1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

7950 performance

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by xartemporas, Apr 12, 2012.

  1. xartemporas

    xartemporas

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    36 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Greece
    Hello To Everyone!

    My system is:

    -Asus p7p55d Motherboard
    -Intel Core I5 750 2.67Ghz Cpu
    -Kingston 4GB Ram

    I recently bought a Sapphire HD7950.I play alll games at 1920x1080 at max settings. I'm pretty happy with the performance, I can play everything smoothly. I just want to ask why i cannot see more than 60fps in any game.It seems like there is a "wall" in 60fps (I overclocked it to 950Mhz and 1450Mhz and generally has better performance, 3d mark results are better but top is 60 fps in games).From Benchmarks I saw, this cards performs better than 60fps in games like dirt3 for example.
    Do you think that it is because of my 2 and a half years old cpu? Or because my motherboard doesnt support PCI Express 3.0?
    It's not that i am disappointed, my card has good performance, but i just want to know why this is happening and if i will have better performance when i generally update my system in a few months(cpu,motherboard,ram).
  2. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    You must have vsync turn on
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2012
    xartemporas says thanks.
  3. LGV

    LGV New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    260 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Your monitor's refresh rate is 60Hz so if you have V-sync enabled (either in CCC or in game settings) your FPS will never go over 60.

    Disable V-sync.
    xartemporas says thanks.
  4. xartemporas

    xartemporas

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    36 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Greece
    Thanx Guys!

    I just ran Dirt3 benchmark, with V-sync disabled, and average fps is 75. So if i install a faster cpu and a motherboard with Pci-Express 3.0 I will probably get more than that I think.
  5. Yo_Wattup New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    790 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    I dont think you understand, your monitor cant display any more than 60fps so going over this is pointless. Benchmarks only display over 60 fps because its a benchmark and you wanna see how high it can go.
  6. xartemporas

    xartemporas

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    36 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Greece
    In Just Cause 2, With V-sync On I get minimum 30fps, and with V-sync Off i get 50fps minimum.How does it affect min fps if it is lower than monitor's refresh rate? It is a big difference in performance. Also, with V-sync off, screen is not stable, and some tearing of images appear. What Can I do to have maximum performance in minimum fps, wihout these tearing images?
  7. xartemporas

    xartemporas

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    36 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Greece
    I understand i am not stupid, I dont want more than 60fps, I just wanted to see how far this card can go with this system (With V-sync off, I can see it!) and if it could go further with a faster cpu and PCI-Express 3.0.

    My question now how it affects min fps like i wrote in my other post.
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2012
  8. LGV

    LGV New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    260 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    what is your max Refresh rate?

    ( btw you can edit your post, dont need post every sec)
  9. xartemporas

    xartemporas

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    36 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Greece
    Ok, sorry for my second post.
    My maximum refresh rate is 60Hz in 1920x1080.It is the only resolution i play games.
  10. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,332 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,632
    Location:
    Oregon
    Just FYI....I have a 7950 and also a MB with PCI-e 2.0....In BF3 I hit 80 to 90fps and average 60 on Ultra. I also have 60Hz refresh rate. My CPU is a little faster then yours. Im using the built in FPS counter

    Not having PCI-e 3.0 has nothing to do with it
    Having 60 Hz refresh also has nothing to do with it.
    My guess is its your CPU

    Whats your 3Dmark 11 P score?
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2012
  11. LGV

    LGV New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    260 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    some may say change your monitor for better,
    Some may advise you to enable triple buffering with riva tuner. (if still around ) or CCC , Im not sure its work on D3d. worth try tho.
    may this
    http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=359887
    xartemporas says thanks.
  12. xartemporas

    xartemporas

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    36 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Greece
    In BF3 i have the same performance.
    My 3dMark 11 score is P6653.

    Anyway, the issue is only about just cause 2. With V-sync off, it goes from 45 to 110 fps(with some tearing images). With v sync on, minimum fps is 27.(maximum 60, and it is ok for me, further from that is pointless). I want to play with v sync on and minimum fps 45 in this game,like with v-sync off.With Catalyst Drivers, turning triple buffering on and off didn't have any affect (in game v-sync on). With rivatuner i have a compatibility issue with drivers.Programm is old and i dont know if i can find a newer version.

    the other games are ok with v-sync on and off.
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2012
    Jetster says thanks.
  13. LGV

    LGV New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    260 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    xartemporas says thanks.
  14. zargana

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    49 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I would suggest 2 ways.
    1- Turning on in-game v-sync
    2- Turning on AMD's v-sync

    And try that games again. Dont forget; maybe this tearing issue is not hardware related, also check patch and updates for the games. Cause nowadays most of the games comes to all platforms and 1 buggy can cause really hard headache...

