1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

6950 TriFire? Eyefinity?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by cadaveca, Apr 21, 2012.

  1. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,058 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,223
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    [​IMG]

    More to come.


    :laugh:
     
  2. Spaceman Spiff

    Spaceman Spiff

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    635 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    130
    Oooh. Pretty

    What are your temps like with all three cards under load? Especially the sandwich card?
     
  3. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,162 (3.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,805
    Location:
    04578
    bring it on dave Eyefinity benchs FTW,
     
  4. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    This has my interest, would be great if trifire 6950's perform significantly over Crossfire because then its an easy upgrade for me :rockout:
     
  5. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,058 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,223
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Board options:

    [​IMG]
     
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
  6. Spaceman Spiff

    Spaceman Spiff

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    635 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    130
  7. adulaamin

    adulaamin

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    703 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    265
    Location:
    Baguio City, Philippines
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,058 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,223
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Memory(100 GB total! :eek:)

    [​IMG]
     
    AlienIsGOD and Aquinus say thanks.
  9. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,186 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,668
    i see alot of gskill..
     
  10. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,058 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,223
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yessir. ;)
     
  11. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,199 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,982
    Location:
    Home
    Wimpy looking ram last row second from left, Samsung Greens?

    Looking forward to this :toast:
     
  12. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,058 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,223
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yeah, exactly.

    Right now, I'm doing a lot of this: :banghead::banghead::banghead:
     
  13. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,497 (6.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,197
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I do wish the 6870 had a second crossfire connector for trifire.
     
  14. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,058 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,223
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    lulz.

    Then you coudl have the issues I am having...third card doesn't clock over 500 MHz when i n3D...thought it might be cooling or something, but it isn't.

    :banghead:


    Might have to get a third reference card...or really really hope that XFX can RMA for a matching one...


    :banghead:
     
  15. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    This might sound redundant but have you disabled ULPS? I had the same problem on the second HD6990, it kept the clocks stuck at 500 Mhz on both GPUs with ULPS enabled, I used Trixxx
     
    cadaveca says thanks.
  16. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,058 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,223
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yeah, but I'll try again. Just re-installing OS.:laugh:
     
  17. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6,156 (4.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,033

    Nice showing off of your parts to us poor folk who don't have :shadedshu jk

    Looks awesome thus far, can't wait to see what happens when it's all running like a beast.

    Edit: this is probably nothing, but have you tried with a crossfire bridge from your 2nd to 3rd card instead of 1st to 3rd?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  18. Volkszorn88

    Volkszorn88

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,190 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    You could tri-fire a 6870. Get the dual gpu version, PowerColor 6870x2 and crossfire it with a single 6870, bang tri-fire.

    Of course this is completely not worth it
     
  19. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,058 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,223
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yeah, gotta to get Crossfire working with all three. Crossfire fire is working, just one card is holding back the other two. Even clocknig tools cannot get it @ 500 MHz, fresh OS, no difference. Other boards, no difference, although oen of those boards is much better than the others, all things said.
     
  20. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,497 (6.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,197
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    How about in regular crossfire and by itself? Does it only happen in 3-way?
     
  21. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,058 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,223
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yep, 2-way is fine, but the two reference cards together perform better than a mix of any other kind. Changing slots, motherboard, etc, all no luck, same card doesn't clock right.
     
  22. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,058 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,223
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Got trifire working. Still might need to RMA non-reference card, but after some registry hacking, got it clocking properly. Even if I don't get RMA, it's good to go now.


    FX-8150 @ stock, cards at stock:

    [​IMG]

    http://3dmark.com/3dm11/3253950

    Rig pic:

    [​IMG]


    On Intel X79 w/ 3960X, stock again:

    [​IMG]

    http://3dmark.com/3dm11/3254284


    Intel's point advantage is nearly 100% CPU, as 3D score is nearly the same. Interesting.

    Time to get overclocking, ;)
     

    Attached Files:

  23. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6,156 (4.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,033
    Glad it's working for you and looking good. It's a pretty uninspiring score on the 8150 but handsome on the 3960x.

    I see you used 2 gold bridges in stead of the black one you used in the first post; did that make any difference? What kind of temps are you seeing?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  24. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,058 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,223
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    The bridge did not make a difference. I'm actually using it now. Had to hack driver to set minimum clocks to whatever I want for the third card. Overclocking tools and Catalyst control center are not working for adjusting clocks on the non reference card, and this holds the other cards back, to the point that three cards are slower than 2.


    Temps are not something I've paid attention to yet...it's taken all weekend racking my brain to get it just working. When I first got all three cards, they were all overheating. Then somehow that fixed, but the non refernce card began it's issues, I guess. Perhaps heat had it's effect, I am not sure.

    At the same time, the fan noise isn't all that bad; my wife even commented to say SHE thought it was quieter too, so that's saying something. I'll be spending the rest of today palying games, and I'll have more info on temps. I still plan on figuring out which of all those boards pictured above is better for multi GPU...I ahve other boards, but those are the one that will support more than 2 cards...and I think a couple will support 4, even...still gotta get a fourth card though.
     
  25. KenW New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    19 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    There shouldn't be a problem to adjust clocks for the third card, reference or not. Something is going on. Could be throttling by overheating or power issue.

    Unistall Catalyst and OC software then reinstall might help to eliminate drvers related. Has to disable ULPS every drivers installation too.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page