1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

670 2gb vs 7950 3gb (most future proof card?)

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by ColdCheese, Sep 14, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ColdCheese New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I tend to squeeze my tech purchases to the last drop and was wondering if the 2gb on the gtx 670 will be enough in the next couple of years?

    I'm pretty set on Nvidia, free Borderlands 2, physx, superior SLI drivers...
    My plan was to buy a gtx 670 now and SLI another one when the prices eventually come down, but 2gb vs what seems to becoming the future standard of 3gb is the only thing holding me back on pulling the trigger.

    Currently I game on a single 1200p, but that may change in the fitire and have been eyeing the Korean 1440p monitors or may even go with 3x1200p if a good deal comes across.

    Hold out for Big Kepler early next year? 7950 3gb or go for 670 2gb and SLI it sometime next year?
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,979 (12.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,401
    Get the 670 now. If you go and read some reviews, you will notice that the extra 1gb of vram doesn't make a difference.
     
    MxPhenom 216 says thanks.
  3. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,301 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    458
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    +1

    670's a beast and a good price.. 2gb is ample for now and the foreseeable future imo..
    Future sli is also a bonus..
     
  4. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,301 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    458
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    "Poor people" and "Console peasants" are pretty rude things to say man... Try this.. Think 1st..
    Then speak.. It works out better in the long run.. :shadedshu
     
    Darkleoco, adulaamin and MxPhenom 216 say thanks.
  5. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    This may change at the turn of the console age. I recommend the 7950 because I am partial to AMD and substantially biased.

    I think he was joking around. Actually, I am fairly sure he was.

    Also consol peasants isn't new, those console dirtbags have been keeping the PC industry up for some time now.
     
  6. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,222 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,390
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Hmmmm, that is a douchey thing to say.

    OP: Get the GTX670. Like erocker said, the extra GB really doesn't do all that much.
     
  7. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    Console peasants do hold back PC gaming... all the 1 GB video cards is the reason Shogun 2 got nerfed. I want my shiny armies back, just because you all want 2GB vram and not 3gb like me doesn't mean I should be punished.
     
  8. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    they wanted to make sure that they didnt get sued by Pokemon for the inclusion of Shinies. This has nothing to do with consoles.
     
  9. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,152 (4.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,358
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Psh!


    As if.


    If you wanted more, then you'd be willing to pay more for PC games like you were willing to pay more for your hardware, and most aren't willing to pay more for PC games, and expect to pay less that console titles sell for. You pay less, you get less, and that's fair.

    What's that? you DON't have over 400 titles in your Steam account? And you DARE call yourself a PC gamer? For shame, for shame!!!


    :roll:

    I own a couple of 7950s. If you want to overclock, get the 7950, Gigabyte Windforce Edition. Wanna run stock? Get the GTX 670.
     
  10. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,215 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    984
    Location:
    Miami
    i think once you take into account OC'ing you can really go too wrong with either option.

    I like Nvidia drivers alot, but I would grab the 7950 just because I can get it a bit cheaper.
     
  11. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    Pretty sure the 670 burns oil after a few miles.
     
  12. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    I'm simply stating that Shogun 2 looked better before they patched it up, and the only reason they patched it up is because AMD was the only company with enough balls the last two generations of cards to increase vram. GTX 580 1500mb of vram, 6970 2gb, 7970 3gb, gtx 680 2gb.

    I want to play shogun 2 with 3gb before the patch because the game LOOKED prettier when it is using 2600mb of vram. Damn Nvidia for being cheap.
     
    Horrux says thanks.
  13. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    lol it was a joke :D
     
  14. Hilux SSRG

    Hilux SSRG

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,023 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    170
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    Can't go wrong with the gtx 670, esp. if you plan sli down the road. Congrats on the upgrade regardless if ati or nvidia.
     
  15. ColdCheese New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    exactly lol damn you rich stock holders and penny pinching ceo's putting profit margins over tech advancements :shadedshu
     
  16. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,685 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,872
    it would come down to pricing as no card is future proof in all due honesty
     
  17. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,182 (3.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,821
    Location:
    04578
    grab the cheapest of the two clock the dog snot out of it. but considering the 670 costs closer to the stock 7970, might better off grabbing a cheap aftermarket cooled 925Mhz 7970 and clock the shit out of it.
     
    Zubasa and eidairaman1 say thanks.
  18. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,691 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    664
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
  19. hastalabs

    hastalabs

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    L.A
    if U plans use 3 monitors HD 7950 is absolute answer but if U stay along for 1080p GTX 670 must be choice :rockout:
     
  20. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,263 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,297
    I'd get the GTX670, in fact I'm buying one right now myself. They are just beasts of cards. If you are really worried about the 2GB being a limitation spend sightly more and get one of the models with 4GB of RAM like this one:

    EVGA 04G-P4-2673-KR GeForce GTX 670 Superclocked+ ...

    Hardly true, at the time they patched it the HD7000 series barely worked with the game, it froze and crashed most of the time, if you got it to run more than 10 minutes you were lucky. Not to mention there were GTX480 and GTX580 models with 3GB of RAM...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  21. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    INSTG8R says thanks.
  22. borschwanger New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    the review of the vapor-x 7950 sold me on it...except i could only find it at newegg and it was sold out. sapphire has three other 7950s and one is $280 currently. 280 right now while the others are $309 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814202006 and http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814102991

    when you compare the $280 one with the other two the obvious difference is the base clock speed. will the cheapest one be a lower binned card or what. i would overclock it myself either way unless i cant because with neweggs comparison thing apparently the cheap one is lacking 'features.' curious especially considering the one at 280 has an original price of 370 :confused:

    then there is a gigabyte 670 with a 10% off promo bringing it down to $360 (HARDOCPX912G). should i just not even worry about the 7950 and get this 670? i am building a new system and was actually going to just suffer with the 3570k on board graphics while i researched but ive been waiting to buy some things because newegg is supposedly having 'last chance' sales the 14th through the 27th. wasnt really looking to spend a lot on my card....but the more i read the more i wanted. lol. hopefully this is relevant enough to the thread and not breaking rules. forum noob here... :)

    edit: also are there expected price drops anywhere with the 660 having come out or are they too far apart to have an effect?
     
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2012
  23. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Depends on how much you really want to spend on the card, for sheer performance that Sapphire 7970 OC wins with that 1000Mhz bios which puts it on 680 level performance.
    If you are considering the 670 in the first place, you are willing to pay $400 for a card anyways, might as well get the best card you can afford.
     
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2012
  24. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,182 (3.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,821
    Location:
    04578
    actually wrong newtekie as far as im aware on Socket 1155 the issue wasnt a problem

    from what im aware on TWC the issue was limited to just about every other socket except 1155 for whatever reason. with 6 machines built all socket 1155 with AMD HD 7000 series gpus Shogun 2 had no problems however even now on 1336 2011 AM3+ etc the problem still persists.
     
  25. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,263 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,297
    Odd, but still the point is the HD7000 series has some major issues with the game, regardless of how much RAM it has, so the fact that no one but the HD7000 series offered 3GB of RAM likely wasn't part of the decision to scale back the graphics since the cards with 3GB of RAM don't reliably work with the game anyway.

    And again, nVidia had 3GB cards as well before the HD7000 series was even released, so his whole rant about nVidia not having 3GB cards was false.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page