1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

7950 performance

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by xartemporas, Apr 12, 2012.

  1. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,369 (8.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,589
    The Evo is pretty much the same thing vs the plus (costs a little more and a slightly different fan)- It should be pretty quiet in PWM (i.e. automatic) mode as long as you're not doing an extreme overclock.... will be many many times cooler and quieter than a stock unit.

    and yes it will fit in that case just fine :cool:
    xartemporas says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  2. xartemporas

    xartemporas

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    36 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Greece
    Thanks, i'm thinking to order evo then today, spending 30euros for this cooler seems to be ok ;)

    As for overclock i think it will be maximum 4ghz with a little tweak voltage at 1.40v.(i hope it will be ok with temperatures and noise, maybe some of you who have i5 750 with a similar cooler could help me with this)
  3. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,200 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    yeah its pretty quiet, if you're on stock now it will be a big improvement... And you definitely will not need that many volts for 4.0...

    I have a 750 that I ran at 4.2 on virtually the same cooler at 1.33v... it will do 4.0 on 1.27v so you should be around there... 1.27 and 1.28 are good to start with at 4.0, and then nudge up slowly if your unstable.

    ideal settings: Turbo OFF, bckl at 200, ram at 1600 (or 8 divider), multi x20, C1 states OFF (this will give you better fps in games, but you will idle at 40C - thats fine and it will still be quiet.) You shouldnt have to touch any other volts really.

    You can also do: Turbo ON, Bclk at 191, Ram at 1528, Multi x21, C1 states OFF, C0 OFF.
    xartemporas says thanks.
  4. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,054 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,371

    lmao off topic but nice Tails Dollbot :laugh:
  5. xartemporas

    xartemporas

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    36 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Greece
    Thanks!

    I have asus p7p55d motherboard [I think i am ok with this --> http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/Intel_Socket_1156/P7P55D/#specifications ] and ram at 1333. Can i apply these settings? Maybe i need to buy ram at 1600.. and how far i can go with 1333 if this is true?
  6. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,200 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    Well you have the choice of 2000 Mhz, 1600Mhz or 1200Mhz - you could also do 1200 Mhz and tighten the timings a notch.

    blck 200, ram multi at 6x Ram at 1200Mhz, 20X multi for chip

    The ram makes almost no difference anyways in games. Also dont forget to turn turbo off...

    Assuming your ram will not go 1 Mhz above 1333Mhz, you can still overclock the platform to: 4.662GHZ - although the chip and the motherboard will probably crap out well before then. 4.0 Ghz is the sweet spot for these chips, 4.2Ghz is about as high as you would want to run 24/7 and 4.4 Ghz is if your balls make a metallic noise when you walk.

    These settings would get you to 4.662, but I almost guarantee they will not post and you may fry something, this is just to show that your ram will not limit your OC at 1333:

    Bclk 222, Ram divider at 6x 1333Mhz, TURBO ON Multi 21x, chip 222x21 = 4,662, voltage at some absurd value.
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2012
    xartemporas says thanks.
  7. xartemporas

    xartemporas

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    36 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Greece
    So if with my ram can go to these levels and dont need to buy new i am happy...
    I will start from the sweet spot...:cool:
  8. Vulpesveritas

    Vulpesveritas

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Messages:
    383 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    Location:
    USA
    Glad to see someone recognized it. My art is horrible I know but that's what you get with 15 min in MS Paint XD
    On topic;

    The CM X6 Elite is about the same price as the 612 and is better. The 212 will do what you need though.
    xartemporas says thanks.
  9. xartemporas

    xartemporas

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    36 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Greece
    So finally i think the ideal settings for me are for 4ghz : TURBO OFF, blck 200, ram divider at 6x 1333Mhz, 20x multi for chip :cool:
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2012
  10. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,200 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    sounds like a plan... try it and we are here if you need help.
  11. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,054 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,371

    Big Sonic The Hedgehog Game Fan (despite some major misses as of Late)

    Back to Topic on hand...
  12. xartemporas

    xartemporas

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    36 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Greece
    I tried to order 212 evo in one store here in greece with 30euro but it is out of stock..... :(

    Now I can find it at least 40euros, but also i can find 412s in the same price! What is the best to buy?

    I remind you that i want to fit in this case:
    CM 690 II (ver.2) (RC-692B-KKN5 / KWN5)
    http://www.coolermaster.com/product.php?product_id=6793

    Is 412s better? and i think it is a little bigger. Will it fit ok like 212 evo?? What shoould i do..:confused:
  13. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,369 (8.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,589
    IMHO I would stick with buying a 212 even if you need to search a bit more to find one. I'm not sure on the performance of the 412 (do a search for some reviews)- the 412 has wider fin spacing which is supposed to provide better low RPM cooling (according to Cooler Master).

    The 212 is a proven unit for many so I'm just not sure the 412 is worth the higher price....
    xartemporas says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  14. xartemporas

    xartemporas

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    36 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Greece
    I have read some reviews, it seems to have better performance and generally have slim design, works with less rpm but it doesn't have pwm(what exactly is this?).

    I Can find it in almost the same price with 212 evo. I will probably use a single fan.
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2012
  15. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,369 (8.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,589
    Choice is really yours to make- size, style, and installation will be similar to the 212. If you like the reviews on them and the 212 isn't available then give it a try... it's not a big difference in cost...

    PWM (pulse width modulation) is a type of control for the fan and is the preferred method to control the speed of a CPU fan as it allows the motherboard to control fan rpm based on CPU temp, etc. Standard fans have an RPM sensor and can vary in speed but not automatically

    How to tell them apart:
    PWM fans have 4 wires vs 3 wires for a regular fan. PWM fans also cost more. PWM is the better choice if you are comparing 2 coolers at a similar price (i.e. buy the model with the PWM fan) :cool:
    xartemporas says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  16. Dolph New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    114 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    I appologize if this was already addressed for you, but the reason you go down to 30 fps with vsync turned on is that vsync caps your fps to 60, when your game is running OVER 60. If the game naturally falls below 60 vsync will cut the vsync down by a factor of 2, aka 30 fps.

    This is what nvidia's new technology was designed to fix, Adaptive vsync: Turns off vsync if the fps naturally falls below the referesh rate, as to keep 55 fps, and turns it back on when it goes over 60, to avoid the massive 30 fps dips.

    But, thats the reason you see the fps cut in half with vsync on. Imo, its a pain to leave it on if your card doens't destroy games(as in, min would never be below 60). Unless alittle horizontal tearing really pisses you off just leave vsync off.
  17. bonemantis New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    interesting

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page