1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

6850CF vs GTX480

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by jellyrole, Sep 3, 2012.

  1. jellyrole

    jellyrole

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,020 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    206
    Location:
    Manhattan
    I'm upgrading my GPU and was wondering what route you guys think I should go with. I game at 1920x1200 and play a ton of different games.

    Heat/power are not a factor.

    I can trade my GTX550 Ti for 2x 6850's + I pay $120 or I can get a GTX480 for $125 and keep/sell my GTX550.
     
  2. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,619 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    option #2 since is cheap and you get money for that 550 later.
     
  3. Flibolito

    Flibolito

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    728 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    yeah do the 480 they are strong to this day, especially with a little OC on them
     
  4. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    The GTX480 is still a pretty fast car. Keep the GTX550 and run different SLi with it.
     
  5. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,210 (6.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,383
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Get the GTX480 and run the GTX550ti as a PhysX card. Would come in handy if you plan to play Borderlands 2 :)
     
  6. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,677 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,776
    Location:
    Chicago
    Heh I went from 6850 crossfire to a 480 and play at your res. My main motivation was needing a little more VRAM, especially for 4X MSAA in BF3. Finding 480s for $200 plus the NV drivers also handling MSAA better in that game sealed the decision. Even though the 6850s are technically a bit more powerful with proper scaling. If those cards had more than 1GB I'd probably still be running them.

    So without finding a great deal on used 6850s or something I'd say 480 too as it's still pretty much the best overall bang for buck right now esp given the 1.5GB frame buffer.

    I may go 7850 2GB Crossfire next...
     
  7. jellyrole

    jellyrole

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,020 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    206
    Location:
    Manhattan
    I just picked up a GTX480 and a Sabertooth motherboard for $200 shipped.
     
    brandonwh64 says thanks.
  8. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,677 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,776
    Location:
    Chicago
    eBay?
     
  9. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,691 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    664
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
  10. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,453 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    598
    Location:
    AZ
  11. Black Mesa New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Messages:
    135 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Canada
    But the Vram limitation at that power level is a real imbalance and bottleneck which is why with the extra half gig of Vram on the 480 it's the better choice. Plus it's not like the 480 was far behind seems like it has most of the power of the 6850s in CF.
     
  12. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,677 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,776
    Location:
    Chicago
    ^ Agreed.
     
  13. Flibolito

    Flibolito

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    728 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    If the 480 temps can be kept in check they overclock well and gain alot from it.
     
  14. Black Mesa New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Messages:
    135 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Canada
    I think at around 800Mhz is when it starts matching the GTX 580 so ....
     
  15. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,861 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,464
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    My 6870s in crossfire work pretty well. The only thing it doesn't let me do with 1Gb of VRAM is use AA at 8x on the newest games. :confused:
     
  16. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,430 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,019
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Go with the GTX480. My GTX480 isn't that far behind my 2x 5850 CF. If 1gb of vram was enough I'd say go with the 6870's, but It's nice having the extra ram in games. You don't have to worry about CF issues on games that are not supported. Plus, you're getting to sale your 550 or keep it for physx. :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Black Mesa New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Messages:
    135 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Canada
    Ya I was pretty upset myself when I had my 6870 about the AA filtering and not cause it was bad or anything because the quality was second to none but more so that fact that I could not crank it to the max because the card would just bog down even in old games at full AA/AF settings but 4x was sexy enough. Also I don't think it was Vram limitation that held you're 6870 back in newer games it's just that you taxed the capabilities of the GPU to the max.
     
  18. darkangel0504

    darkangel0504

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    94 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    6850 cf ~ gtx 580
     
  19. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,861 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,464
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    You don't go from 70FPS to 2FPS because you're just taxing your GPU more by jacking up the AA. :)
     
  20. Black Mesa New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Messages:
    135 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Canada
    Well that's how it went in STALKER SOC I went from triple digit fps to single digit fps then when I cranked up the AA/AF to the max everything else being = and the Vram usage was still only around 700mb and I was getting single digit frame rates because the GPU was maxed out not the memory or Vram. The radeons have high IQ.
     
  21. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Same for that entire series the GTX470/480 clock damn good. With a Zalman VF3000F mine clocked to better GTX570 performance.
     
  22. Black Mesa New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Messages:
    135 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Canada
    Considering that the GTX 480 is pretty well on par with the GTX 570 that's not a very good OC. IMHO people now in days blow OCing way out of proportion.
     
  23. Flibolito

    Flibolito

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    728 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    My GTX480 is running 962MHz for 2 years now which is a huge overclock. It got the exact same FPS than my 580 did @900MHz. So yes overclocking is huge for the 4xx series, that's why I still have it and replaced the 580 with a 680 not the other way around. The 480 will be replaced by a GTX780.
     
  24. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Sorry mine was a 470 I didn't specify.
     
  25. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,453 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    598
    Location:
    AZ
    vram isn't an issue in most situations and the power and heat savings actually favor crossfire 6850's. I have 3 480's, 2 of them currently run in sli on my rig. The fastest solution is also the quietest solution is also the cheapest to run is also more likely to last longer.

    it's a no brainer. vram utilization is and has been 100% bullcrap on these forums.

    "look my (insert vram monitor here) shows 3GB of usage in (insert any game that doesn't need anywhere near that much here) so that must mean that everyone needs 4GB of vram"

    were that true it would show up in W1z's reviews...it doesn't, not unless you're using eyefinity for 3 monitor resolution scaling. The op, and pretty much 99% of those asking the questions on here don't. At the standard 1080p, 1GB is enough. at 2560x1600, 1.5GB is enough. the only time you need more is for eyefinity over 3 monitors.

    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Club_3D/HD_7750_Low_Profile/22.html

    1gig midrange cards being more than enough at 1920x1200 a larger resolution that the standard 1080p.

    You'll see drop off in card design limitations

    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Club_3D/HD_7750_Low_Profile/14.html
    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Club_3D/HD_7750_Low_Profile/17.html

    but none of it is memory related.

    (should be noted that in the above we're looking at the single 6850 results, crossfire of course will offer an average of a 65% improvement over the single card in most cases)


    look at the 7850's in the links below.
    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Club_3D/HD_7850_RoyalQueen/18.html

    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Club_3D/HD_7850_RoyalQueen/16.html

    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Club_3D/HD_7850_RoyalQueen/21.html

    seriously if the memory mattered the royalqueen version would be far behind the standard 2gb version in all high resolution tests. When in REALITY it only falls behind in the eyefinity resolution and occationally by a small amount at 2560x1600 (though it's only 2% behind overall at that resolution).

    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Club_3D/HD_7850_RoyalQueen/28.html


    Just like in windows if you have 8GB of memory you'll likely see windows use most of it when doing something intesnive, its how modern applications work. This doesn't mean you need that much, if someone with 4GB wants to do the same things they can do so with little performance loss except for those super rare situations.

    STOP WITH ALL THE GPU MEMORY BULLCRAP!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page