1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

8500/8600/GT/GTS Mod guide...

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Solaris17, Nov 11, 2007.

  1. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,878 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    385
    Location:
    Florida, US
    no i just pencil modded :p :pimp:
  2. lycanwrath New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    11 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2008
  3. cskpeter New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    PNY 8600GT 256mb pencil mod

    Hi Sol,

    Mine is a PNY 8600GT 256mb version and I couldn't find where to pencil mod on the card. The chip layout is different from the ones you have or any other 8600gt on the net. I am a total noob so could you please point out the mod points for me? I'd appreciate your help very much. :respect:


    pny_8600gt_front

    pny_8600gt_back
  4. pyracy

    pyracy New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Just sayin thanks for all the help, I broke down and got a 1 gig 8800gt the other day, but keeping the 8600 for tinkering purposes!
  5. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,541 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    @ pyracy, also a 8600 is great to keep for folding@home, physx or any other CUDA application :D

    @ cskpeter and lycanwrath, how far have you over clocked already? most 8600's will clock up to around 750mhz with no vmods, and at that speed or above, you will want to consider better cooling.

    my XFX 8600GT's all clock to around 720-750 core and 1750-1850 shaders on stock volts, however the pencil mod did help me head up to 850 mhz :D
    also my cards came with pre-installed better cooling, so iw as set on that front.

    also if you all havent, try unlinking the shader clocks in rivatuner, my experience shows they clock up very well independantly of the core, they dont add much heat when oc'ed, and they give a nice boost to the score :D

    happy overclocking, and i hope Sol can get you all pencil modding soon, just be patient, he is an 8-9 series god around here at TPU, but even gods need time to do their work :)
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  6. lycanwrath New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    11 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hi wolf,

    Currently I am at 760\1840\840.
    Having tested these speed for a very long time I hav Flashed them into my bios for 3D setting.

    Mem Timings are currently at:- trc=33 , trfc = 40 , tras = 24 , trp = 10 , trdcrd = 11, trcdwr = 7 , trrd = 8
    I think I can improve on those

    I have a Zalman 700cu cooling fan.
    I cannot overclock further coz don't hav enuf volts :(, Temps hav never gone past 55 Degees Celcius with my current settings, even after playing the whole day :).

    Hpe for god to be back soon ;).
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2008
  7. cskpeter New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thank you, wolf and I mean it seriously. :)

    The default clock was 540/700/1188MHz (GPU/Mem/Shader) and it's now OC'ed to 700/840/1602MHz which is the most attainable setting so far. The card is cooled by zalman vf700 idling @ low 40's and 60's under full-load. So I don't think heat is an issue here. BTW, this is my 3dMark06 score with the current OC at 1280x1024 with all default settings.

    3DMark Score: 6354
    SM2.0 Score: 2620
    HDR/SM3.0 Score: 2380
    CPU Score: 2809 with e4300 @ 3.2GHz

    I'd love to push my 8600gt further like you or Solaris did. Well maybe not to the extreme but at least some more than now and that's why I asked for help. Thanks to you now I know unlinking the shader might boost the performance. I will definitely try that and report later. Thanks again wolf and I will look forward to hearing from anyone with any comment or tip.

    [edit] Gee, I am behind lycanwrath with posting message and his card is slightly better OC'ing than mine. What's up with that? :D Hello, lycanwrath!
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2008
  8. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,541 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    awesome, he is the one that helped me get a pencil mod happening on my 8600GT's, which also came with that very same Zalman that you have on yours.

    id say you can gun for 850-900mhz once its penciled, and these poor old castrated cards actually do reasonably well when you overclock the nuts off them.

    i always wanted to get to 1080mhz core and 2400 shaders for that magic 100% overclock.... however i have other cards now that warrant my time more than that :p

    EDIT: good to see your doing well cskpeter, and to all of you 8600GT overclockers, what brand cards do you have?
  9. Skitzo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    720 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    I haven't looked into the solder vmod any further, gotta take some better pics. My 8600 has been folding for ~1 week at 875/1912/800 with the gpu pencil vmod. hasn't gone over 48*C and is pumpin out ~2200 ppd.


    edit, i stuck a bunch or ram sinks on the vregs and was surprized to feel how hot they are still getting, something to consider.
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2008
  10. Skitzo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    720 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    hey Wolf, your card has the same layout as mine righ? If so would you guess that the chip to do the gpu vr mod to would be the one beside the pencil mod resistor? I gave it a go and i couldn't get it stable @ 800. After disconnecting it I've come to the conclusion that I was either getting a poor ground or that was the gmem vr mod...

