1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

7970 CFX Refusing to overclock

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Bishi, Apr 5, 2012.

  1. Bishi New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have two VTX3D 7970 cards in my machine. They are at the stock clocks 925 / 1375 @ 1174mv.

    I have tried to overclock but the highest I could get the core is 1055 before I got errors immediately in OCCT (or the PC just hangs).

    Increasing the core voltage doesn't seem to make any difference, in fact if anything it made it worse. I tried the voltage at 1.300 (not intended for 24/7 use, I just wanted to know the limits of my cards) and OCCT crashed even with the cores at 958.

    My GPU memory on the other hand seems to work fine, it reaches the max allowed in afterburner (1575) with seemingly no problems.

    - Is it harder to overclock these because I am running crossfire?
    - Should I have overdrive set to 0% power limit when increasing the voltage manually?
    - My 2600k is overclocked to 4.8Ghz (Asrock Extreme7 Gen3) are there any BIOS settings that might be affecting my graphics card OC?


    Please advise!
     
  2. FR@NK

    FR@NK

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    576 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    What are your temps?

    Set power to +20

    Try first with just a single card.
     
  3. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,235 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,150
    first thing I would have done(and I did do this with my crossfire set up) is OC each card by it's self and find out what the cards can do individually. You might have a card that has a problem and that's why you can't get a higher OC.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Bishi New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    okay thanks, I'm new to overclocking graphics cards.

    Is there a good way to lock the stress testing program to a single card or do i just only run one card with higher clocks and run the stress test full screen so it runs in crossfire (is different frequencies okay for crossfire?)
     
  5. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,235 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,150
    Personally, I would do it with just one card in your machine at a time and take notes on what kind of OC each card can do on it's own.

    BTW, 1055mhz OC is decent. Just because there are cards that can do alot higher clock, doesn't nessecasily mean both your cards can OC like that.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,758 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,050
    Would be good to know what PSU do you have. Although the 7970 needs decent amount of power as soon as you overclock the power draw might increase dramatically.
     
  7. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,774 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    826
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Both suggestions listed above by both TPU members are a good idea. The one I agree with more is though....is set the AMD Powertune up to 20% and then try the overclocking again.

    Another good overclocking tool to try is Trixx..... I found Trixx to be sometimes more stable with overclocking ATI cards then MSI afterburner. Speculated reason: Trixx is made for only ATi video cards MSI afterburner is not. You could also try HIS I-Turbo..... it just came out but it works really really well!
     
  8. Bishi New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    My PSU is a Zalman ZM1000-HP Heatpipe Cooled 1000W Modular PSU
     
  9. Volkszorn88

    Volkszorn88

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,190 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    Since you're crossfiring, did you disable ULPS?
     
  10. Bishi New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I thought I had but i may have missed a few entries (seems there were about 10 in the registry).

    Can you please clarify what effect ULPS has on xfire OC?
     
  11. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,774 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    826
    Location:
    Midwest USA
  12. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,007 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,877
    install sapphire trixx, uncheck the disable ulps option in settings, reboot, enable the disable ulps option in settings, reboot, try oc using trixx
     
  13. Bishi New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ULPS is definitely disabled now.

    I'm monitoring the voltages with GPU-Z and observed the following IDLE desktop and in Heaven benchmark under load
    (with unoverclocked GPUs 925/1375, voltage forced constant at 1.174)

    GPU 1 IDLE
    12V - 12.16V
    VDDC - 1.164V
    MVDDC - 1.602V
    VDDC Current - 18.5A
    VDDC Current In - 1.9A

    GPU 2 IDLE
    12V - 12.09V
    VDDC - 1.141V
    MVDDC - 1.602V
    VDDC Current - 54.8A
    VDDC Current In - 6.0A

    GPU 1 LOAD
    12V - 12.16V
    VDDC - 1.129-1.143V
    MVDDC - 1.602V
    VDDC Current - 30-40A
    VDDC Current In - 4-6A

    GPU 2 LOAD
    12V - 12.06V
    VDDC - 1.098-1.131V
    MVDDC - 1.602V
    VDDC Current - 100-110A
    VDDC Current In - 10-12A

    Could these disparities in power be the cause of my problems? Is this best fixed by setting the voltage manually for each GPU to accomodate this droop?
    I removed my PC CPU overclock while testing.
     
  14. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,098 (4.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,280
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    If you disabled ULPS, it's likely the second card is running 3D clocks, not low-power 2D clocks, which would explain the higher idle power, but not the load.

    Test card #2 on it's own.
     
  15. Bishi New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    im also now using UnofficialOverclockingMode= 2 in afterburner to prevent powerplay and my clocks are forced so they are running at 925/1375@1174 on the desktop.
     
  16. Bishi New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks for all the advice guys, from testing and overclocking the cards individually I think I have found the issue.. Despite having the same BIOS / card name and everything else... My second card is actually a 1112mv card and not a 1174mv card.

    Overclocking the 1174 card (GPU1 lets call it). I found a limit of around 1125 for the core clock), with somewhere between 1.250-1.300V as the required voltage. As this never exceeded 70C under OCCT / Heaven it probably doesn't matter.

    Overclocking the second card, it seems very sensitive to voltage. Under increased voltage 1.200V + instant crashes are encountered whenever the core is pushed past stock levels, but despite this it seems to manage 1120 fine on stock voltage (1112mv) and since I probably should have my cards running at the same speeds this is all i can aim for since it is the limit of my first card. :banghead:

    [​IMG]

    Thats my two cards. 1174 on left, 1112 on right. Both VTX3D 7970's. Obviously similar but with different stock voltages, despite the fact I ordered them from the same place at the same time! (OCUK)
     
  17. FR@NK

    FR@NK

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    576 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Can you compare the ASIC quality rating from GPU-Z?
     
  18. Bishi New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    This?

    [​IMG]
     
  19. FR@NK

    FR@NK

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    576 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Yep.

    Thats why
     
  20. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,774 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    826
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    My Cards run the exact same way although all I had to do was raise the second card to 1.170 in order to receive the same clocks. See also everyone makes a big thing about a cards ASIC value but I have see cards with an Asic value of 60% and lower do well.... so the ASIC value being low doesn't always mean anything
     
  21. Bishi New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Please elaborate
     
  22. Bishi New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Also possibly a stupid question, but should the cards be running at the exact same core / mem regardless of voltages if they are running in crossfire?
     
  23. FR@NK

    FR@NK

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    576 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Its why his voltages are different. I wasnt implying that one was better then the other. But I would recommend getting cards that are pretty close if you plan on running crossfire and overclocking.
     
  24. Bishi New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    unfortunately i had no way of knowing, like i say I bought these at the same time. :(
     
  25. Bishi New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    also strange how the lower rated card had trouble at the higher voltages, but explains the crashes despite its greater OC ability.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page