1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

8-pin PCIe Adapter Cables from Corsair

Discussion in 'News' started by Bastieeeh, May 9, 2007.

  1. Bastieeeh New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Messages:
    462 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Germany
    As the high-end R600 cards require an 8-pin PCI-Express power cable to be plugged into the corresponding connector (look at the pictures of the HD 2900XT and OEM XTX) especially if you intend to overclock these, power supply manufacturers started to design adapter cables for their current iteration of PSUs that don't come with 8-pin PCIe cables natively. The guys from BeQuiet!/Listan were then the first in providing such adapter cables for free, see the details here.
    Now Corsair stepped into the line as well and if you live in the U.S. you can contact Corsair's Customer Service and will be charged for the shipping only an Official Corsair Representative over at the [H]ard|Forum mentioned.
    But remember, this will only apply if you purchased the power supply during the last weeks.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: [H]ard|Forum
     
  2. hv43082

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,448 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Orange County, CA and Miami, FL
    Very informative post as I've just bought the Corsair HX620. Thanks Bastieeeh!
     
  3. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Ooer Hv ::envy::. Ive been wanting to get me that PSU for awhile now. I think here in a month or two, Im gonna buy it. Then Ill keep this Coolermaster on the side for now :)
     
  4. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    My PSU would die powering one of those :(
     
  5. blobster21

    blobster21

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    305 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Vandoeuvre - France
    Looking at he competitors, the whole Seasonic M12 PSU line of product (500, 600, 700 watts) are already shipping with one 8Pins PCI-E cable as standard bundle....those are high efficiency (80+ rated) PSU that produce hardly any noise & heat btw :respect:
     
  6. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,922 (5.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    I think my Antec duak rail 500W will be able to take it on, I'll just need to give it 12 pins instead of 14. That does not equal trying to OC :/
    Edit- I do not plan going the ATi route if I ever go PCI-E though, If I go PCI-E I need a new CPU, motherboard, RAM, and VC all at one and I can't afford that there all at once, meh.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Grings

    Grings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,303 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Location:
    Blighty
    damn them!, u.s. only?, there'd better be some kind of deal with these in the u.k. soon, i just ordered a corsair psu today (yes ive got an 8800 at the moment, but ill probably be going back to ati next time)
     
  8. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,839 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Lost in Norway

    Good point, not too mention that Seasonic makes that Corsair PSU anyway ;)
     
  9. Grings

    Grings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,303 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Location:
    Blighty
    anyway, never mind the psu, whats that sapphire 2900 all about?, another insufficient sapphire hsf by the look of it
     
  10. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,922 (5.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    naw, see those heatpipes?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Grings

    Grings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,303 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Location:
    Blighty
    yeah, crude looking copper going into an alloy sink:shadedshu
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page