1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

6990 vs 590 help

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by fullinfusion, Mar 1, 2013.

  1. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,465 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,205
    I have an offer from a local guy wanting to trade his EVGA Gtx 590 for my ati 6990.

    Any thoughts on this trade? Is it worth it or should I keep the 6990?

    Im asking because I know not much about Nvidia....
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,954 (12.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,382
    Tough call I guess.. Only do it if you want something new to mess around with. I can't think of any other reason.
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  3. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,691 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    664
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  4. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,465 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,205
    Yeah I want something new to play around with. But also to see if I can get a few more points benching and have better gaming sense nvidia has physx... I'm just also curious about drivers... Nvidia have good 590 drivers?
     
  5. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,031 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,423
    for Dual GPUs - Nvidia will always have better drivers. I am in no way saying that Nvidia drivers are problem free - but Issues with AMD crossfire have made many enthusiasts (Myself included) with crossfire setups to jump ship and join the green team. I find that games just run a lot smoother with an Nvidia card even though benchmarks and reviews say that that a 7970Ghz edition is faster and costs quite a bit less.

    so go figure.
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,954 (12.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,382
    Get a Titan... And something nice for the wife. :laugh:
     
  7. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,465 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,205
    Got a grand big spender you can lend me and I'll pay ya back over the next 5yrs :D

    I guess im going to trade... going to meet up with the guy in an hour...

    Any links to what driver I need? I looked but not sure what im looking for on the Nvidia site :eek:
     
  8. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,031 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,423
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  9. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,292 (7.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,777
    I wouldn't do it because its a used GPU IMO.
     
  10. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,465 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,205
    No he assured me it's a new card... He just recieved it on Monday.. I'll post back what I find out when I meet up.
     
  11. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,292 (7.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,777
    Sounds fishy IMO man. If it IS a new card I would do it.
     
  12. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,931 (3.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,528
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Is this someone you're friends with? If not, then I don't think you should do it.

    I've just got a GTX 590 and it's a fantastic card with really good performance. However, it's not that hard to kill/damage them with overclocking - just check out TPU's review of W1zzy blowing up his one. ;) So, if you don't know this guy, he could well be swapping you a dud and that would suck balls, I think you'll agree. Also, I'm curious where he got it from, because both cards have been discontinued for about a year. Mine was from some old stock that Scan Computers bought up and was brand new (with the usual Scan battered box special).

    If you know the card is good, then it's swings and roundabouts as to which is better. Performance is roughly the same (6990 has the edge I think) but the 590 has 3D Vision and PhysX which might interest you (it does me). Also, I've found the nvidia drivers to be very solid and stable over time, but everyone's experiences are different. I've certainly not seen any weirdness with SLI.
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  13. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,031 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,423
    why would he be selling it so quickly? Something doesn't sound so quite right to me.

    If you knew the guy - e.g. if he was your friend or work colleague then fine go ahead and trade, but you dont know this person. Once your cards have switched hands theres no turning back. He says the card is new but god knows if its what he says it is.
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  14. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,292 (7.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,777
    Yeah I agree with Qubit and that should tell you everything.
     
    qubit says thanks.
  15. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,465 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,205
    It's brand new straight from Evga. Seen the invoice and serial numbers check out along with the delivery from the courier company. There isn't a spec of dust on it and the brushed aluminum back plate hasn't been touched. Besides I was at his home and know where he lives and have a number... it's all cool.

    I wasnt born last night and really I'd trust locals where I live over anybody online... I live in a good smaller comunity and things are pretty good here.

    He wasnt in a panic to sell it. He has an older amd chipset and really doesn't support this card.

    Thanks for the concern guys I really appreciate it :toast: but its all good.

    Been playing around but where the hell do you over clock this card?

    It sure isn't simple like amd's driver :D
     
    qubit says thanks.
  16. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,031 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,423
    the correct term is "I wasn't born yesterday"

    Its alright if you live in a small community, but I really never trust anyone, out of all my friends theres probably only one that I can say I really trust but that could also be a total lie :roll::roll:

    Use MSI Afterburner - There should be some guides online that will tell you how to overclock that thing.

    If its from EVGA you could also use EVGA Precision X to overclock it, though I have heard some negative comments being said about Precision X.


    Also if you are going to be overclocking, make sure to keep an eye on your temperatures. 590s run hot
     
  17. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,931 (3.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,528
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    :twitch: <qubit falls over>
     
  18. manofthem

    manofthem WCG-TPU Team All-Star!

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6,514 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,148
    I hope it's working out well FF, even though you've left the red team :laugh:

    I'd say just be careful not to blow it up, like what Qubit was saying :banghead:


    There's also an american saying, "I was born at night but not last night," which is what I think he was getting at.
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  19. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,031 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,423
    .
    what have you done with the real mailman??

    return him at once you imposter!
     
    qubit says thanks.
  20. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,031 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,423
    Also fullinfusion is from Canada So i guess he would be saying "je n'étais pas né d'hier" or "je ne suis pas né de la dernière "
     
  21. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,465 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,205
    Will do and thanks

    Thank you at least you understood me :rockout:

    Oh be nice! Besides I live in Canada.... Canada goes from West to east.. eg. British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba and Ontario... After that The frogs take over and only speak french until tourist season begins, but then again why would ya go to a province that wants to separate from Canada? IMO they sould Fucking leave ;)

    And I speak proper English, not that British english slag lol JK :rockout:
     
  22. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,465 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,205
    Can someone give me some help on setting up the Video settings for video/movies playback?

    Sorry for being such a pain in the ass but im a creature of no change and with change I need a guide till I get the hang of things.

    The videos I watch seemed smoother then the Nvidia drivers. AMD had better settings imo but Im not familiar with this change. Any help or pointers would be great.
     
  23. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,031 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,423
    what sort of settings are you on about?? Also i just use MPCHC for most of my videos.

    you dont really need to touch anything. The player itself should detect if you are running an AMD or Nvidia card and select the correct HD decoder.

    at least this is how it was for me and i just switched from 6970 in crossfire to a GTX680 about a week ago.

    The only real settings I had to re-adjust was for CoreAvc
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  24. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,465 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,205
    I ran the newest 3Dmark 2013 and im scoring low. I see this card downclocks when at idle.

    ... At same cpu clocks and leaving both cards @ stock clocks my score was real low on the 590 :confused: Driver issue?
     
  25. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,465 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,205
    Left is 590 stock and the right is the 6990 stock

    [​IMG]

    Any ideas?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page