1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

780i unofficial thread

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by shawnizzzle, Oct 28, 2008.

  1. shawnizzzle New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    64 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    my house
    I have had my Evga 780i since about march. I bought it at tiger direct and I just love it. I was almost going to upgrade to the 790i but I think ill wait till intel i7 comes out till I do.

    Ive ran sli on it with great results. I had 2 9800gtx in sli mode overclocked to 800/1998/1106 and my Q6600 overclocked to 4.02ghz and broke the 20,000 mark on 3dmark06. It did take a hell of a radiator to get the cpu that high and a D-tek fuzion v2 to cool it but the board made it there without braking a sweat at the fsb over 425.

    This is a picture of my SwordM which was a birthday gift from my fiance. This is one of the biggest and nicest cases I have ever worked with.
    IMG_0798.JPG Everybody is complaining about the gtx 260 and 280 barely fitting in there case well i got about 2 inches of clearance on mine before the hard drive tray. This case weighed 55lbs before i even put any of my stuff in it.

    I want to hear how people are enjoying there 780i and mabe answer some questions for you guys that have sum.

    Feel free to post some numbers on performance on what your getting with your setups.

    Currently my cpu is clocked at 3.6ghz cuz at 4.02 my lil chip takes 1.78volt to get there so I only put it there for benchen.

    I am currious on what you guys get for your gtlvref lanes for voltages. Ive read quite a bit on what it is for and what not just curious on what you guys need with them to get stable.
    Here are some pics of my system and liquid cooling

    IMG_0816.JPG IMG_0837.jpg IMG_0822.jpg IMG_0836.jpg

    Now another problem that people are reporting is the mcp temp. I for one do not have this problem even at 448fsb.

    One thing that alot of people dont realize it the fsb voltage. For a front side bus up to 450, you still only need about 1.3volts if you have your gtlvref lane voltage set right

    here is some info on what they are http://www.edgeofstability.com/articles/dfi_p35/gtl/gtl1.html

    And some more here http://www.edgeofstability.com/articles/dfi_p35/default_gtl.html[/UR

    It is surprizing when you get them set right and your super high fsb and your only running like 1.3volts for the northbridge.

    gtlvref lane voltage
    When i go to set my gtlvref I start out with 1.3v for the fsb voltage. Boot and run prime95 and when it shows errors ill move the lane volts up 10mv till there is now more errors in 10 minutes. Then ill write them down lets say its 20mv. Then ill move up 10mv each time and run prime again for 10minutes. Ill do that till it starts showing errors again.

    Write that mv down and lets say its 120mv. Now find the median for the to and that would be 60mv now i know that im right in the middle of my stability voltages for the gtlvref. Any time i mess with the fsb i do this thats why its so nice that they let you save settings in the bios and load them.

    Now for the spp and mcp-spp I always keep these values in the green and on the low side were i can. If i start to have problems with stability i start moving one up at a time till it is resolved.
     
  2. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    The most overclock I ever got was 3.9ghz on one core of my q6600 don't ask how I did it :eek: it just happened one day and that was on air, So I kinda want a water cooling kit to see where I can take it.
     
  3. shawnizzzle New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    64 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    my house
    3.9 is very good on a q6600 my vid is 1.3125 so i have a hot running chip to begin with and its very voltage hungry
    How do you like your asus board mine evga.
     
  4. ntdouglas

    ntdouglas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,026 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Chicago
    I love my 780i. 2 9600 gt's sli. Best run on 3dmark06 is 18767. I'm at 3.42g with 1.34 vcore 24/7. Haven't had to reset cmos once. I will buy evga again definately. Runs 8g of ram fine. To me, nvidia rocks.:rockout:
     
  5. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    It's an ok board but when I want to get 3.9 again I need a higher votlage :( Also the heatsink for the chipset covers half the board and if I want to water cool it I need to find a way to cool the bits it covers if you get what I mean. How's the EVGA board I really wanted one of those.
     
  6. largon

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,780 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    I've always wondered what is the difference between "official" and "unofficial" topics?
    [​IMG]
     
  7. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    isn't official when a company starts the thread or the creator of whatever the subject is.
     
  8. shawnizzzle New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    64 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    my house
    I love my evga board i havent had to clear the cmos eigther. I wish i had some higher cpu voltage options the highest mine goes is 1.8v.
     
  9. ntdouglas

    ntdouglas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,026 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Chicago
    1.8v.:eek: Wouldn't that be hot even on water?
     
