
    Canada
    Look here

    Sapphire 5970 owners *all is fixed*

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page