1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

6950 and 570 in one computer

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by n3rdf1ght3r, Jan 10, 2013.

  1. n3rdf1ght3r

    n3rdf1ght3r

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    358 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    266
    Location:
    The city with the druggie Mayor
    I had an extra 6950 laying around in my closest so I decided to stick it in my rig that had a 570 in it (It was the only one that had the connectors and power to fit it in). Would I be able to use both when i'm running games or would they both do their own thing and not make it any faster? Both monitors are plugged into the 570. The 570 takes up the pci-e 16x and the 6950 in the pci-e 8x.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,795 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,178
    One card (the 570 since it's hooked up to the display) will work. The other will sit there and do nothing. You could use the 6950 as your display and the 570 for PhysX. Or, you could do F@H or Bionic for one of the unused GPU's.
     
    n3rdf1ght3r and Maban say thanks.
  3. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    if you have games with physx it MIGHT be more efficient to run the 6950 as your main card with the 570 for physx though it would still be a huge waste. You wont get anything just having them in the same rig though unless you dedicate the 570 for physx.
     
  4. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,881 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,560
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    I would dedicate the 6950 to WCG (excluding the 570) and just have it run 24/7 and be useful.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  5. n3rdf1ght3r

    n3rdf1ght3r

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    358 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    266
    Location:
    The city with the druggie Mayor
    Alright, thanks guys. Looks like ill be crunching with it then
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,677 (9.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,153
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    6950 is good for 4 WU's at a time :)
     
    n3rdf1ght3r says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. n3rdf1ght3r

    n3rdf1ght3r

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    358 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    266
    Location:
    The city with the druggie Mayor
    Ya I know, tried doing that at one point before the rig it was in died on me. couldn't get it to work though :/
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,677 (9.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,153
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Test this

    Code:
    <app_info> 
     <app> 
     <name>hcc1</name> 
    <user_friendly_name>Help Conquer Cancer</user_friendly_name> 
     </app> 
     <file_info> 
     <name>wcg_hcc1_img_7.05_windows_intelx86__ati_hcc1</name> 
     <executable/> 
     </file_info> 
     <file_info> 
     <name>hcckernel.cl.7.05</name> 
     <executable/> 
     </file_info> 
     <app_version> 
     <app_name>hcc1</app_name> 
     <version_num>705</version_num> 
     <platform>windows_intelx86</platform> 
    <plan_class>ati_hcc1</plan_class> 
     <avg_ncpus>1.0</avg_ncpus> 
     <max_ncpus>1.0</max_ncpus> 
     <coproc> 
     <type>ATI</type> 
     <count>.33</count> 
     </coproc> 
     <file_ref> 
     <file_name>wcg_hcc1_img_7.05_windows_intelx86__ati_hcc1</file_name> 
     <main_program/> 
     </file_ref> 
     <file_ref> 
     <file_name>hcckernel.cl.7.05</file_name> 
     <open_name>hcckernel.cl</open_name> 
     </file_ref> 
     </app_version> 
    </app_info>
     
    n3rdf1ght3r says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,881 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,560
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    There's a different and easier method for 7.0.42 using an app_config.xml file documented in the thread. The app_info method is obsolete.
     
    n3rdf1ght3r says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  10. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,677 (9.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,153
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Hmmm mine still works?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. lauradogin New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    yeah.Ya I know, tried doing that at one point before the rig it was in died on me. couldn't get it to work though[​IMG]
     
  12. n3rdf1ght3r

    n3rdf1ght3r

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    358 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    266
    Location:
    The city with the druggie Mayor
    I ran the new updated one that does it automatically for you buy BOINC still only runs one WU per GPU
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page