1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

7800 heat paste/pad qustion same problem with ram some times

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by curt, Sep 10, 2007.

  1. curt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    584 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    ok im trying to think of a good materale for ram cooling

    ok so i use as5 most of the time works good enuf for cpu.z an video cores

    now my prob is the ram chips have a gap betwean the chip an the heat sink/spreader

    i get the same thingwith ram cooler i end up cutting them up so they sit flush but i can do that to me 7800

    so is as5 thick enuf to fill the gap or should i try to find some kinda heat pad

    i could allso cut small thin copper pices to fill the gaps but can be tricky
  2. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    is it the stock cooler? if it is,i would just try to get some heatpads or just replace the cooler with a zalman vf900-cu or summat.
  3. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,276 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    I wouldn't use as5 to fill any gaps mate, when it heats up it spreads so will probably dribble off the side of your sink. You will have to use either thermal tape/pads or make up some metal shims the correct thickness to stick under there...

    I woulld go with tiggers reccommendation though and just grab a Zalman 900.. they are cheap, include ramsinks and will cool heaps better than the stock cooler.
  4. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    plus when you buy a new card you can take the vf900 with ya,ive used mine on 3 cards upto now.
  5. curt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    584 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    hey

    the gaps ar not that big as5 might do it

    its the stock cooler but modded new fans an shaved down the mounts so it sits better max temp of 50c gamen on core wich is good for a 7800

    i duno where id get thermal tape/pads

    i do have some thin sheets of copper i could use an put some as5 on both sides just some time the copper gets bent cutting an dosent sit rite

    the gaps on the back cooler as5 will do for shur they tuch parshly as5 does thinken after a wile [an i allways do a burnin/ or a relaxing toast i do if new as5 is on i let the card/cpu get up to about 60c to inshure it melts into place]with the gaps u wouldent want to but u get the idea only need 60c for 30 secks or

    [dont rilly wana buy a gpu heat sink rite now] just paied 340for new ram ddr400ocz that can beat my buddys ddr2 666 system in ram marks lol

    im ok with 50c on the gpu at load just dont want that ddr3 ram hittin like 85 cus its not tuchen well

    so yeah if i can get thermal tape or ill try the copper shims [old lap top heat spreaders an such] i got laying around might find sumthin

    the stock stuff was weard like a thick white paste [on the cards ram] with some string like stuff in it to hold it together i guess [on the gpu they had the gray crusty stuff] [same with the lil agp transfer chip crusty stuff ]
  6. curt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    584 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    ok got it

    ok i used heat paste to fill the gap mind u the [gap is maby 2 pices of printer paper think so its small

    i used ocz ultra5 seamed a lil thicker the the as5

    so it has as5 on the [gpu] an on the [apg chip] all the ram chips have the ocz on then an doing great so far

    i duno if i fugged sumthing or what but my max gpu core [like what i can run it at] has gone up big time i just reading it nowmy max gpu core speed was 485mh from 400stock now my driver is ocing it like when u hit [detect optimal frequencies] it has went up to 650mh for my core wow an i did it 2 times just to be shure yeah 650mh no volt mods nota
  7. curt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    584 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    lmao

    ok the only reason it sead 650mh cus my card was so cold it dident evin kick into 3d mode wile it was trying to over clock so when it did kick at 650mh insta crash lmao was fun seing 650 thow lol

    its a 7800gs so temps saposed to be above 40c

    it was at 32c lol but i dident think it mattered for oc.ing

    ok starting oc at 42c

    i have the video fan on a light swich so i can turn it off if i need to warm up my card

    once its warm it hardly ever kickes back [to slow] once at high power its normaly enuf to keep the core around 45c
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2007
  8. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,376 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans

    why is it exactly you cant cut up the ramsinks?
  9. curt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    584 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    hey

    well im useing the stock cooler still cus with my fan its works dandy
    [i allso have to keep in mind the core has to be able to hit 40c farly easy cus of the 7800gs cold bug]under 40c its slower then a fx5200

    its just that ther spots on the heat sink for the ram dont quite tuch by under a mm

    so i was iffy about filling the gap with heat past [but i did any way i used ocz5 kus its pritty thick] an seames to have worked well an for the core i used as5

    i did some tests before an as5 works just a tuch better the the ocz5 they wer 2c off if that

    so ther is no problem now rilly the card actuly runs better then before

    after a 3dmark05 run

    max temps that wer hit ar

    cpu 27c max water cooled with no cap on cpu 2.4gh @ 3.1[probe next to core]

    video core max 50c [115c nvidia warning] 400mh@485mh

    video ram max 38.5c 1200mh@ 1.5gh ddr3 probe rite next to one of the chips with the gap problem
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2007
  10. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,376 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    well glad to hear you got it fixed.

    here is a fix for anytime you find yourself with uneven surfaces sharing the same heatsink.

    mark where the gaps or low spots are, in this case it with be the ram so mark the area around the ram chips so that this area is not touched during the next step.

    now making sure to keep the area not to be sanded off of the sanding surface take the heatsink and give it a good sanding job going in one direction only with some 240 grit sandpaper with the ram part of the heatsink over the edge of a mirror or piece of glass so it isnt being sanded (dont cut yourself). sand until its rough and then smooth it back out with normal lapping grits. as long as you use even pressure your surface will stay level as when you started but now when your done you have closed your gap on the ram just as though you added a shim and everything gets good contact again. repeat process as needed.
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2007
  11. curt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    584 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    hey

    nono the stock heat sink doseint evin tuch the ram [that was the main problem]

    it needs to come down a bit but if i do that ill fu** up the angel fot the gpu contact

    and sanding thows spots wodent help as they dont actuly tuch [its about a 2 pice of printer paper thinkness gap]under a mm

    i allready lapped/sanded the lil copper spot for the core using [wet/dry 600]
  12. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    what u need are thermal pads ...
  13. curt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    584 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    hey

    thats what i was thinkin of at first but how good do they actuly work i tryed one from a powersuply once on a duron an the duron cooked itself an the pad lol thows ar dry pads thow

    the wet pads do work but i duno how well

    rite now the ocz 5 filling the gaps is doing just peachy with slowly droping temps as it thickens

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page