1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

6950 shader unlock problem

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by jameskelsey, Apr 6, 2011.

  1. jameskelsey

    jameskelsey New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    69 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oakland,Mi. USA
    Well I used RBE to mod my BIOS and unlock the shaders. Flashed with ATIWinflash and all seemed fine,opened GPU-Z and it showed 1536 shader count. But as soon as I try to play a game it locks up flashes to black screen then back to the game that's locked up. Is there anything to do? Reflash,remod BIOS or did I just get unlucky? Seems like most everybody has had no problems with just unlocking the shaders.
     
  2. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6,304 (4.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,526
    Try using the script to modify the bios instead of rbe. It worked or both of my cards. I don't have the link offhand for the mod sorry
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. jameskelsey

    jameskelsey New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    69 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oakland,Mi. USA
    Well that was interesting,switched to BIOS 2 and still had game lockup.Had to uninstall and clean out drivers in BIOS 2 then I switched back to BIOS 1 and flashed back to stock BIOS and reinstall video drivers. Everything working good again on stock BIOS.
     
  4. jamesrt2004 New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    193 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Flash bios, uninstall then reinstall drivers.

    Most te time you should reinstall after unlock due to the card being utilised differently :).
     
    jameskelsey says thanks.
  5. jameskelsey

    jameskelsey New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    69 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oakland,Mi. USA
    Ok,flashed mod BIOS again rebooted,uninstalled drivers rebooted and reinstalled drivers rebooted. GPU-Z shows 1536 shaders and was able to play Crysis 2 and Farcry 2,looking good so far.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page