1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

75$ Quad Core?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by DreamSeller, Jun 14, 2009.

  1. DreamSeller Guest

  2. Studabaker

    Studabaker New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,116 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    Somewhere in the underground
    Coz it is sloh. I could see people buying these up for their little server farms or whatever. Maybe it sells but no one has left a review.
  3. DreamSeller Guest

    hmm why slow its quad core has 2mb l2 Cache and 2MB L3 Cache and 75W TDP 2.2ghz i think you can get it to 2.4-6 with ease... strange...
  4. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
  5. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    maybe because most people dont look into processor servers as most of the cpu under that category are expensive.

    Example: This is basically an e8400 but as is a xeon, it requires less vcore and thus, oc higher but much less people buy it cause much less people look into servers cpus
  6. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,070 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Other thing is not all boards support it (it might boot and work ok tho).
  7. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,881 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    Never noticed it. Yet another thing I want yet am too cheap to fork out for.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. enaher

    enaher New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    417 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    it's nice for a quad anyone know if it's affected by TLB? might be nice to run my VitualApps Box.
  9. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,881 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    ooh... yeah it probably is, judging by the low clock speed and the fact that it's 65nm.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Doesn't that errata only affect those who run like 4 vmware's or something like that. I don't know the specifics.
  11. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    Well most of us here want it to perform well in games also.. so a 3.0~3.4ghz ocability would make this more popular...

    But as someone said, server chips are just less popular... some people don't even know they exist or for example, someone might not know they are the same ex: not knowing a Xeon W3520 is an i7 920
  12. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Looks like a good crunching cpu to me. I think people just get scared of the "unsupported" thing, which is a joke. The Opty 165 that I ran in my 939 DFI LP board was one of the best chips ever for the platform. I say buy it. You get a good chip at a great price due to peoples ignorance.
  13. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I was actually gonna get one and a 780G at the end of the month to upgrade my server. I have it crunching, it's only got a semperon and a GeForce 6100 chipset tho.
  14. enaher

    enaher New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    417 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    just read about AMD Opteron 1354 Budapest, it's a B3 son no TLB, it's a Phenom 9550 with lower TDP should reach 2.6Ghz easily and 2.8 with tweaking, nice,

    I wouldn't OC, id get it for a server or HTPC.
  15. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,207 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,736
    Location:
    S.Cali
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    and you get free ship with that ^^
  17. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    Bleh, it's the 9600BE, BUGS!

    Like someone said above, this CPU basicly a 9550 with lower TDP, I would rather buy this Opteron than to get that 9600BE.
  18. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,700 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,861
    It is a rebadged Phenom 9500 binned for a lower VID...

    Not exactly a performance monster, but for the price it would be good for a server or HTPC.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  19. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    How bad does that chip have to be at a QUAD CORE to sell for 80 buck's ? Man the tearm you get what you pay for is applied in this situation for sure !
  20. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,514 (13.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,918
    Read the post above yours. You apparently don't have a need for a cheap server, and yes your processor is better.:rolleyes:
  21. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,444 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,508
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    OMG, they have 62 of them @ that price.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Looks like AMD are taking this competing with prices seriously, even with server graded CPUs?

    Other AMD CPU which as gone under the radar are the new "Phenom II X3 705e" and "Phenom II X4 900e".

    The Phenom II X3 705e is like £90 here and its just been released, there is little in terms of reviews but I'm sure it overclocks like a beast.
  23. enaher

    enaher New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    417 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    id get these over a 9600BE for the lower TDP and the fact that it's a Opteron:D
  24. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Completely agree here, and it's cheaper.
  25. DreamSeller Guest

    i didnt even know they exist :wtf:


    BTW thanks everybody :toast:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page