1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

800mhz VS 1066mhz ???

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by MohawkAngel, Jun 28, 2010.

  1. MohawkAngel

    MohawkAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,864 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    I wanna know if there will be a difference in performance with my current setup but with 1066mhz ddr2 ? It says my mobo takes 1200mhz (o.c.) so i suppose its 1066mhz overclocked.
     
  2. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,156 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    No there won't be a noticeable difference in real-world applications, only in benchmarks, and 1200 is 1066 overclocked. ;)
     
  3. MohawkAngel

    MohawkAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,864 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    I keptmy 800mhz and put it manually at 1066mhz in my bios. Seems stable up to now and it made my onboard Radeon HD4200 to a 533mhz memory but I also made the core clock goes to 1000mhz.
     
  4. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,929 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    474
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    I noticed a change between 800 and 1066 overall the system seemed a little more responsive
    Your PhenomII x2 550 should be able to take advantage of the extra bandwidth...
     
  5. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,922 (5.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    You would be better off overclocking the processor. Memory isn't a huge deal, I run mine at 1GHz and it honestly doesn't feel much faster than 800MHz. If I were you, I would be getting a better video card, unless of course you're not a gamer or don't have some other use for the graphics power. The 640MB 8800GTS goes for about $50 on ebay now..
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,176 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    the memory performance depend on memory latency first, no matter it's 800 or 1200 just like the 800 with CAS 4 better than 1200 with CAS 9 in performance, so the memories with low latency are very expensive so it's better to get good graphic card first
     
    jmcslob says thanks.
  7. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,922 (5.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    CAS4 to CAS9 is a pretty dramatic difference. I run 1GHz at 5-5-5-15 even though I can run 800MHz at 4-4-4-12.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,176 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad

    sure it's just an example, my old crucial rams was 800 with cas 4, i overclock at 6-5-6-15 with 1200 :D
     
  9. MohawkAngel

    MohawkAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,864 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    6-8-8-24 on 1200mhz with the crucial rendition 800mhz manually setted to 1200

    FSB : DRAM 3:8
    CL 6
    tRCD 8
    tRP 8
    tRAS 24
    tRC 32
    CR 2T
     
  10. MohawkAngel

    MohawkAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,864 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    Overclocked the cpu to 3.825 gigs and setted the memory to AUTO its now 900mhz and 6-6-6-18
     
  11. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,176 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
  12. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,922 (5.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    This thread encouraged me to bring about some changes. I'm running my memory at 900MHz at 4-4-4-12 now rather than 1GHz at 5-5-5-15. To bring about that change, I'm also running at 270x13 instead of 250x14... so my CPU is also 10MHz faster than it was before. It was stable in LinX for ~30 minutes while I was hooking my 5.1 surround back up. The reciever with the two 20w bookshelf speakers made really nice sound, but I missed the surround sound... I can really notice the difference going back to the tinny 6w speakers and sub rather than the 20w speakers I was using previously.
     
    shevanel says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page