1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

7-Zip CRC Error

Discussion in 'General Software' started by saknid, Dec 21, 2012.

  1. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,953 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,920
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    The uncorrectable sector count is the bigger concern (plus the most likely growing pending relocation count.) Your data may be intact, but then again it may not.

    If you're copying the archive from your drive to another and it doesn't give you a CRC error, the data is corrupted.

    This, backup your drive to the best of your ability first though.
  2. saknid

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    136 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    New Delhi, India
    @Aquinus Every Time when I try to copy or cut it shows the CRC error "means the data is fine is'nt...?"
  3. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,953 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,920
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    For any file? If it is for any file you're drive is already almost dead. I think you've run out of options. I'm sorry. :(
  4. saknid

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    136 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    New Delhi, India
    Then count me dead man...I will try the option of putting it cold lets see what i will get....
  5. saknid

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    136 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    New Delhi, India
    @Aquinus No Not for any file but the file I am telling (the 7zip) other files are going good (even some of them do show the crc for moving) but not all...

    What you say that day I did'nt get ur cmnt..Now tell if it is possible now to make that work..

    because only that file is throwing CRC Error while moving...Tell me now:confused:
  6. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,953 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,920
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Saknid: Sorry. The file is corrupted. There is no way to correct the data unless you had a good copy of the archive, then you wouldn't have this problem anyways. There isn't anything you can do.
    saknid says thanks.
  7. saknid

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    136 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    New Delhi, India
    Hmm I think you are right I did all and did'nt get it working any how....even some how I made it extract the half of the original file So I can say That I lost 40% Data only....

    Even I need all of them but I will work again for the whole....

    BTW Thank you for all the help and options specially telling me about the SMART Log, Now at least I will resolve all other problems coming with some files.

    Thank you all.

    :ohwell::respect:
  8. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,114 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,125
    Zero assumption recovery
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  9. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,953 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,920
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    It's called spam. Don't give people false hope. He also has a 7z file, not a zip file. :shadedshu
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 31, 2013

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page