    Are you using the catalyst 12.03?
    xartemporas says thanks.
  15. xartemporas

    xartemporas

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    36 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Greece
    With D3DOverrider I can force triple buffering, and it works just fine in game! min fps 45 max 60 with v-sync on, min fps 45 max 110 with v-sync off.
    I've already tried these friend zargana and didn't help... Thanx anyway! ;)

    Thanks for helping me. I appreciate it! :)

    So why With CCC triple buffering is not working? I wonder..:confused:
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2012
  16. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,198 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    Faster CPU will do it, but PCI-e Express 3.0 will do literally nothing for you. Why don't you OC that 750, at 4Ghz that thing is a beast.
    xartemporas says thanks.
  17. xartemporas

    xartemporas

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    36 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Greece
    I thought that Pci-Express 3.0 improves speed and performance.. anyway.
    I agree that 750 is a good cpu and very overclockable..I am satisfied even with stock settings, but i am thinking to overclock it in the short future and don't buy a new one yet. But with stock cooler it will explode..(Intel coolers suck, think that even with turbo mode on(maximum 2.8ghz) cpu temperature goes around 80 C..) So i am tinking to buy a nice cooler (with the best price it can be).

    Do you have any suggestions?
  18. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,198 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    xartemporas says thanks.
  19. Vulpesveritas

    Vulpesveritas

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Messages:
    383 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    Location:
    USA
    If you're looking for a good ~ $25 cooler, the CM Hyper 212 plus / Evo are the way to go. ~ $50 you have the NZXT Havok and CM x6 Elite, ~ $75 the CM TPC 812 is coming out soon, then there's the GELID GX7 too, and ~ $100 you have those Phanteks dual 140 towers. Sub-$20 there's the SilentX EFZ92HA3.

    Just my input.
    xartemporas says thanks.
  20. xartemporas

    xartemporas

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    36 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Greece
    thanx for suggestions. I like hyper 212 plus/ evo(32euro).. i am just thinking to pay a liitle more and take hyper 412s or 612s(42euro).. what do you think? does it worth it? or with 212 i will be ok.
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2012
  21. kn00tcn

    kn00tcn

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    628 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    112
    Location:
    Toronto
    CCC's vsync & tb settings are for opengl as per the dx/microsoft specifications

    so d3doverrider is running better than just cause 2's own vsync? how odd... i trust them to know what they're doing with their engine
  22. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,332 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,632
    Location:
    Oregon
    Today's graphic cards cannot saturate the PCI-e 2.0 bandwidth yet

    And I dont know how much better the EVO is over the + but my temps are 65c at load 2500k @4.4

    Dont get the hyper 412s or 612s you dont need it
    xartemporas says thanks.
  23. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    7,659 (9.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,416
    The Hyper 212 plus is the best budget cooler out there right now- no need to go to the 412/612 or even the 212 Evo (the 212 plus actually performs better most of the time). Personally I don't care for the mounting system it uses but that is a nitpick on my part :rolleyes:

    The 212 plus also comes with an extra set of fan mounts so you can add another fan for push/pull if you wanted to do so...
    xartemporas says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  24. LGV

    LGV New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    260 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Becouse CCC triple buffering ment for opengl only. ( like DOOM )
    So D3Doverrider developers made force it anyway.
    So the problem gone? ( you said vsync on 45fps min now , previously 30fps... )
    xartemporas says thanks.
  25. xartemporas

    xartemporas

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    36 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Greece
    The problem is that i cannot find 212 plus anywhere here in greece..it is out of stock!
    I can only find 212 evo(30euro). Is evo same or better? I am thinking to order it, but tell me your opinion..

    I also wanted to ask if it has a big size and if it would fit fine in my new case:
    CM 690 II (ver.2) (RC-692B-KKN5 / KWN5)

    http://www.coolermaster.com/product.php?product_id=6793

    And what about noise? i would prefer it to be quiet.


    As for Just Cause 2, i must thank LGV who helped me find the solution.. 30fps min previously and now 48 to be exact ;)
    Also I didn't know that ccc's triple buffering is only for opengl applications.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page