1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

8350 + Motherboard?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Tonduluboy, Jan 16, 2013.

  1. Tonduluboy

    Tonduluboy

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    94 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Sabah, Malaysia
    Trying to build a new pc system but cant decide which mobo i should buy. My last build was 4 years ago...
    This pc mostly use for multipurpose (video/Photo editing use) for me and medium gaming for my kids...

    Note : im not really interested in oveclocking or SLI


    CPU = amd 8350

    Can anybody suggest me a good mobo worth LESS than $150 NOT including these 2 below mobos...
    1. Sabertooth 990FX
    2. Asrock fatality 990FX

    and please no Intel vs AMD discussion here. Thank you very much for your help.
     
    de.das.dude says thanks.
  2. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,791 (8.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,918
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    I have used the Sabertooth 990FX, the ASRock Fatality, the Asus Crosshair V Formula, and they're all pretty good tbh(BIOS Issues aside, I have not had issues personally). Right now, take a look at ASRock's Extreme 990fx MoBo's, they're actually pretty good.
     
    Tonduluboy says thanks.
  3. Tonduluboy

    Tonduluboy

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    94 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Sabah, Malaysia
    This is the only one available in my location, asrock extreme3. Some review stated this mobo not suitable/compatible for 8350 some say ok.
     
  4. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,791 (8.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,918
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    http://www.asrock.com/mb/cpu.asp?Model=970 Extreme3

    It is supported. Just ensure to install an up to date BIOS
     
    Tonduluboy says thanks.
  5. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,040 (4.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,688
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    How about this Gigabyte 990fxa board. I have it in my newest build and it is a great board. Also it's right at your budget depending which country your in.
     
    Tonduluboy says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,204 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,985
    Location:
    Home
    Gigabyte 990 UD3? MSI GD65? Since you are not overclocking that gives you more room to consider budget offerings. In my books Gigabyte UD5 is always good, you might want to consider that too if price is right.
     
    Tonduluboy says thanks.
  7. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,040 (4.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,688
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    The board i linked is a little cheaper then the 990 fxa UD5. It is a UD3 board. :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. terrastrife New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    172 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Why not one of the ASRock 970 chipset range? Save yourself a tonne of money by not buying features you won't use.
     
  9. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,490 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    362
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    Gigabyte 970a-ud3 has been working great with my fx for a while now i got it for $80 with the cpu.
     
  10. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    9,011 (8.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21,037
    I'm running an 8350 (4.4Ghz) in an ASUS M5A99X EVO and an 8150 (4.0Ghz) in an ASUS M5A97 EVO both boards have been running fine but ASUS has been having some quality issues and their customer service has been crap from what I'm hearing lately.

    If I was buying another board I would look for a Gigabyte 990X UD3 or an Asrock Extreme 4 (not an Extreme 3)

    My $0.02
     
    Tonduluboy says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,896 (4.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,115
    go with the gigabyte 990 ud3!
     
  12. Tonduluboy

    Tonduluboy

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    94 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Sabah, Malaysia
    Thank you guysss...for all the input...

    I've been using Asus mobo for the last 10 years, non of them failed me. Thinking of buying Sabertooth however, most of the features i will not use ($211), better save money i go for better graphic card.

    I decided to go for between these 2 mobos

    M5A99X evo = $156 price in my location
    OR
    GA-970A-UD3 = $95

    ...
     
  13. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    9,011 (8.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21,037
    I would go for the Gigabyte for the price as long as it is the UD3 model and not the D3. Double check this as the UD3 should have 8+2 power while the D3 does not.

    The other factor is whether or not you want to go Crossfire and/or SLI with your video cards at some point- the ASUS supports both with 8X/8X PCIE slots
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,791 (8.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,918
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    I second this, UD5 is a fantastic board.
    However the Sabertooth is an epic board. My own fault i snapped the USB 3.0 header and bought a new Crosshair :D
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2013
    Tonduluboy says thanks.
  15. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,204 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,985
    Location:
    Home
    Even if its the D3 the lack of 8+2 will not be too much of an issue.
     
    Tonduluboy says thanks.
  16. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,896 (4.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,115
    dont buy asus now. they are a lot different from what they were 10 years ago
     
    Tonduluboy says thanks.
  17. Tonduluboy

    Tonduluboy

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    94 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Sabah, Malaysia
    thanks i thou the

    UD3 = D3 lol, no store selling UD3 here
     
  18. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,896 (4.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,115
    where do you live? i would say malaysia from your name.
    are you looking at online stores too?
     
  19. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,040 (4.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,688
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    The D3 and Ds3 do not offically support the fx 8350's or the 8150.
     
    Norton says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,741 (9.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,220
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Were do you live? I don't think I seen it posted when I skimmed through the thread.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,204 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,985
    Location:
    Home
  22. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,040 (4.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,688
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Depends on the revision he gets.


    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,204 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,985
    Location:
    Home
    I think he can probably get the shop to update the bios for him if needed. At least those shops that I know of will if asked.
     
  24. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,040 (4.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,688
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    But I think the actual board and what revision it is, is where the deference is though. It's one of those it may run it fine and it may not deals.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,204 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,985
    Location:
    Home
    Just make sure the board is Rev 3.0, that is easy enough to check. It pays to be a bit cautious though.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page