1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

8500/8600/GT/GTS Mod guide...

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Solaris17, Nov 11, 2007.

  1. brickmonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Well Sol :) , i kinda took your dare and benched on 725-1475-900 without any problem. The max temp when playing COD WaW was 80C. But mostly the temps were hovering between 77C-79C

    Attached is a screen shot. You will notice that my CPU-Z show the CPU running at 1.6 GHz...have disabled speedstep, but it does not seem to work :shadedshu



    Tried to bench at 750-1475-900, did not get artifacts when scanning using ATItool, but graphics went wierd when running 3Dmark and the comp froze....

    Have a question for you, in the BIOS, my default VGA voltage was 1.5, i increased it to 1.65 and i think i can go right upto 2v....will it make any difference if i increase the voltages from the BIOS ? or , will the increase in voltage only happen with a pencil mod or a resistor ?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,350 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,657
    Location:
    Florida
    no the voltage wont change in the 8600's the only reasoin i do it is because when you raise the voltage in the bios and then volt mod the card it seems the card takes the voltage easier...as for your CPU at 1.6ghz disable speed step and C1E in your bios :)
     
  3. brickmonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Xfx 8600gt Oc

    Hey Sol, thanx for your help. I have not disable C1E in the BIOS , so will go ahead and do that.

    As i posted earlier , i was not able to bench with the core at 750. After posting the results with the core at 725, i increased the voltage in the BIOS from 1.65v to 1.7v for the VGA.

    Doing so did allow me to bench at 750/900/1526 :) Tho i have not tried playing any games yet.
    However , when running 3Dmark , the temps went as high as 91C , hovering between 87C-89C.

    SO for now i think i'm gonna keep from pushing the card further :ohwell: . Will have to wait for my V2 :cool:

    I do not know if the above is some exception to what you said, i mean no offence :)
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,350 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,657
    Location:
    Florida

    iots cool man no offense as for those temps their getting a little warm if you havent done so already push your fan to 100% but good job so far man :)
     
  5. brickmonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    i have made the necessary changes in both ntune and rivetuner. Even though the fan is set at 100%, the damn thing does not stay there. it keepes falling down right upto 30%.

    Looks like the only way to fix that is to mod the BIOS.....scared to do that since i've never done something like that before :eek:

    And even though i was able to bench with the core at 750, was unable to play COD WaW .... it crashed :ohwell:

    Will try and tweak a bit and see how far i can go :)
     
  6. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,350 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,657
    Location:
    Florida
    depending on driver RT has a hard time holdin a fan speed i have run into the problem many times andhaent found a deff fix however their is a bios mod whih is very easy lol you already made some of the harder changes though the fan may take a little more thought process its alot less damaging than the other options and that will fix the speed issue if done correctly so i say give it a go.
     
  7. brickmonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Hi Sol ! greetings...

    been away for a bit as i managed to blow up 2 motherboards in 2 weeks :wtf: .. don't ask.....don't know how...

    Anyways, here's the story so far.

    The last post was when i had the XFX 8600GT stable at 725/900/1565..the max temps with the stock lapped HS was 88C-91C.....too damn high for my liking.

    Had a HR-05 SLI cooler lying around....used some zip ties and put it on the card.....idle temps were 38-40C and max temps were 60-61C...with 725/900/1565 ;) feeling pretty smug about it :) ( all the above was without any sort of volt mod)


    I did go ahead and do the pencil mod day before yesterday....max stable was 830/900/1826 with a #D score of 6895.

    Last night when adding a fan for the HDD cage, i remembered u saying that "the residue of the pencil mods should not be blown off or wiped clean" , i had done that previously......however i went over the pencil mod again, and this time around i let a bit of residue be......i was able to bench and am stable at 900 core 925 memory and 1980 shader
    (Idle temps 42C and max 69C) with a 3D score of 7205 :D

    Will upload the pics when i get home.

    Though i was able to clock the core to 950, i was unable to bench :ohwell: .... on the whole i'm happy bout the OC achieved ..... but still want more....

    I took some snaps of the IC's on the card, and found the pdf ..... the link .....
    http://pdf1.alldatasheet.com/datasheet-pdf/view/207962/RICHTEK/RT9218B.html

    Now i know that the FB pin needs to soldered to ground, however if you could please confirm if i am right or not , it would be great.....also wanted to know , what VR do i use ( im kinda not too well versed with the electronic jargons :rolleyes:

    Would be very greatful if you could walk me thru this part of the mod.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,350 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,657
    Location:
    Florida

    excellent work bud :D im so glad its helped you ill get back to you on what needs to be done for more ut im incredably busy atm.
     
    brickmonkey says thanks.
  9. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,497 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,107
  10. brickmonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Hey Sol, thanx for the help i've received from you all this while.....and it's not a problem, i'm in no hurry to do the mod.....:)
     
  11. brickmonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Here you go mlee......and thanx :)

    One major disadvantage of the HR-05 SLI on the 8600GT is that it is TOO DAMN BIG :eek: . So currently i am unable to use my Creative Audigy 2ZS ..... i'm thinking and looking around for a safe way to bend the heatpipes so i can make place for the sound card.....the onboard sound does not compare the the Creative :ohwell:
     

    Attached Files:

  12. brickmonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Pic of the final stable clocks on the 8600GT after pencil mod

    Idle temp is 42C and max load temp is 62C :laugh:
     

    Attached Files:

  13. smert New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hi Guys, sry for bumpn this but i need some help with "MSI NX8600gt OC Edition"
    all about pencil.

    there are already few pics of same PCB, but it seems the Q. is not enough.

