1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

690/Titan Owners! NCP4206 voltage control with new Afterburner

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Spaceman Spiff, Aug 19, 2013.

  1. atzenkeeper500 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2013
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    It´s running now, I can go high to 1300Max at Vcore. When I start 3DMark the OSD Shows 1.2V (I am not using more in the Moment) und a Core Speed at around 900MHz. But when the Benchmark runs and the Turbo kicks the Speed high to 1150 MHz, the Vcore lowers down to max. 1.75V like the Original - why, Power Limit?
  2. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,981 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    800
    Location:
    Italy
    You probably need to flash a higher power target BIOS.
  3. atzenkeeper500 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2013
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    PowerTarget now @190 = no Difference =? Volts Down @heavy work

    Had any GTX690 User tried this and had a real benefit from this Mod or the same Problem?

    Edit: with Mod @heavy load the Voltage is lower (between 1,65-1,69) than without the Mod. Without the Voltage-Mod the GPU-Voltage is nearly the hole time at ist Max with 1,75V. This Beta-Mod is not working correct or I did something wrong, but what?
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2013
  4. Spaceman Spiff

    Spaceman Spiff

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    620 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    120
    I have not tried this on my 690 yet since I am not at home but Ill try to help.

    Did you disable vdroop on both GPUs?

    Guide to disable vdroop: http://www.overclock.net/t/1421221/gtx780-titan-any-ncp4206-card-vdroop-fix-solid-1-325v

    Remember you have use the SLI guide since it is 2 GPUs on one pcb.

    NOTE: Also i believe sg0 is the PLX chip on the 690 so you may have to use sg1 and sg2.


    Did you flash a new BIOS on both GPUs?

    Guide to flashing: http://www.overclock.net/t/1249960/official-nvidia-gtx-690-owners-club/4810#post_20631732

    http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.php?p=4540650&postcount=405

    You may want to try to disable the PT completely although I have not seen any confirmation of it actually working. If you use KGB and instead of using the default %150 edit the cfg and enter %300 and then flash the BIOS.
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2013
  5. Xaser04

    Xaser04

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    734 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Finally got around to trying this on my 780 at the weekend.

    It works! Well I can choose voltage up to 1.3v anyway.

    Pushing any higher than 1.18v makes the card slam into the 106% power limit virtually immediately.

    Next steup is a unlocked power limit bios.... i got bored though and just ended up playing some games instead....
  6. Kaynar

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    615 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    So I joined the Titan clubhouse recently and I've been reading through this thread. I simply use evga's program to set 106% power limit. Also, I will soon watercool the card with a Heatkiller GPU block I am waiting. My card seems to do stable 1006mhz with the boost feature and never throttles. I can also add 120Mhz (above that I get artifacts) to the core without changing the voltage and the card still doesn't throttle after few hours of far cry 3 at 1900x1200. During this game and also 3Dmark11 the card goes up to 97% on the power chart while at +120mhz. My card is from Gainward and has 75.7% ASIC.

    From what I have read here, even if I raise the voltage to be able to OC further, the power limit feature will automatically reduce the voltage and core clock of the card. Did I understand correctly? How much additional voltage should I put in order to remain on the safe side (1.3v seems too high for me) and be able to OC a bit further?
  7. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,981 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    800
    Location:
    Italy
    You need a unlocked power target bios to really get the benefits of increased voltage.

    Don't go over 1.35v and you'll be safe.
  8. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,153 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    626
    Heh... 1.35v is pushing it honestly... over 1.3v we have seen some go BOOM! :eek:
  9. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,981 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    800
    Location:
    Italy
    Could you show some please?
  10. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,153 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    626
    I mentioned this a month ago, almost to the day, in this same thread. You thanked me for it... LOL

    As far as me reasearching for you, I do not have the time...sorry.

    And you even said this..:
  11. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,214 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,443
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Overclock.net has a very active overclocking community using the various mods and custom bios'. The only reported meltdown was was not from normal over volting. It was an LN2 hard modded card at 1.4v.

    However, there is no doubt the higher the voltage the higher the degradation and lower lifespan of the gpu. But that being said - a lucky guy can have a long run at high volts if the card is right. Or you got shafted on the silicon lottery and your card craps out on normal volts just as quickly.

    All I'd say is, over volt at your own risk.
    EarthDog says thanks.
  12. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,153 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    626
    LN2 and 1.4v go BOOM? Wow. No way in hell would I run 1.35v and ambient temps in that case!
    radrok says thanks.
  13. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,214 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,443
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Yeah the talk was that the VRM's weren't being cooled other than by the passive cooling from the board itself being bloody freezing.

    I wouldn't over volt without a water block actively cooling the VRM's and there is a review showing the EK blocks cool the VRM's the most - by a long shot.
  14. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,153 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    626
    Usually that is enough (passive cooling from cold creep)! Even more nails in the coffin if you ask me. If you want to go balls out on overclocking, grab a 780 Classi, HOF, or Lightning when they fix the bios. ;)
  15. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,214 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,443
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Gotta wait to see the elephant in the room first. Something AMD failed to show last night... :ohwell:
  16. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,153 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    626
    Well, balls out on the Nvidia side, yes... LOL!
  17. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,981 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    800
    Location:
    Italy

    I know but I honestly couldn't find a reference titan or 780 that blew under a waterblock.

    I hoped you found some that's why I asked, anyway I still think these vrms suck :toast:
  18. purecain

    purecain

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    609 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    158
    great thread...:toast:
  19. jormapaappa1235 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    My 680 Jetstream 2gb seems to be using the NCP4206, but still I'm not able to adjust voltages. MSIAfterburner /ri4,20,99 reports "invalid" and profile file editing doesn't effect on anything. The gpu voltage is 1,175v or 1,21v (mod bios) whatever I do. :(

    Any ideas?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page