1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

6950 Crossfire issue

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by metilic, Oct 18, 2011.

  1. metilic New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    37 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Bucharest, Romania
    I recently got a second 6950 2 gb added to my system and started testing games. They scale very good in games like Starcraft 2, Warhammer Space Marine, Crysis 2, Metro 2033 or AVP. The problem is with Bad Company 2, where my frame rate goes from 40 to 80 to 110 and then back and so on. Another thing that i experience is some mouse lag in the game if V-Sync is ON. With V-Sync OFF this does not happen at all. Hope you guys can help me with this frame rate and lag issue.

    P.S. I had the same issues in BC2 with both 11.10 (preview 1 and 2) and 11.9 which I'm currently using. I disabled ULPS and I game at 1680x1050.
  2. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,395 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,469
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Most likely that's an artifact of the CPU you are using. Multicard configs really benefit from high memory bandwidth, that the P55 platform just isn't capable of.
  3. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,246 (10.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,882
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Dave is right, I5 dual core may not be up to par with the two massive cards. You may need to look into a i7 870 used to help out those cards
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. metilic New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    37 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Bucharest, Romania
    Well it's quad not a dual core :) And it's overclocked at 4,0 Ghz from 2,66. And everything is perfectly fine in several games, scaling there is great. Just in this game it sucks bad :( Any more ideas?
  5. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,395 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,469
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    BC2 is notorious for high CPU load. if everything else works fine, and synthetic benchmarks do nto show an issue, then CPU it is, unfortunately. It's not that your CPU is bad, jsut bad for that specific app running multicard.

    I went through the P55 platform with BC2 myself, first with i5 760 @ 4GHz, then i7 870. In January I swapped over to SandyBridge, and haven't looked back.
    brandonwh64 says thanks.
  6. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,246 (10.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,882
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Dave is right on these. he has test almost every platform and setup for a while now. I used a Xeon X3430 (I5 750 server version) and it was good for BC2 with one 4870 but with two it acted very funny and had unplayable issues
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. metilic New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    37 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Bucharest, Romania
    Final question: would changing the monitor with another one with a 1920x1080 resolution take the weight off the CPU a little bit and help with the scaling? I read that increasing the resolution moves the importance towards the GPU(s).
  8. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,395 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,469
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Possibly...not entirely sure. I could run some tests, I suppose. Give me a few days to finish the review I'm working on, and I'll post up some numbers.
    metilic says thanks.
  9. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,246 (10.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,882
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Maybe think about a Z68/2500K?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. metilic New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    37 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Bucharest, Romania
    Cadaveca you're the man :D I'm looking forward to your feedback, thanks dude :)
    @Brandonwh64 It's a little over my budget right now, maybe in 4-5 months if i get a good price for my cpu and mobo.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page