1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

650i or 630i evga?

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by jinho11104, Jun 21, 2008.

  1. jinho11104 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    295 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    they are both single pcie..

    i am planning to sell one of my cards so that i can buy this.

    if i buy the 630i, i got a t1000 mini tower case..

    if i buy the 650i i got the ultra big case :)

    the t1000 looks tiny.. <_< i like tiny

    but im aimming for gaming wise. if theres any other single vga slot mobo that beats these evga's im all ears
     
  2. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth

    Well, here is what we gotta know.

    • What games do you play?
    • Is this just to have a Nvidia Chipset or what?

    I would go with the one that hits your fancy the most. But, if you tell more of what your going with more, we can give you the yes, the no, and what we think is the best for you.
     
    jinho11104 says thanks.
  3. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    Neither.

    Both are single channel boards, which would alone drop performance about 10-15%. Look at the intel g33/35 chipsets.
     
    jinho11104 says thanks.
  4. newconroer

    newconroer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,271 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    353
    Single channel as in RAM?

    Then you'd be mistaken, the 650i supports dual channel.

    It's a budget gaming board with all the overclocking capabilities found on premium motherboards.

    It's only drawback is it cannot take extreme voltages.
     
    jinho11104 says thanks.
  5. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    Oh, my mistake. I over looked and thought he was comparing the 630 and the 610. :rolleyes: Well if he wants a matx board, go towards the intel G33/35.
     
    jinho11104 says thanks.
  6. xylomn

    xylomn New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    661 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Swindon, England, United Kingdom
    As your going to be using only one card I'd advise going with an Intel chipset over an Nvidia chipset. The only reason to use an Nvidia chipset is if you wanted to use SLi. As your planning to use a single card you'll get better performance out of an Intel chipset :)
     
    jinho11104 says thanks.
  7. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,829 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Cheap p35 would be my vote
     
    jinho11104 says thanks.
  8. jinho11104 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    295 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    links please im going for a CHEAP game rig
     
  9. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,829 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Are you in the US?
     
    jinho11104 says thanks.
  10. jinho11104 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    295 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    yes. i was thinking of jus selling the cpu and getting the asus m2n sli deluxe, but im scared after reading rma issues
     
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2008
  11. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,829 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Maybe this or this. The p35 will offer better overclocking and some better features, but if having a microatx is more important, a g33 or g35 may be a good way to go. Look more around newegg.
     
  12. jinho11104 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    295 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    i cant shop at newegg.. they keep sending it to my old adress, thanks though . i only shop at tigerdirect D:
     
  13. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,829 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    What do you mean? I'm sure if you give them a new address, they will send it to you. But you can look for those products on tigerdirect, and others like them, they will likely be a tad more expensive, but shouldn't be anything too bad.

    edit: Tiger direct has a poor selection of motherboards I see. If you can do newegg, that would be best. If not, you might even be better off seeing if you have a microcenter, compusa, or other similar store around you (small companies w/ cheap prices).
     
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2008
    jinho11104 says thanks.
  14. jinho11104 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    295 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    y is that 630i bad? its meant for gamng with 1333fsb and all/
     
  15. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,829 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Is it this one your looking at? There's nothing necessarily wrong w/ it considering what it is, but it won't allow you to max your hardware and leave room for expansion and upgrades the way other boards could. Also, what proc are you using? You won't be able to oc on that motherboard very much at all. Like someone else said, really the only reason to get nvidia chipsets is if your planning on having an sli set-up. Otherwise it's best to stick w/ intel.
     
    jinho11104 says thanks.
  16. jinho11104 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    295 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    planning on buying E7200

    i wish there was a sli matx ;p and not the evga one..
     
  17. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,829 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Ok well most definately do not buy that board then. It doesn't support 45nm procs, so that's a no-go. You will need a p35, perhaps a g35 will support 45nm too. Before you make a decision, make sure that the board supports 45nm.
     
  18. jinho11104 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    295 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    what about the fatal1ty abit matx?


    should i just stick with my m2n sli? cuz im thinking of sending this back cuz i think it has sli issues....or something


    i posted a problem about this not too long ago about how i would stutter lag with sli enabled.



    also recommend me am2 skt mobos.. then i wouldnt need to spend more money on a proc.
     
  19. jinho11104 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    295 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    how do you knwo it doesnt support 45nm? im new to thise.
     
  20. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Ok if your looking for 45nm support OUT OF THE BOX, go with P43. If you need a wider range of cpu support a 610i, not much of a difference from that to the 630i/610i boards they just have better onboard graphics. My .02.

    EDIT: By P43 I mean something like this ....

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813138122
     
    jinho11104 says thanks.
  21. jinho11104 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    295 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    im still confused.. the 630i wont take 45nm? where can i check to see if x is 45nm

    and what type of CPU works with that 630i? cuz i like that mobo and logan said some good things about it.. and once again newegg is forbidden from me
     
  22. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I said OUT OF THE BOX, you may have to purchase a 65nm chip for a bios flash to support 45nm. Sorry I should have gave you that information when I originally posted.

    And I used that link as example. :)
     
  23. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,829 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Well, I know the 650i and 680i don't take 45nm, so I can only assume the 630i also doesn't take it. You also won't be able to do much w/ it on that chipset in the way of overclocking, which is critical if your doing cheap gaming. Most vendors have cpu support lists on their websites for their mb, but I can't find it on evga's, but it's probably there somewhere. The p43 suggestion from jr is a good idea, b/c even p35s and the like will need a BIOS update before they can handle the e7200.

    Jr, is the p43 an evolution of the g33? Or p31? Or is it something new, do you know?
     
  24. jinho11104 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    295 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    im pretty sure g33 will also be a good out of the box 7200, cuz i see builds of quad on it

    maybe i should go with the E4700 65nm.. or is that even worse?
     
  25. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,829 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Quads, 65nm quads, will go in pretty much any intel chipset. 45nm chips are newer and not always supported. The e7200 is among the newest of the 45nm chips and so it is supported even less. The g33 will probably support it, but almost definately will need a bios update before it can. So no, it won't be good out of the box.
     
    jinho11104 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page