1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

5GHz wlan card?

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by Pinchy, Jul 15, 2009.

  1. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I got a WRT610n dual band router.

    Now the laptops have G cards in them. The media PC has an N Card (Dlink DWA-556 Xtreme N).

    I tried connecting the media pc to the N network but it doesnt work. Ie, I have two networks from the WRT610n; a N network and G network. The wlan card can only pick up the G network.

    Now reading specs on the dlink site, it says the range is only 2.4-2.48GHz. I thought N cards were 2.4 and 5Ghz capable...or am I wrong?
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2009
  2. Sonido

    Sonido New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    357 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Location:
    USA
    In the final draft of the spec, it is. It will be done by the end of this year.

    Edit: You have an early draft-N card. Only 2.4 GHz... no soup, er... I mean 5 for you!
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2009
    Pinchy says thanks.
  3. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Wow, thats sh*t lol. Why did I spend money on this dual band router then :p.
  4. Sonido

    Sonido New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    357 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Location:
    USA
    I guess it's good to have for the future. Just set up your N network on that band. It's backwards compatible with G.
  5. boomstik360

    boomstik360

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,207 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    426
    +1 on that. Good luck Pinchy :toast:
  6. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    different frequency can't work , with 5Ghz there is range between 5.2 to 5.8 for connect the 2.4 can't connect with it
  7. Sonido

    Sonido New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    357 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Location:
    USA
    Huh? Yes it can. N works on both freq'.
  8. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    wireless :confused: , im try it before can't even see the the device in my search list with different freq' .
  9. Sonido

    Sonido New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    357 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Location:
    USA
    Both the card and the router have to support that freq', but N is able to operate at both 2.4 and 5 GHz.
  10. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    now that's different than main , i was try connect two device with static freq' , nano station 5 with antena 2.4 , you know there is some old devices can't change freq' .
  11. Sonido

    Sonido New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    357 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Location:
    USA
    I see where the confusion lies. I meant set the router to a 2.4 GHz band for N. Since his card is unable to go to the 5 GHz range, I suggested that.
  12. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    it is ok , we are share info here so it is ok let we help the guy

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page