1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

6850 how to restore original bios HELP!! PLZZ

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by mr305, Mar 14, 2013.

  1. mr305 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Messages:
    23 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Hi am new at this i never knew that you could change the bios signature for a radeon card . So just today i try to do this . search for my original bios.rom save it into flash drive also my computer . Then i search here in techpowerup for 6870 bios signature an i load it into method 1 as the computer restarted the graphic card doesn't seem to come up , it is just searching for signal . So now am getting worried . So what i did now is disconnected the HDMI cable from my 6850 sapphire an connected the HDMI cable to my motherboard internal graphic card. My computer seem to boot up normally everything seem find . But now how do i restore my sapphire 6850 card to the original bios that i had before an i saved ?
     
  2. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,994 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,161
    Location:
    Washington, US
    You'll need another video card. Onboard will work. Keep the card in and boot up like normal, using the second card for a display. Go to whatever you'd normally use to flash the BIOS and make sure you select the correct card. Restore the backup BIOS and reboot.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. mr305 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Messages:
    23 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Thanks right now am using the onboard but when i search for the adapter it doesn't appear in the ATI Win Flash when i search for the adapter. So what do you suggest me to do ?
     
  4. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,575 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    **If you are able to access windows with a spare vga card or onboard vga/igp; Uninstall any AMD drivers for the vga card before the flash process**


    Create a bootable flash drive
    go here http://files.extremeoverclocking.com/browse.php?c=21

    Download - HP USB Disk Storage Format Tool - v2.1.8 & Windows 98 System Files

    click Primary Download unzip the files to a folder on your HDD; make sure your USB Memory stick is attached to your PC; open HP USB Disk

    Storage Format Tool v2.1.8 ; select Creat a DOS startup disk/ select: using DOS system files located at: (these are the files you have just downloaded): browse to the files in win98boot; then start the process.

    Download latest version of ATIFlash
    here - http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/2166/ATIFlash_3.99.html Edit updated link

    copy atiflash and [#bios name#].bin to the usb flash drives root directory

    Set the motherboard bios to boot from usb *press F8 during boot; select from boot menu if option is avalable; this should boot to a win98 dos prompt

    Type at the dos prompt - dir to veiw the content of the flash drive

    Type at the dos prompt; atiflash -ai 1 [see if adapter is at this address and is recognised]

    Type at the dos prompt; atiflash -unlockrom 0 to unlock the gpu in adapter 0 [Note: 0 is the primary card PCIe slot one & 1 is the secondary PCIe slot two][*may be required] [Note: when booting from onboard vga / igp also = primary position 0]

    Type at the dos prompt; atiflash -f -p 1 [#name of bios#].bin [Note: 0 is the primary card PCIe slot one & 1 is the secondary PCIe slot two] [Note: when booting from onboard vga / igp also = primary position 0]

    reboot once finished and remove the flash drive

    reinstall AMD Catalyst Drivers

    Note: if using a dual bios card Do Not flash the card while switch is in position two

    Edit: Welcome to TPU

    atb (all the best)

    Law-II
     
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2013
  5. mr305 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Messages:
    23 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5

    Okay thank you , i have try these two step :

    Type at the dos prompt - dir to veiw the content of the flash drive

    Type at the dos prompt; atiflash -ai 1 [see if adapter is at this address and is recognised]

    But the adapter is not found , am connected to the onboard card but with a dvi cable does that matter ?
     
  6. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,352 (6.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,118
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Not a good sign. It is very possible that you bricked your video card. Different GPU (even between vendors,) might use different types of memory or voltages and by flashing a different BIOS from a different vendor, it is possible you could have damaged components on the card, such as the VRMs, video memory, or the GPU itself.

    Usually at this point if the video card isn't detected, it's a sure fire way to tell that "it's dead, Jim."

    The video bios is one of those things where if it isn't broken, you should probably leave it alone unless you know perfectly well what you're doing. Considering the 6850 will never unlock to a 6870 (and a simple google search will confirm this,) this was just a bad decision. It isn't the first time I've heard someone do this with a 6850 either. Sorry man, I think it's done for. :(
     
  7. mr305 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Messages:
    23 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    wawoo!! that easy its dead . All i did was flash it with the same vendor which is sapphire 6870 please tell me there is another way. :(
     
  8. mr305 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Messages:
    23 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    also the card is running perfectly find i have the computer case open an i can see the fan spinning like if it is running normally. Maybe something in the bios i have set incorrectly . Because i have my computer overclock.
     
