1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

6950 crossfire blue screens in L4D 2?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by cataschok, Jan 1, 2011.

  1. cataschok New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So I got a new pair of HIS 6950s, flashed bios to 6970s. + 20% voltage, running 880 MHZ core & 1375 memory.

    And my L4D 2 crashes every time after 15-40 mins of playing. The crash either results in blue screen or the game freezes and the colors turn into 16 bit ( pink colored screen ). It only happens with L4D 2 though. UT3, WoW, Crysis Warhead runs fine. Original L4D runs fine also!
    Don't have any Dx11 games to test with yet, but...

    I ran Unigen Heaven benchmark 3 times and no errors what so ever.

    Mode I ran in
    Dx 11
    Stereo 3D : Disabled:
    Shaders : High
    Tesselation : Extreme
    Anistrophy : 16x
    AA : 4x
    Res : 1920 x 1080
    Score : 1274

    GPU load for both cards while playing Crysis, L4D2 & Unigen are all at 98%. So it shouldn't be that my cards sucking too much power for my 750W psu.

    Anyone has any idea what's causing this blue screen? Maybe it's pre-mature drivers?
     
  2. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    Did you flash one card at the time?
    Like having only one install in the mobo flash it & than take it out & put the other one in & flash the second one... idk if that would do any difference but that is what i would do if i were to flash 2 gfx cards

    If not then maybe more voltage?
    What about your PSU what brand is it?
    750w may not be enough for your cards?
     
  3. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,543 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    939
    Try dropping the mem to 1300 on both. If that doesn't work also try dropping the core to 840.
     
  4. cataschok New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    The cards were flashed 1 at a time.
    I've tried playing the game using stock speeds, but not stock bios.

    Don't really think it could be my PSU. L4D 2 couldn't possibly pull more power than unigen benchmark or Crysis.
    Am considering going 1000W in the near future still.

    I'm hoping it's just driver issues since the last available catalyst drivers was released two days b4 the 69xx hit the market. What I'm afraid of is stability issues with these flashed bios.

    Will purchase Metro 2033 and Lost Planet 2 soon and test out those games.
     
  5. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    Still i would like to know the brand of your PSU & please do filled up your System Specs this way we may better help you out ;)

    Welcome! to TPU btw
     
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2011
  6. cataschok New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Specs
    Core i7 920 @ 4.2 1.3v
    OCZ xms 6g 9-9-9-28
    EVGA x58 SLI
    WD Caviar black 500g
    WD Caviar black 640g Raid 0
    Corsair 750
     
  7. Salsoolo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    222 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    surprised how its running good :)
    your rig takes over 700w, would be around 650w if 6950s on stock bios but since you flashed them they're considered 6970s.
     
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2011
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,221 (11.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,524
    his system wont use any more than 600W in synthetic load, which the corsair 750's can handle just fine.


    crossfire doesnt use as much power as you seem to think it does. i ran two 4870's off a 600W OCZ for a few months with no issues, and they're alot less power efficient than the new video cards.
     
  9. Salsoolo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    222 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    with cpu @ 4.2 ?
     
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,221 (11.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,524
    it was a dual core, but actually yes it was.


    his PC is going to need high amounts of wattage yes - but he's got one of the best PSU's to do that with. the corsair 750TX and HX can handle about 900W sustained, so he's well in the clear (they just get LOUD at those levels)
     
  11. cataschok New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    found the problem guys. felt pretty dumb
    after i set up crossfire i also turned on hyper threading, without upping the vcore! it was the cpu not getting enough power. i changed that and its working fine now. thanks all for trying to help!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page