1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

6990 Safe temp's?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by fullinfusion, Jul 25, 2011.

  1. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,289 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,093
    What's the max "TEMPERATURE" one would except out of a Gigabyte 6990 gpu on air?

    I've recorded 199.4F (93c) lol and didn't see a single artifact running mark11 and Vantage.
    *fan was on auto*

    But is this ok?
    This gpu has a Vapor chamber cooler on it from the factory if that makes a difference :eek:
     
  2. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Is this OC'ed temps?

    A friend of mine has just recently replaced his 5970 with a ASUS 6990 with the reference fan.

    I could get his to run some tests.

    I wouldn't be surprised if the card can cope without a hiccup at 93degC.
    My card was the same at 110degC but we have two very different cards.
     
  3. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,289 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,093
    Yes overclocked to...
    gpu volts were set in MSI Afterburner to 1.210v and the tiny switch on the side of the gpu is in the #1 position.
    [​IMG]
     
  4. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    He won't OC his system even though it is very capable and he has already removed the tab over the switch which voids his cards warranty.

    He has said his room does get pretty hot even while playing Wow since installing this card and it's winter here.

    System Specs:-
    Intel i7 860
    8GB Corsair RAM 1333Mhz
    Some mid range ASUS motherboard
    ASUS 6990 reference model.
    Antec 900 Case

    I could get him to do a run in vantage at stock clocks though.
     
  5. LordJummy

    LordJummy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,406 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    248
    Location:
    US of A
    I wouldn't run the 6990 with auto fan. It won't ramp up properly. However, these amd cards can go up to 100c without any issues.

    Set a manual fan profile to run at a higher default speed and make it ramp up proportionally.
     
  6. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,289 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,093
    On auto fan setting it does ramp up.

    @65% it don't need to speed up as the temps are low as it is. I just like to know what I can run it 24/7
     
  7. LordJummy

    LordJummy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,406 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    248
    Location:
    US of A
    I know it ramps up, but not properly. By properly I meant "appropriately". The 6990's just get hot. I would suggest asking AMD or checking their specs for the safe operating temps. These chips were designed to run very hot.
     
  8. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    I swear they have done this in the past with other cards too.
    I'm pretty certain my HD4850 would only get up to 44% fan speed max even though RBE said it should be at 100% at 100degC.

    And I found it odd that my AC Twin Turbo would only make one fan piddle along on the stock fan settings at 80degC when the stock fan setting said it should be running at a higher percentage.

    Making my own much more aggressive fan profile and flashing the BIOS fixed that.
     
  9. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,289 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,093
    Well for some reason this 6990 ramps up well... I had a 4890 that worked as well and never had a temp problem. The thing is this 6990 is loud over 40% fan speed.

    Any site I visit claims there's no 6990's in stock as well as water blocks for cooling.

    I may need to custom a tec unit to her cooling needs.
     
  10. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    What sort of temperatures are you getting and stock clocks?
     
  11. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,289 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,093
    Really? Im not sure lol!

    I never run stock lol...
    What clocks you thinking?

    @ 880mhz / 1400mem Im @ 43c idle

    @TM Im @ 1.220v 990 core and 1490mem Mhz and hovering around 50c idle
     
  12. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,672 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,026
    contact tech support, they should be able to say the safe temps correctly. i contacted xfx for example. for my safe temps. they said my 4650 was good till 100C :eek:
     
  13. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,497 (3.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,598
    Are you using stock volts for that overclock?

    Sorry just realized you state 1.22v. You are going to need a better cooling solution in my opinion (I know you already stated that you couldn't find any WB's).
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,579 (6.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,108
    The temperatures are unsafe when the drivers crash and reset themselves to keep your card from melting. Other than that its just degrees of warm;)
     
  15. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,925 (4.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,686
    Location:
    US
    GPU should be just fine at 93c but that don't mean the card will keep coping with it as there is other things on the card that can be effected. Ram chips should be fine as long as they have heatsinks on them.

    Whats the VRM temps like ?, as they are normally higher.The latest GPU-Z might tell you what those are.
     
  16. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,696 (13.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,101
    Get a water block for it. There's plenty for sale at many places.
     
  17. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Was thinking if you ever ran vantage on the crd at stock i would be able to get you an accurate comparable temp reading from my mate with the ASUS model.

    Don't the reference HD6990s all come out with a vapor chamber heatsink?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page