1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

6970 Runs but no display?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by -1nf1n1ty-, Feb 3, 2014.

  1. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,101 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Winter Park
    Hello,

    Friend gave me his 6970....for free...sounds awesome right? Well yeah except it will run but wont load up my boot options or windows logo or anything. I am thinking that this card died from static or something but I don't wanna jump to conclusions. He still has a warranty, but every time I ask he doesn't wanna do it for me lol. So I was hoping you guys can help me out here and give me advice on what to do.

    thanks in advance!


    EDIT: It is currently in my PC running just no display just waiting till I get a response, I am coming from a 5870 that works in the PC just fine so I dont think its the CPU or Mobo, ETC
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2014
  2. theo2021

    theo2021

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Messages:
    47 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    -1nf1n1ty- says thanks.
  3. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,101 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Winter Park
    Meh, the first link told me a couple of things but it wasn't a "YES this will work" they recommended putting the card in the oven? Kind of scares me but if the card is dead...its dead so it shouldnt matter.
  4. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,901 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    459
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    Does GPU-Z see the card when installed in a slot?
  5. theo2021

    theo2021

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Messages:
    47 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Never heard that before this might work if the temps are too high maybe the copper or whatever liquefy and maybe reconnect if possible but it seems impossible and more likely a capacitor or a diode to be broken
  6. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,101 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Winter Park
    Can't even get it to the desktop so I wouldnt know, but It has worked before on other computers on 2-3 different computers before mine.
    if thats the case, is that something that is fixable and would overall get the card working again? I also wouldnt know how to do that! LOL
  7. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,901 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    459
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    So you don't have integrated or another PCI-E slot to boot to?
    or another pc to test on?
  8. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,101 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Winter Park
    I do, but Ive tried that before, I tried it in the other slot. as for intergrated, I dont have one I am running

    Asus p6T
    i7 920
    5870
    650W corsair PSU
    16gb Patriot 1600
    500gb seagate barracuda
    120gb corsair ssd
    I tried removing ALL drivers that could mess with it, 650w PSU is indeed enough for it I HAVE CHECKED! :(. I just can't figure out the problem, when my friend was messing with it, it showed up in his bios (he has intergrated mobo) but he couldnt get it to display anything.

    oh hey now my ethernet port isnt working lol (Im on my laptop!)
  9. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,901 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    459
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    and you have shut down flipped the switch and restarted?
  10. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,101 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Winter Park
    YUP! multiple times and it was only then I turned it off on the first try that I found out...oh hey my ethernet port doesnt work now lol


    Well don't worry about it for now guys my mobo has offically crapped out 2 ram ports stopped working, ethernet port doesnt work, so I think it's time to upgrade. so if no one minds I would like to turn this thread into a 'combo thread' meaning looking for just a mobo and cpu, I hear AMD is doing awesomely again.
    jmcslob says thanks.
  11. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,877 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,127
    Have you put your 5870 in a slot 1to boot with and your 6970 in slow 2, then checked to see if it appears in Windows or gpuz? If you do that and nothing shows up, then it's probably a dead card, which can be the case even if the fan spins. RMA time; tell your buddy to initiate the RMA and you'll take care of the shipping ;
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,101 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Winter Park
    I am hoping to just RMA the card to not have to worry about the problems, sounds lazy I know but I dont wanna have to try what you just asked (dont mean this in a rude way cause I am tempted to try this) just cause my 650w wont handle it
  13. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,877 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,127
    I would think your 650 would be fine just to boot up and quickly check as you won't need to put any real load on, but I understand, no worries.
    RMA it :toast:
    -1nf1n1ty- says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,101 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Winter Park
    Thanks guys for all the help I really appreciate it. This PC has been through a LOT sad to see it go (meh just the mobo anyway)
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2014
  15. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,901 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    459
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    methinks you were just giving yourself another reason to upgrade....is cool
  16. typicalintrovert

    typicalintrovert

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    77 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Flagstaff,Arizona
    a guy i knew had problems with his 6970s on his bloodrage. nothing would display. it turned out to be the motherboard that hated the gpu make. he replaced with two 580s and it worked totally fine. the P6T might not like your 6970 maybe?
  17. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,901 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    459
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    -1nf1n1ty- says thanks.
  18. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,101 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Winter Park
    We will find out Friday hopefully! when i grab the new setup.If not do you think the 5870 is still a good card? I can live with it I just felt like maybe I should upgrade, especially if I'm getting a i7 4770k. Hm.


    Thanks for the link, I actually found better deals on the i7 4770k and I found a great gigabyte mobo, so here's hoping that things go smoothly.
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2014
    jmcslob says thanks.
  19. typicalintrovert

    typicalintrovert

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    77 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Flagstaff,Arizona
    +1 for Gigabyte motherboard. my Z77X-UP5-TH has been nothing but amazing
    -1nf1n1ty- says thanks.
  20. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,101 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Winter Park
    YUP I am actually grabbing the Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD4H. I have NEVER had any problems with gigabyte so I hope it stays that way. If nothing else though, I will try to hopefully trade the 5870 on this forum and then pay the rest for something pretty decent 7 series from ati


    meant amd lol
  21. Digitalarts

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    8 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    He cant see windows logo or boot options how can he see GPU-Z Albert?
  22. typicalintrovert

    typicalintrovert

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    77 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Flagstaff,Arizona
    me neither. First one i had was a EP45-UD3P Rev 1.6, and that was a beautiful performer. C2D E7200 M0=4.2GHz, C2Q Q9550 E0=4.4GHz stable, then a P67A-UD4 which was also very excellent, had my 2600K at 5ghz stable. then this UP5. gigabytes awesome man. just awesome. also all 7 series radeons are mad overpriced due to bitcoiners. better idea to get a nvidia card. very cheap and very fast. 770 classy is 440!
    -1nf1n1ty- says thanks.
  23. Digitalarts

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    8 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Thats not solid reason to buy a motherboard. What exactly your budget is for motherboard? I have i7 4770k with msi z87mpower. Use it for chess analysis havnt overclocked it yet but I sense you wouldnt go ASUS because of previous experience with p6 despite you know it wasnt motherboard fault. What about that card now?
  24. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,101 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Winter Park
    Well I didn't want to, I thought about what I wanted to do and I wanted to keep the i7 920 but, I thought maybe it was time for an upgrade? I wanted a graphics card instead but I have been having troubles with my mobo for some time, ram slots stopped working (still don't), and NOW the ethernet cables don't work and honestly I am getting tired of having weird problems. I also thought if I was going to get a motherbroard might as well just get a new processor.

    My one reason to buy a new motherboard is that the P6T just kept dying in random areas, and I have made threads about it and I just was never able to fix any of it overall. I guess it sounds stupid but I've heard worse for upgrading. The card just displays absolutely nothing and I have tried resetting bios. I wanted to try putting new paste on the card. Don't know what else I can try other than RMA, which I found out was up last night when i asked my friend about it 30 minutes too late to send an RMA....sigh
    jmcslob says thanks.
  25. Digitalarts

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    8 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    If you want to keep your current i7 then your budget will get a relief for your graphic card upgrade. You do look frustrated with that board and you should be but what about your system usage I mean gaming or what? Dont underestimate your cpu. Not to mention price difference between z87 and x58 boards. Gaming is a complicated subject and performance boost is going to come from both cpu and gpu. Also tell about your display if you want to play games and one or two games too. Your favourite ones. Please scratch hard even if your'e impatient and quickly want to get a new fine runnig system because you know its gonna be matter of years of use.
    -1nf1n1ty- says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page