1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

7970 max oc artifacts

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by moocow0463, Jan 18, 2013.

  1. moocow0463

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    418 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    i cant max my sliders on the 7970 it will start artifacting in games and will randomly drop performance stable clock is quite a bit less 1055/1450, is it effecting my performance by much not being able to reach max oc? i wouldnt think so just want some other opinions
     
  2. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,618 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    Every card overclocks differently so Oc its just free performance so take as that.
     
  3. EiSFX

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    570 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    You have to find the max OC your card can do as DarkOCean already said all video cards and CPU's overclock differently even if the card is the exact same model/version they all overclock differently you have to find your own max OC on your card by I personally start with the Core and raise it by 5 or 10 MHz and then test it in a game that will push your video card till what you think is a good amount of time and then quit out of the game and keep doing that till you see artifacts or crashes then lower the core clock 10 MHz then move on to your memory clocks by doing the exact same thing raise your memory clock by 5 or 10 MHz then test it in the same games you tested with your core and keep going till it artifacts or crashes and then lower your memory MHz by 10 and you have found your MAX OC for your video card.

    I have been doing my video card overclocks this way since i had my ATI Radeon 9800 Pro and has been solid and worked perfectly with every card i have owned since then
     
  4. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,025 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,733
    Location:
    US
    Is your card with the XFX cooler ?. If so it might not be cooling the card enough for the overclock.

    What you could do is get a 3rd party cooler for it or even take their fans off as well as that part that covers the heat sink and zip tie some better fans to it just to see if it allows better overclocking.

    If you do decide to get a 3rd party cooler ask XFX first as it's not allowed in all country's but last time i looked it was ok in the US as long as you asked them 1st.
     
    moocow0463 says thanks.
  5. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,663 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    556
    My Sapphire 7970 OC doesn't OC so well either, so I just leave it at 1000 core, 1450 memory.
     
  6. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,565 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,719
    What are your temps?
     
    moocow0463 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. moocow0463

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    418 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    thanks ill look into the temps, and ill report back
     
  8. Kaynar

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    616 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Thats slightly irrelevant since my xfx 7970 with the DD cooler runs 1125/1450 below 65c.
    Cant go higher than 1450 on the memory though :/ I randomly get artifacts here and there...

    I would advise the OP to use MSI Afterburner to manage his overclock mostly because the +20% powerslide doesnt reset all the time there and also because it is very important (i believe) to set a more aggressive fan profile (e.g. the fan should not wait for the card to go at 80c to ramp up its speed).
     
  9. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    What brand do you have. I have 2 x 7970 Sapphires and get well over 1200/1600 on the overclocks but I have them watercooled..... 2 of them. the 3rd still gets over 1200 on core. Maybe you need more voltage?
     
  10. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,832 (13.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,202
    From what I've been reading, these particular cards (XFX core ed.) aren't the best clockers. It may just need more voltage, but then again it's XFX, they could of just cheaped out on some components.
     
  11. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Ahh XFX. didn't see
     
  12. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,025 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,733
    Location:
    US
    Well if you haven't use GPU-Z as they will show you more temps of what the gpu is at normally.. it could be bad contact and a part of the gpu is overheating or VRMS and even the memory chips. Because the GPU is hitting 65c don't mean other parts of the card cannot be over heating.

    And is normally a few censers on a GPU.

    Yeah would not be the 1st time they did it although i thought they only did it on the slowest end of their cards.
     
  13. moocow0463

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    418 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    ive been using msi to make a custom fan profile and seems i havent had any temp issues or artifacting so i believe the 2 went hand and hand...for now the card is stable at max OC ill test it with some benchmarks when i get time to be sure
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page