    Solaris, u already tied to help with this PCB - without success.

    so there we go with some PICS:

    Fullview:

    [​IMG]

    Chip1:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Chip2:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Chip3:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]





    I could measure whatever you want :)
    If needed i could get better Pics to.

    Thanks in advance! and sorry for my English :)


    UPDATE:

    First of all, Measure Points for Vgpu and Vmem:

    [​IMG]

    For me it was 1,23v Vgpu and 1,87 Vmem, seems to be really low for a 8600GT.

    ok, i got the VGPU!

    Chip3:

    [​IMG]

    im atm with 1.55 V on GPU, 870 Mhz Coreclock and 1850 Shader.

    [​IMG]


    Still have problems with vmem :/, i measured and tried all the marked resis below. negativ.

    Chip2:

    [​IMG]



    Any ideas people? cmon help me(and all with this pcb) up with this :)

    If there isnt a way for Pencil Mod Vmem, i would like to know the way for Poti.
    I think i have good soldering skills, already soldered my P5KC with 2 broken SMD`s (near 2mm size!)

    thanks in advance
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2009
    HousERaT says thanks.
  14. CAPITAL LETTERS

    CAPITAL LETTERS New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    136 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Ninja's Dont Need Homes
    neat mod

    just one thing i want to ask.
    when installing the 6 pin power connector, how is it possible to know where you are drilling for the holes?
    like, the pcb must me at least 4 layers thick so how do you know if your not drilling through a circuit or something?
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2009
  15. mrhuggles

    mrhuggles

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    drilling holes?
     
  16. totalz New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have a GA8600GT, and just want to increase the gpu voltage, so I can OC a bit more. Can I just do the bios mod without the pencil mod? Is 1.2v the original voltage, and I can use bios mod to boost up to 1.32v?

    Also, my mb bios has PCI-E voltage, do i need to increase that for the 1.32v vga bios mod?
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2009
  17. Darkgundam111 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    627 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Hello all, I'm new here :). The discussions here are amazing! so much info. Well, for me, I just did a vmod a day ago. I have a XFX 8600gts 256mb, been sticking with it for awhile now. So i got it to 1.5v and overclocked to 904.50/1944/1101. I had a few questions about this.

    1. When i use ati tool, anything over 900 core clock seems to show artifacts while in game, nothing shows up. Why is that?

    2. When i go up some more with my core and shader clocks, i see some dots, nothing serious or problematic, does this mean its safe to play games with?

    3. I am using rivatuner to overclock, and it would seem that the slider that sets the overclock doesn't exactly correspond with the overclock that is actually being done. For example, on the core clock slider, i had it at 911, but in the core clock monitor, it says 904.50, why is that? is it because of my drivers? (I am using the latest nvidia drivers, 182.50, rivatuner is v2.24, and i tried evga and ati tool, but both did the same thing)

    4. If anyone has the same card, what speeds are you using?

    5. Is the core clock more important or the shader clock? Or should i keep them linked?
     
  18. totalz New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Solaris17, I have the exact same card as yours. I'm still using the silent-pipe-II, and I have mounted an 12cm fan on it.

    It would be great if you show me the exact spot for the pencil mod.
    http://img216.imageshack.us/img216/5195/img22773.jpg

    And what's max safe temperature for the gpu?

    cheers.
     
  19. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,497 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,107
    Max safe temp for any gpu is technically under 100C, but extended periods of use at such high temps can cause permanent damage to the card. So I say 80C for a 2-3 hour gaming session is about as high as I want to see.

    Hope you get your pencil mod done, the first page is the most detailed.
     
  20. totalz New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thanks mlee49, I saw your post on u just did the bios mod and then u could oc 5-7%more, so changing the 3D volt to 1.32v really helps!? Cause someone told me the 3D is already running at 1.32v!! If the bios mod really works, I would try that out 1st.

    I need the info on how to find those voltage measure spots and pencil mod spots, but the 1st page only has cards that their PCBs are different from mine except the 1st pic. Is there a guide on how to trace?

    I'm already at 76C for 628-1580-920, but i think i can risk it a bit at about 90C. Cause I remember at stock 600Mhz gpu without the fan, it was about 86C at 100%. So the gigabyte silent-pipe heatsink is really crappy.
     
  21. totalz New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    smert, how did you find the ohm measuring point for gpu?
     
    Last edited: May 2, 2009
  22. HousERaT New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Messages:
    109 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Thanks for this smert. I'm gonna try out the vgpu mod.

    Can anyone suggest a working mod on the memory? Anyone ever find one for this odd pcb?


    and yes I know this is old. :)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page