    edit: I'm gonna vr mod the other one in the morning, that'll tell me what I need to know :)
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2008
  11. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,541 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    my guess is that if you did the mod and you cant get over 800mhz, then it was the mem mod :p

    i have also been folding on my 8600GT 24/7 @ 1836 shaders, however i have no idea how many PPD shes crunching, but i would say very close to yours :)

    if you have success with the VR VGPU mod, post piccies cos im totally down fo still tryna get 1ghz core and 2.4ghz shaders out of these babies.
  12. Skitzo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    720 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    well, there was power making it through the vr for sure. When i crank the vr to 0 ohms it trips the card(it'll go as low as 2-3k ohms). This system is on a table and not in a case so I've been experimenting with grounds. So far the ground pin for the fan seems to work, I'm assuming it needs to be set at 100% though(fan) I should have checked the gmem for oc but i was concentrating on the gpu so I overlooked it. I'll have a go at the second vr mod in a few hours and let ya know how it goes. I'm basing my vr mod on the other pcb vr mods. Should be the same pin on the same chips, the chips are just in diferent locals.:)
  13. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,134 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,544
    Location:
    Florida
    grave yard shift usualy 5 to 3am been getting a busy week usually averaging 9 and a half to 10 hour shifts after including breaks so. when i get home its bed wake up put on the uniform do it again.i promise ill get to them asap and excellent pics :) ill get to them as soon as possible.
  14. cskpeter New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

    Great to hear back from you, Solaris. It seems that you are swamped with your job. Good thing that they are never returning customers. :laugh:

    Back to vid card, I am still messing with shader and got some increase in 3dMark score even though it's marginal. Pencil mod to increase voltage to gpu/mem would be really nice. Please let me know when you figure out something. Thanks!

    [edit] Wolf, below is my new 3dMark06 result. Old: 700/840/1602 -> New: 700/840/1702 not much increase :p

    3DMark Score: 6354 -> 6422
    SM2.0 Score: 2620 -> 2653
    HDR/SM3.0 Score: 2380 ->2413
    CPU Score: 2809 with e4300 @ 3.2GHz -> 2814

    Performancewise OC'ing shader independently didn't make a big difference for me. Upping the shader more than 1750 resulted in artifact/freeze. Maybe it's the limit of my 8600. Anyway thanks for your tip.
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2008
  15. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,541 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    also the shaders clock up in increments on all 8-9 series cards, the increments are as such.

    1404 - 1458 - 1512 - 1566 - 1620 - 1674 - 1728 - 1782 - 1836 - 1890 - 1944 - 1998 - 2052 - 2106

    so for example if you manually set 1650 it will clock to 1620, and if you set 1660 it will clock to 1674.

    if thats a bit confusing tell me, but thats definitely how the shaders clock up, the rivatuner monitor window will always show you the correct values from the card.
  16. cskpeter New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ah... you are right, Wolf. After manually setting up the shader to 1728, the 3dMark test was run again. It went thru without error and here is the new score.

    3DMark Score: 6354 -> 6422 -> 6516
    SM2.0 Score: 2620 -> 2653 -> 2700
    HDR/SM3.0 Score: 2380 ->2413 -> 2444
    CPU Score: 2809 with e4300 @ 3.2GHz -> 2814 -> 2819

    I didn't use the rivatuner monitor before. It was GPU-Z reading. This time my core/shader/memory clock is at 702/1728/837 according to the rivatuner monitor. Note that core and memory clocks are off from the setup values but shader shows correct number. I guess the rivatuner is more accurate as you said. Thanks.
  17. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,541 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    no worries, glad to help. i put my 8600's through hell, so im glad you can benefit from my experiences :D

    i really want a Multi GPU folding client already, soon i could build a rig with 3x8600GT, that would turn over a decent amount of FLOPS imo :)
  18. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,134 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,544
    Location:
    Florida
    cskpeter do you have a multi meter it would be sooo awsome if you did
  19. lycanwrath New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    11 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  20. cskpeter New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

    I don't have one. :(
    But as soon as I get one I'll get back to you. BTW, these are the code found on the IC chips on the back of the card.
    On the top right of the card
    APW7067N AJ98P
    On the very top left corner
    RT9218 PS9LK09
    Could one of these chips be the one that controls voltage to gpu and mem?
  21. cskpeter New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi Solaris,

    I got a multi meter. Please let me know what to do. Thanks!
  22. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,134 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,544
    Location:
    Florida
    on the "back of the card" pic you posted on the chip titled RT928 their is a resistor next to it (on the right side) labled "RE8" can you measure that one please?
  23. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,541 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    hey solaris, i just got my first 8600GTS :D, know any mods for it? its an XFX model, looks to be reference.....

    from how we've done it would seem that the GTS wont really clock farther than my GT's. so i am keep to pencil mod and o/c the balls off it again :D
  24. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,134 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,544
    Location:
    Florida
    haha excellent i wish i had an 8600 again :( but ya the GTS's are exactly the same from what i rmember i think their was a .1v bump to allow the higher frequncy but all in all its exactly the same card.....

    if you want or are ready...find her max....report them core/shader/mem and well break out the pencils...and if you REALLY want to go extreme 20kohm resistors and we will totally blow socks off that card. if your upto it send me the bios if you want and ill tweak the timings etc..
    wolf says thanks.
  25. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,541 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    awesome man, legend as always :toast:

    good to know its essentially the same, especially with a potential voltage increase :D

    ill bung her in and find her max clocks tonight, but if i want to get serious with this card, it'll need moar cooling, as it has the stock jobbie on it atm.

    EDIT: ill always have a sweet spot for a good 8600 i think.... so many memories.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page