  9. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,352 (6.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,118
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Fan spinning is not a sign that it is working. It is a sign that the video card how power, not that it is initializing properly.

    If it boots using the iGPU, then you're in trouble because if it were your OC it would cause havoc on everything else as well. You might as well reset everything to stock, but I think it's too late for that.

    You flashed a BIOS for a card that isn't yours to your own. What did you expect would happen? :confused:

    If you have a Sapphire 6850, you flash the same BIOS for that revision of 6850. You can even flash another 6850 BIOS and still brick it because things like differ DIMM vendors or different timings. Considering what the BIOS controls, it has the potential to completely destroy your card.
     
  10. mr305 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Messages:
    23 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Wawo just like that i can't believe my eyes. :( One thing for sure is that it was booting of PCI E Default setting everything was done using default setting on my bios . Do you think this guide might help http://www.overclock.net/t/593427/how-to-unbrick-your-bricked-graphics-card-fix-a-failed-bios-flash ?
     
  11. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,352 (6.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,118
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    No, because if you read it carefully you've done this already if you're trying to detect it and flash it.

    I'm not joking when I say that I seriously think you killed your card.
     
  12. mr305 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Messages:
    23 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5

    I guest is purchasing a new one . I can't believe my eyes dow . But thanks for the help anyway .
     
  13. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,575 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    Doing this was not good for the card as the Device ID has changed and the vga card cannot be seen by atiflash as the vga bios strings are wrong

    you will have to locate the vga bios on the card and connect pinout 1 and pinout 8 with a wire read Here

    Note: this is not the card you have; however the principle is the same

    atb

    Law-II
     
    xvi says thanks.
  14. mr305 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Messages:
    23 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5

    Thank you very much at lease sign of hope. By the way if you don't mind me asking just in case all these try doesn't work , do you think Nvidia GTX 560 is a little better than the card i have now which is the Radeon HD 6850 sapphire 1gb ?
     
  15. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,180 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    313
    It will work for you ... just remember to flash your original bios.rom to the card ;)
     
    Law-II says thanks.
  16. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,575 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    May be have a look at the reviews - not much in it between the HD 6850 & GTX 560 depending on the game - here and here

    best of luck

    atb

    Law-II
     
  17. mr305 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Messages:
    23 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I found a sticker on the card that said B0105 . Do you think i should remove it ?
     
  18. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,575 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    nothing to lose at this stage, vga cards warranty went out the window when it was flashed. [may be remove it carefully]

    atb

    Law-II
     
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2013
    mr305 says thanks.
  19. mr305 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Messages:
    23 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Am at the same stage as the fallowing user in this thread http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=151836


    I don't know which one is the bios chip i can see the one on the right side of the picture in the thread in my card an i can also see the one on the left also on my card . What does it clearly have to say so i can confirm that is correct for the bios ?
     
  20. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,575 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    make and model of card also; SKU number ;need the numbers from the chips to assit identify them, any chance of some pics or letting us know.

    Edit: @ Frogger, thank you very much

    atb

    Law-II
     
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2013
  21. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,180 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    313
    see tha att PDF & look for a chip with the same #'s also pls post the # for the sticker on the back of your card [pic]
     

    Attached Files:

    Law-II says thanks.
  22. mr305 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Messages:
    23 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    This is the image of my graphic card . Am sorry for the delay guys i was out of town for the few days . Now to get back to trying to bring my graphic card back to life . This is the image an i don't know which is the bios chip , could it be the one on the right next to the TEST PAST stamp , or the one on the left.

    [​IMG]
     
    Law-II says thanks.
  23. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,575 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    can you get a clearer shot of the lable for Frogger, thanks

    atb

    Law-II
     
  24. mr305 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Messages:
    23 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    okay which one , the one on the left or the one on right ?
     
  25. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,575 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    the one on on the right

    Example
    HD vga .jpg

    nb: are you able to see the writing on either of the chips?, can you post this info.

    atb

    Law-II
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page