  10. shawnizzzle New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    64 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    my house
    lol a lil bit but my huge radiator and dtek v2 really helped. Running prime95 my highest temp was 66C and the lowest was 62C so yea it did run hot but not as hot as the max thermal range intel gives which is 71C
     
  11. shawnizzzle New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    64 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    my house
    And a run of almost 19,000 is very good. Dont let the current highest 3dmark score intimidate you. I know how hard it was for me to hit 20,000 with my dual 9800gtx's in sli @4.02ghz on 1.78v. And you would be very surprized how easy it is to hit 20,000 if your already at almost 19,000 if you could just get a lil bit more out of your cpu it wouldnt take long at all you break the 20,000 barrier. With your low vcore and your Zalman im sure you could hit 3.6 or 3.7 ( just for benching though).
     
  12. ntdouglas

    ntdouglas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,026 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Chicago
    That 3dmark run was at 3.6 on the quad at 1.4 vcore. I've had it up to 423x9 for 3.8 on my quad. lol Too much for me though, plus the temps were up too.
     
  13. shawnizzzle New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    64 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    my house
    Well when you look up what speeds people are getting with their q6600 your 3.8 is very good alot of them only get them up to about 2.8ghz-3.5ghz. 1.4vcore is really good you must have a low vid. And about your temps that surprizes me seeing that you have a zalman. I hear there really nice. Mabe you need some more case airflow to help drop temps but thats not my place to say as its not my computer and that may not be true at all. You could just have a hot running chip like I do. My first liquid cooler was a $70 coolermaster and it was ok to get me to 3.6ghz but temps were in the 40's idle and 68-71 load. If your intersted I can give all the places were i got my water cooling stuff. for like $200 you can get a kick ass custom water cooled setup there not that much money. I tried to get top of the line on my stuff and i think i got like $400 into it. Other than liquid cooling i do think you got the best air cooler on the market from reviews. All the ones that beat the zalman are way to loud for me.

    How do you like the zalman that you got i want to get one for my fiance's computer and i just want to know how you like it. She isnt to convined to go to water yet on her computer. She still has the stock inter cooler its not overclocked at all. Its also the q6600.

    Temps can be different though becuase what you think is to hot i might think is perfercly fine. Unless its like in the 50's idle or something. If your interested in watercooling let me know i can help you look around for deals and what not.

    Although I do think when the nehhalems come out that my setup will be completely overkill when i see what kind of volts those run. 0.8volts is insane.
     
  14. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Actualy the thermal max is 95 degrees
     
  15. shawnizzzle New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    64 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    my house
    Oh im sorry i thought i read it was 71C. As soon as my system hits 71 it will shut down
    IT might be 95 thanks for letting me know
     
  16. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    I used to really anal about mine going over forty especially when I was running at 3.9 Then I learned the thermal max was 95 so I just swapped it out for a cooler fan.
     
  17. shawnizzzle New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    64 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    my house
    does yours run over 71 degrees without shutting down?

    I just looked it up and you are right it is 90C sorry guys
     
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2008
  18. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    You've probly got a setting on in the bios that will cause it to shutdown or prolly some kinda software, Mines went upto 100 before it shutdown.
     
  19. shawnizzzle New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    64 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    my house
    4.00ghz.jpg This is a screenshot of my computer at 4ghz so you guys can take a look at voltages and temps
     
  20. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    I think my mobo is the limit to my overclock, The chip has great potential since it goes 3.9 at 1.5v
     
  21. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,205 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    975
    Location:
    Miami
    nice OC on that 260!... hell... nice OC on that quad!!! :toast:
     
  22. ntdouglas

    ntdouglas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,026 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Chicago
    Not really interested w/c right now, thanks for the offer though. I believe my vid is 1.3125. I love the zalman. Lapping both dropped temps 8c. Can't even hear it either. At 3.8 I was idle at between 45c-50c, didn't even bother priming it just for bragging rights I guess. I might try it again because that was in the summer. Its now getting cool in the Chicago area.:p
     
  23. ntdouglas

    ntdouglas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,026 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Chicago

    90c? Wow. Thats 194f. Are you guys sure? Maybe I will try 4.0 on my quad.:D
     
  24. ntdouglas

    ntdouglas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,026 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Chicago
    Here's my validation. lol
     

    Attached Files:

  25. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    Not really. 1.8 V water is like 1.55 air. But in general it depends on air flow.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page