1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

6 pin server fan, mod to 3 pin.

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by pantherx12, Jun 28, 2012.

  1. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Hello TPU I recently bought some Nidec V34809-35 fans how ever after I purchased them I realised they are 6 pin fans.

    Is it possible to wire these up to 3 pin and run them off a fan controller? ( and adjust speed, that's the most important bit! I don't need 220 cfm :laugh: )
  2. lindy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    81 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    45° 59' 55.57” N 86° 09' 20.10” W
    It should be possible if you can find a diagram for the pin out... I think two of the wires are for an led. You'll need a robust controller though as the fan is 3.3amps , 39.6watts. Oh, and ear plugs, lots of ear plugs! (64.8dBA @ 5300rpm).
  3. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    I actually have this version coming http://i.ebayimg.com/00/s/MTA2MlgxNjAw/$(KGrHqVHJE4E-me+Dg1hBP)52swv6Q~~60_12.JPG from a dell machine.
  4. lindy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    81 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    45° 59' 55.57” N 86° 09' 20.10” W
    Well I believe the the red and black would be + and - (respectively) and the blue would be tach., and I think the yellow would be fan speed control termination?
  5. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    So should in theory be okay?

    Now I just need to research if my fan controller is up to scratch :laugh: ( turns out it's not, whoops!)
  6. lindy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    81 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    45° 59' 55.57” N 86° 09' 20.10” W
    Yup, in theory you should be good to go... Ouch! For your controller though, controllers for those kinds of amps/ watts aren't cheap. An inline resistor may be the ticket.
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2012

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page